We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Save Saved
You added Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Look No Further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I take weekend city breaks around Europe quite frequently and we usually try to stay in small friendly boutique-style hotels. We visited Bratislava at the start of April (having already spent a few days in Vienna) and chose the Danubia Gate largely because of it's consistently positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We certainly weren't disappointed. It's very comfortably furnished throughout and the bedrooms in particular are both stylish and relaxing. The street on which it's located does look a little grim but it is only a brief couple of minutes walk from the historic old town. The place is kept impeccably clean, the breakfast is very tasty and the staff really couldn't be more pleasant or helpful. Added to all of that they also provide excellent free wi-fi, which is something that can be hard to find; (we were particularly impressed because we'd previously had to stump-up a ridiculous amount for the wi-fi in the Vienna Hilton). Overall, and especially given their very reasonable pricing, we can honestly say that this is one of the best value and best quality "small hotels" that we've ever stayed in, pretty much anywhere across Europe. So if you're visiting Bratislava then look no further because the Danubia Gate is where you should be staying!

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are a little dull during the day so ask for something at the back if you want the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    77
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
123
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spend one night with dinner and breakfast in the hotel.
The rooms are very new and clean also the food was excellent.
There is also a free parking place near the hotel, not big but better than nothing to park

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights, first time in Bratislava. It was easy to find the hotel, as it is located near the center of the city and everything worth looking was reachable in few minutes by foot.
We got warm welcome by a nice reception girl.
The room looked new and really clean, and we felt comfortable and enjoyed our staying.
We came home and brag about our hotel, and we will definitely come again! :)
Oh, yes, it is affordable, too! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for writing us such positive review. Of course, we will be very pleased to offer you our services again.

See you soon at hotel Danubia Gate!

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel have great location in the centre of town. Hotel is new and comfortable, clean and have a great facility. Reception girls are nice and helpful. When we checked-in, we had a welcome drink, and at check-out we had a small gift (small chocolate) and sale for the next stay. That was nice :)

Minus can be the renovation of parking, but you can park without problems in garage on the back side of hotel. The breakfast is the basic standard, you can have everywhere, but the room (caffe restaurant) is small to breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay with us, with our great team of smiling and professional and helpful people.

As for the breakfast room, actually we have 3 of them the guests can use, but I suppose you preffered the main room with lots of daylight. I am sorry you were not shown the 2 other ones but I hope you had a convenient time at breakfast as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent here one night at the end of March. Just wonderful. After arrival we were upgraded to Deluxe room. And what a room, it is very spacious, has a separate bathroom with large jacuzzi and flat tv in the bathroom. Beds are very comfortable and the wireless connection also worked perfectly. Staff was courteous and very helpful. Excellent location just few steps from downtown. If you have to stay in Bratislava I highly recommend the Danubia Gate for the quality of comfort, care and attention you will receive. Will definitely stay here next time again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We really much appreciate your positive comment and we will do our best to offer the best service we can to all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in Danubia Gate for one night. It is a small but nice, clean hotel with friendly and polite service. Only thing I didn't like is that they have offered me a discount for next stay if I write them a nice review on Tripadvisor. But anyhow, hotel was realy pleasant...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,thank you for your nice review on us and staying at our hotel. i just need to make one thing clear,maybe it was misunderstanding..we are running the competition until the end of april and everybody can take part..we will pick a few guests who wrote us the review and you can win one of many prizes. The guests can win weekend stay at our hotel,free transfer,dinner in the restaurant..and many others. On the other hand, we provide our loyalty program with discounts as well as corporate rates as many other hotels do and this has nothing to do with reviews. We provide loyalty program to anybody staying with us a couple of times. I apologize for bad explanation and i am sorry for this experience. I hope it is clear now.
With kindest regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucenec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We regularly visit Bratislava and have a stay at various hotels. Our trips are half business and half private, for one max. two nights, so we every time are looking for a comfort at the room, a good food and a good wine at the restaurant, a kind and smiling staff. All this we could find at this hotel (except of the possibility of dining because of the restaurant was during these days opened only for breakfasts) and I am sure to stay at this hotel next time too. Acceptable price, super quality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to write us this beautiful review. We very much appreciate it.
We will do our best to fulfil your needs in the future as well and go even above your expectations.
With kindest regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Address: Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DANUBIA GATE is a small but very friendly **** hotel in the Bratislava city centre, offering a complex package of services to both the business clientele and tourists. It is interesting due to its modern but elegant and tastefully designed interior and excellent services, hotel is famous for its latest technological equipment. The accommodation capacity of the hotel is 45 beds and we provide single rooms, double rooms, economy and family rooms as well as deluxe rooms. One of the rooms is specially furnished to provide comfort to our disabled guests. Modern STREET COFFEE & RESTAURANT with capacity for 40 – 50 guests is part of the hotel lobby. Its appealing architecture creates two spaces with different design. The hotel offers two conference rooms on the top floor, which are separated from the accommodation premises, and hence provide conditions for undisturbed meetings. Capacity of these rooms is 20 and 40 places depending on the type of event and variability of seating. A balcony with a view of the Bratislava castle and the old town is part of the rooms, which is designated also for smokers. Hotel provides free fitness centre to its guests and smoking Coffee House. All additional services which you may wish, will be arranged for you on the basis of contractual relations between several organizations and the hotel. Parking is available directly at the car park at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.