We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our first visit to Bratislava – if we go back, we would not consider staying anywhere else!

The hotel is situated just outside the old city, and everywhere on the sightseeing trail is within easy walking distance. The rooms are well appointed (we had the basic room, which was perfectly spacious) and clean as were all the public areas. The breakfast room was usually busy, but we always got a table. The range of food was good – hot and cold, with cereals and plenty of bread and pastries. Coffee was made to order, and was really strong – a cappuccino became the safest bet!

The staff at the hotel were wonderful. We were greeted with a glass of wine on arrival, and they responded to every request in the most helpful way. On our final night, we stayed in the bar with friends and had a music session from about 10:30pm. One of the waitresses had to stay in the bar until we’d left, and was then back on duty for breakfast, but she seemed perfectly happy to have waited up for us.

My husband and his colleagues had a business meeting at the hotel and that went very well. The food served was good, and the meeting room well serviced.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bratislava.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest, we thank You very much for sharing all your positive and detailed thoughts about your stay with. I am very delighted that you had such a positive experience with all our services as well as all my colleagues. I have the best team one can imagine and I am proud of that. Nothing in the hotel can replace the positive attitude of the people working there - for us it is not only the work it is the lifestyle and all my team is happy to help our guests any time and to provide the best service possible.

With kindest regards and see you at hotel Dnubia Gate soon.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    68
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
102
28
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I take weekend city breaks around Europe quite frequently and we usually try to stay in small friendly boutique-style hotels. We visited Bratislava at the start of April (having already spent a few days in Vienna) and chose the Danubia Gate largely because of it's consistently positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We certainly weren't disappointed. It's very comfortably furnished throughout and the bedrooms in particular are both stylish and relaxing. The street on which it's located does look a little grim but it is only a brief couple of minutes walk from the historic old town. The place is kept impeccably clean, the breakfast is very tasty and the staff really couldn't be more pleasant or helpful. Added to all of that they also provide excellent free wi-fi, which is something that can be hard to find; (we were particularly impressed because we'd previously had to stump-up a ridiculous amount for the wi-fi in the Vienna Hilton). Overall, and especially given their very reasonable pricing, we can honestly say that this is one of the best value and best quality "small hotels" that we've ever stayed in, pretty much anywhere across Europe. So if you're visiting Bratislava then look no further because the Danubia Gate is where you should be staying!

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are a little dull during the day so ask for something at the back if you want the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spend one night with dinner and breakfast in the hotel.
The rooms are very new and clean also the food was excellent.
There is also a free parking place near the hotel, not big but better than nothing to park

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights, first time in Bratislava. It was easy to find the hotel, as it is located near the center of the city and everything worth looking was reachable in few minutes by foot.
We got warm welcome by a nice reception girl.
The room looked new and really clean, and we felt comfortable and enjoyed our staying.
We came home and brag about our hotel, and we will definitely come again! :)
Oh, yes, it is affordable, too! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for writing us such positive review. Of course, we will be very pleased to offer you our services again.

See you soon at hotel Danubia Gate!

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel have great location in the centre of town. Hotel is new and comfortable, clean and have a great facility. Reception girls are nice and helpful. When we checked-in, we had a welcome drink, and at check-out we had a small gift (small chocolate) and sale for the next stay. That was nice :)

Minus can be the renovation of parking, but you can park without problems in garage on the back side of hotel. The breakfast is the basic standard, you can have everywhere, but the room (caffe restaurant) is small to breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay with us, with our great team of smiling and professional and helpful people.

As for the breakfast room, actually we have 3 of them the guests can use, but I suppose you preffered the main room with lots of daylight. I am sorry you were not shown the 2 other ones but I hope you had a convenient time at breakfast as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent here one night at the end of March. Just wonderful. After arrival we were upgraded to Deluxe room. And what a room, it is very spacious, has a separate bathroom with large jacuzzi and flat tv in the bathroom. Beds are very comfortable and the wireless connection also worked perfectly. Staff was courteous and very helpful. Excellent location just few steps from downtown. If you have to stay in Bratislava I highly recommend the Danubia Gate for the quality of comfort, care and attention you will receive. Will definitely stay here next time again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We really much appreciate your positive comment and we will do our best to offer the best service we can to all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in Danubia Gate for one night. It is a small but nice, clean hotel with friendly and polite service. Only thing I didn't like is that they have offered me a discount for next stay if I write them a nice review on Tripadvisor. But anyhow, hotel was realy pleasant...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,thank you for your nice review on us and staying at our hotel. i just need to make one thing clear,maybe it was misunderstanding..we are running the competition until the end of april and everybody can take part..we will pick a few guests who wrote us the review and you can win one of many prizes. The guests can win weekend stay at our hotel,free transfer,dinner in the restaurant..and many others. On the other hand, we provide our loyalty program with discounts as well as corporate rates as many other hotels do and this has nothing to do with reviews. We provide loyalty program to anybody staying with us a couple of times. I apologize for bad explanation and i am sorry for this experience. I hope it is clear now.
With kindest regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Address: Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DANUBIA GATE is a small but very friendly **** hotel in the Bratislava city centre, offering a complex package of services to both the business clientele and tourists. It is interesting due to its modern but elegant and tastefully designed interior and excellent services, hotel is famous for its latest technological equipment. The accommodation capacity of the hotel is 45 beds and we provide single rooms, double rooms, economy and family rooms as well as deluxe rooms. One of the rooms is specially furnished to provide comfort to our disabled guests. Modern STREET COFFEE & RESTAURANT with capacity for 40 – 50 guests is part of the hotel lobby. Its appealing architecture creates two spaces with different design. The hotel offers two conference rooms on the top floor, which are separated from the accommodation premises, and hence provide conditions for undisturbed meetings. Capacity of these rooms is 20 and 40 places depending on the type of event and variability of seating. A balcony with a view of the Bratislava castle and the old town is part of the rooms, which is designated also for smokers. Hotel provides free fitness centre to its guests and smoking Coffee House. All additional services which you may wish, will be arranged for you on the basis of contractual relations between several organizations and the hotel. Parking is available directly at the car park at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava to your Saves list