We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimate and classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albrecht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albrecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albrecht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mudronova 82, Bratislava SK 811 03, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“intimate and classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have been always fan of rather smaller hotels. This particular hotel has only 12 rooms to keep really intimate atmosphere. It is basically a large villa set in residential area near Bratislava castle. Surrounding of a hotel is quiet with only a little traffic. Unfortunately it is not very close to the city center but we did not mind as both of us (me and my girlfriend) spend considerable time in the city center and were really happy to leave the buzz behind.

Hotel itself is decorated in boutique style and give you a homey feel. Reception, bar, restaurant and even spa center are rather small if you compare them with for example Kempinski River Park hotel. However this does not mean that we fell claustrophobic by any mean:) Room itself is nice, super clean and provide all the amenities you need. Our bathroom was wonderful, with a really big bathtub.

We did not eat in a restaurant but it is run by one of the most respected chefs of the country, so I doubt that you will be disappointed. However we have few drinks in bar and prices are really reasonable considering where you are drinking:)

Spa is little gem. It is not large- consists only of like 15 meters long pool, 2 or 3 saunas, cooling pool and massage room but it is really beautiful and, thanks to just 12 hotel rooms, not overcrowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very beautiful hotel, located in a residencial area of Bratislawa, a bit far away from the downtown, but anyway, great place. Very big and comfortable rooms, clean, my room had a great balcony with table+4 chairs, great to have a drink or enjoy the evening......all that fantastic and great if you are on vacations, or on a romantic week-end with wife/husband/partner.

I landed here because the usual hotels I use in Bratislawa were all full (Sheraton, Crown Plaza) and my assistant told me that our travel agent recommended this place. I was on business, with a very tight agenda. Landed at Vienna Airport from London at 11:00PM, took a Taxi, arrived at the hotel 11:50PM, very tired and dying from hunger.....at check in asked the reception if I could get something to eat, and they told me that no, nothing, and in the area there was simply nothing to buy. The guy at reception told me I should try the mini-bar from the room.....therefore, my dinner was 2 packs of Pringles chips, and honey roasted almonds from the mini-bar. I also asked for wireless internet, and they told me that in the room only wired, and wireless in the lobby, meaning that after a day full of meetings, rush to Heathrow, full flight, etc, I was not able to sit in my bed and check some mails and presentation material. Much less personalized than at the Albrecht, but it is clear that something like this (which I give a lot of value when travelling on business) would have never happened in a 5-star chain hotel like the mentioned at the beginning of the review.

Bottom line, very beautiful place, and will come back, but with my wife on a romantic week-end.......but for my next business trip to Bratislawa, will certainly go to the hotels I usually do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel was very impressive, clean, nice design, good restaurant. I would say maybe a bit overrated. The room is nice and big enough, but i didnt like the grey colour of the walls. The bathroom was huge, but a bit cold. What i liked a lot was the bathub, it was really huge. The swimmingpool was nice, not really big. The stuff could be maybe a bit friendlier and pay more attention to the guests wishes. I asked the lady at the desk in the spa to tell me if any male is coming to the swimmingpool area, since im a muslim and covering myselfe, so i asked her to let me know and i can cover myselfe and leave but when we were in the sauna i saw her coming inside with a man, which i didnt find nice at all. I dont think its a big request, so a guest i would not expect to be ignored this way. I would recommend this hotel and would stay next time for a night or two for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe & Asia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location: Out of the city centre in a residential area, there is a bus station right in front of the hotel, which brings you directly to the city centre and back (very confinient, although I usually do not use public transportation)
Check in and welcome: Exceptional friendly, professional and welcoming
Room: we had the room No. 12 on the 2nd floor right under the ceiling (really charming), great room and interior design, not too big, but room enough, L'Occitane products in the bathroom, exceptional clean, only the bed was a bit too hard and the pillows are out of foam and not down
Bar: great bar, attentive staff
Restaurant: exceptional good quality of food, drinks and wine (definitely recommendable), although it is expensive for Slovakia, it is worth every cent, very attentive and friendly staff
Check out: perfect friendly and professional staff
Resume: At least for us it is the place to go when travelling to Bratislava!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, under the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

All the Pro´s of this hotel have been already highlighted by other reviewers so here is a few small drawbacks: 1) While the hotel restaurant is known for excellent dining, the breakfast was just average, but the eggs and bread were excellent. Don´t expect large buffet, even if fully occupied there is only 12 rooms in the hotel... ; in the room: 2) Design sometimes beats functionality (the lever mixer is out of your reach when sitting in the bathtub; the taps are slippery and difficult to rotate, chairs are heavy to move); 3) The large HD TV set was loaded with just analog signal and limited number of channels; 4) The stairway and corridor in the upper floor can not be ventilated so during warm days it is very hot there; 5) The room to room noise reduction is not ideal.
But in overall it is a really nice place and above average hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Simply a Secret gem in the heart of Bratislava, this hotel is one of the best in the city. The customer service is fabulous, the food is to be truly experienced and savored. To have such a quaint and top quality hotel is a real blessing in the heart of Bratislove. This Hotel is a 5 STAR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This small hotel is in a beautiful house located in a residential neighbourhood close to the castle. The fact that there was no elevator did not trouble us. We had a beautiful large room, wifi was free, we had massages in the morning which were top. Breakfast was plenty, our cappucinos were charged extra. I would go back there any time. Only drawback was the fact that it was not centrally located. Staff was super nice and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Albrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albrecht

Address: Mudronova 82, Bratislava SK 811 03, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Albrecht 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albrecht offers accommodation in twelve above-standard rooms, which conform to the original layout of this historical building (this is why none of our rooms are identical). The comfortable and luxurious interior of the hotel fulfills even the strictest criteria - the rooms are furnished in an elegant, modern style; they are equipped with: a minibar, telephone, spacious safe deposit box, air conditioning, 42'' and 50'' plasma TV sets. high-speed Internet access, a king-size bed, DVD movies for rent, a RFID electronic key, and L'Occitane products (luxurious hotel cosmetics).The hotel staff is ready to cater to all the wishes of our guests, 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Albrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.