We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Save Saved
You added Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Bemidji MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed two separate times during a recent stay in Bratislava. The hotel was very nice - appears to have been recently remodeled. The room clean, comfortable and the staff was absolutely amazing. We had quite a number of special requests, and everyone we talked to was extremely helpful, and pleasant. They truly made us feel so welcome. The location was centrally located as well. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again if we ever get back to Bratislava.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for you nice review. I am very happy that you fond us excellent. This is why me and my colleagues love this work,to help our customer with anything and anytime. And to have such satisfied customer makes us proud to be here and to serve you.
With kindest regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    73
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
109
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Danubia Gate four nights during a blizzard hitting Bratislava in march 2013.

The room was clean og the daily cleaning is thorough. Breadfast was good. The overall rating of the service provided by the staff was friendly and serviceminded. Most of our problems with the room was solved quickly and so that is good. The Danubia Gate Hotel is situated in the center of old town of Bratislava. Så all the attractions was within 10 minuts walk.

Some nice to know info about how to reach the Danubia Gate I like to share with other users of tripadvisor. We got to the Danubia Gate Hotel late after a 50 min. bustrip from Vienna Airport it cost about 7 EURO (10 USD) per person. We got off at the busstation "under the bridge" stop. We caught a taxi close by the busstop and the time was by then about close to midnight, so that could influence the taxirates. The taxi to the doorsteps of the Danubia Gate Hotel cost 7 EURO (10 USD), which was fair due the late hours etc. The internet works fast and stabil. Sumsung flatscreen TV.

Bratislava got two main trainstations. One in the north (BRATISLAVA HLAVNA) and one in the South (PRTZALKA). The two stations only connected by bus or trams, meaning no trains between those two stations. The North station had connections to the rest of Slovakia, Praha, Brno and Budapest. The South Station has closest connection to Vienna. So be sure where you like go and plan accordingly. The busline 93 connects to two Trainstations and cost one EURO (the cheapest way besides by foot). The taxi rate from old town to the North station or south station cost approx. 5-7 EURO (6-10 USD) be sure to ask for turning on the Taximeter or you can be cheated by the driver.

Now to finish this review of the Danubia Gate Hotel. The main reason for not giving the hotel a higher rating than three is the following experience. After Bratislava we ask the hotel to order a taxi to transport us to the Prtzalka station (south station) to pick us up at the hotel early in the morning at eight o'clock. Here the troubles begins. At eight a black Mercedes pulled up at the hotel and a big guy with shades came in to pick us up. There was no taxi sign or other tihngs that indicates that the driver or the car was a regular taxi. There was no taximeter or licens in the car. A enquiry to the receptionist corcerning this worries gave no results. The receptionist said that is the taxi we ordered. So we enter the "taxi" we were told that the taxitrip cost 12 EUROs (16 USD) and that is the "normal" taxirate for hotels. We were speechless of that answer and shocked by the turning of our experience. The experience of the hotels staff until then was very positive, but this is disrupted heavily.

The only thing we want is the get off the car. So kept quiet and payed the driver when we arrived to the destination. We won't want trouble.

So in conclusion the lasted taxitrip cost us 12 EURO (normally 5 EUROS), but it cost the Danubia Gate Hotel one additional star.

By aware that the hotel charge and extra 1.65 EURO per person per night in something call "CITYTAX". That is NOT V.A.T. Booking.com had it on the confirmation mail in small letters. So be sure the read it. We paid an additional 13.20 EURO in the price listed from booking.com (two person for four nights) approx. 17 USD.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the street is north bound and is in the shade all day. The rooms towards the yards is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking you time to share in detail your experience with tripadvisor community. I am very sorry that you impression was so much changed at the end of your stay. On the other hand i have to explain the situation about the taxis as our receptionist did good work as well as the car you used was our normal car and nothing special. We did not want to cheat you at all. Each hotel is using the transportation company with elegant cars and professional drivers who speak languages,offer high standard of services. Transportation company has fixed rates agreed with the hotel which we have stated on our website as well as at the reception desk. These companies do not have special taxi sign nor the taxameters..For sure,they have the licence and provide services to many hotels. I believe i explained the whole situation and i would love to accent that the customer is the king for us and we strive to provide the best product and services to all our guests!
With kindest regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was very central and a good basic hotel! But there were bad things as well - and be aware! We asked the hotel to Call a taxi for us to get to the train station - and we trusted them and ended up having a really bad experience! The guy who turned up - was not a taxi driver - and he charged us €12. The day before we did the same Tour for €5 - with a taxi driver who used a meter. - We complained to the guy - and he just said hotel price. (we asked for a taxi - not a private driver in an expensive car). If we had had more time - we would have refused taking that car. We lost totally confidence in the hotel. All in all good hotel - but dont ask then to help you - or eat their pizza!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Fischau, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice small hotel with very enthusiastic staff, nice rooms though a little small and too warm. We appreciated the parking free of charge and the walking distance to the city center. The price is good, so is the breakfast, the rooms are clean and well equipped. We enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive review. Thanks for mentioning our wonderful team and our hospitality. We are glad to be here for our guests and are happy to host you and create an unforgettable experience.

We hope to welcome you again.

Warmest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here in January for a trip business, and would definitely stay again. The breakfast is probably the weakest part of the experience, and having to have a internet password for each device is a bit of a hassle, but otherwise, the room was nice and the staff really friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and tripadvisor community.

I am very sorry for your experience at the breakfast. We will keep working on it. There is always the possibility and the potential to be better eventhough we have been working hard the last year to offer more items, even a la carte breakfast menu. We will be happy to know more about your wishes so that we can follow your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stay just one night, but i was satisfied. Comfortable room, with all what i need (pc, tv, ...) and perfect big bed :) hotel is situated in middle of center, so everithing is so close from historical stuff to all good clubs, you don't need taxi, it's few minutes of walk from your room to everywhere

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panyiova, General Manager at Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and taking your time to share your experience.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back with us.

With kindest regards

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava

Address: Dunajska 26 | Staré mesto, Bratislava 81108, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DANUBIA GATE is a small but very friendly **** hotel in the Bratislava city centre, offering a complex package of services to both the business clientele and tourists. It is interesting due to its modern but elegant and tastefully designed interior and excellent services, hotel is famous for its latest technological equipment. The accommodation capacity of the hotel is 45 beds and we provide single rooms, double rooms, economy and family rooms as well as deluxe rooms. One of the rooms is specially furnished to provide comfort to our disabled guests. Modern STREET COFFEE & RESTAURANT with capacity for 40 – 50 guests is part of the hotel lobby. Its appealing architecture creates two spaces with different design. The hotel offers two conference rooms on the top floor, which are separated from the accommodation premises, and hence provide conditions for undisturbed meetings. Capacity of these rooms is 20 and 40 places depending on the type of event and variability of seating. A balcony with a view of the Bratislava castle and the old town is part of the rooms, which is designated also for smokers. Hotel provides free fitness centre to its guests and smoking Coffee House. All additional services which you may wish, will be arranged for you on the basis of contractual relations between several organizations and the hotel. Parking is available directly at the car park at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danubia Gate Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.