We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little boutique - strange neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chorvatska 2, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful little boutique - strange neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is a 5 star gem, with some kind of odd points. The lift stops between floors, it was obviously added later and it's opposite the police penitentiary, which could mean it's either very safe, or you risk meeting strange people going in and come out from the 'hotel with a difference' from across the street. Other than that, I can truly say I loved what they've done with this hotel. The decor is very stylish and high-end design. From the illuminated bed-boards and floor lifts to candles in the stairs to the clean-cut lines of the bathroom. The only negative was the checking-out. As I use hotels.com, which prepays on the room, there was some confusion when I was asked to pay again for my stay, as they couldn't find the paperwork or access the account for hotels.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Don't be put off by the situation, in a residential street. My room was well appointed and large. Fashionably designed but, unlike some much more expensive hotels I have stayed in, not to the point of being impractical. For only the second time in my life, I tried the sushi restaurant and really enjoyed it. Staff were pleasant, helpful and polite. Two criticisms: Breakfast was functional and not much more; my room had a bath but the side was ridiculously high, so if you have slight mobility issues or are very short, it's probably best to ask for a room with a shower cubicle.
It is located 10 minutes from the main commercial area and 15 from old town. I paid 119 Euro per night, two-thirds the price of a small Paris hotel but twice the quality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in town for one night and this hotel was great. Although the sushi bar was closed for a private function I was able to order some food to my room. Having access to the pool and sauna was a real bonus and the roof terrace was beautiful!! The staff were so friendly and even agreed to send me something I had left in the room. The room was spacious and well decorated and everything was spotlessly clean. Brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here in February 2013 for one night at the end of a business trip. Although it isn't right in the city centre, the area seemed nice enough and it only took me around 15 minutes to walk to the centre.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was welcomed by a very friendly lady who explained all about the hotel & seemed genuinely happy to help with anything that I might need during my stay.

The room itself wasn't huge, but had a double bed, large desk, good minibar and a spacious bathroom (no bath). The small touches are quite nice, such as an umbrella in the wardrobe, choice of pillows and backlighting on the bed.

Unfortunately I didn't see the rooftop Jacuzzi, but I believe that it is closed in winter.

I tried the sushi from the restaurant in the hotel and it was lovely. There was a good choice at breakfast, and the quality was decent.

Bratislava isn't my favourite city ever, but I would definitely be tempted to go back on a romantic break just to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

wonderful hotel, good wellness room.
very good service and kind personale.
complete and fresh breakfast!
very good sushi restaurant inside!
only defect: in double room two single matresses and no one double

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I didn't have high expectations for this one and maybe thats why i liked it so much. It brands itself as a boutique hotel and it really tries to live up to this. It's just a refreshing and cozy hotel, right in the heart of a beautiful country.

Location: The location may not be the best, as i felt the hotel is a bit far off from the center and not too easy to got to in the evening, but it was in a quite corner of the city and a bus stop is not too far away. The main station is roughly 1,5 kilometers away by car or 4,50 EUR by taxi (the experience is worth the money, if you like near death experiences ;)).

Hotel:

It's a small and cozy hotel, with a small lobby, a small japanese restaurant, a breakfast room (even smaller) and even a gym with a small pool (indoor). It's pretty suprising, how much they have put in the small building.

Room: My room was not really huge by any means, but furnished very nicely, with an eye for detail and an extra eye for quality of the used materials. I felt at home the moment i stepped in. They provide comfortable beds, extra pillows if you don't like the standard pillows, a water heater, some sort a mini bar, a tv, a safe, everything you would need. Adding to that, the room looks really good and gives a quality impression, which my pictures sadly fail to transport.

The bathroom looked very good too, was clean and provided all amenties that you would look for in an 4 star hotel.

I cannot fault the room for anything, except the size, as everything was there.

Service: This is were the hotel really shines ! I mean, it's eastern europe ! I somehow expect the service to be bit grumpy and slow. But not here. The service was not only excellent, it also had a very hearty and honest feeling. It was maybe not perfect, but i always had the feeling that they try to do the best they can, to accommodate the guests needs. Very impressive, indeed !

Food: While the breakfast room was a bit to small for my liking, the offered breakfast was very good (apart from the coffee). I especially liked the croissants for breakfast.

I also tried the food at the japanese restaurant. While i didn't like it very much (well, it's japanese food, something i never liked so far), i still think it was very food for what it wants to be. And they had a lot of customers from outside, meaning that it must be very good food.

Verdict: Well, i liked the hotel. It's really like a Mama Hotel. They will make sure that you get the feeling as if Mama takes care of you ! This, combined with the good rooms, makes it recommendable hotel for me in Bratislava ! Or as many people wrote in the guestbook: I would come back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed there for one night during the business travel. Great location - walking distance from the main bus station - the place where buses from Vienna airport have a stop. Do not take a taxi to the hotel (especially in the night) - you can pay as much as 20 EUR for 800 m!!!! Really crazy. My room was really great - the bed lightning was spectacular. Breakfast was good..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#9 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel

Address: Chorvatska 2, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mama`s Design & Boutique Hotel is a comfort hotel in the wider city centre. The hotel will enchant you with a unique style, modern design and family-friendly atmosphere. You will find 15 luxurious Superior and Executive rooms here. Hotel is located in a quiet residential district, and the utter privacy of the guests is ensured by rooms` sound-proof system. Each guestroom has a premium minibar, 37-inches plasma TV with in room entertainment system and a pillow menu that allows you to choose the best pillow just for you. There is a free Internet access in the entire hotel. You can relax in the wellness centre with a pool, fitness and relax terrace, and during the summer, in a jacuzzi located in the roof with a beautiful city panorama view. Within hotel services there is an own car rental, free bike rental, free laptop rental. There is a wonderful sushi bar in the hotel. The distance from the airport is 15 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.