We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avance

Save Saved
You added Hotel Avance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Medena 9, Bratislava 81102, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

One cannot go wrong, with this hotel. Excellent location / staff / bar / room (Posh bathroom... what a treat). Even my friend Doris, would be pleased with this hotel; we are going to recommend it to her (beleive me, Doris would be very annoyed, if I gave a poor recommendation). What more can I say. Book it, you will enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed with another couple. rooms on the first floor, both excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
52
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in the historical centre and within a walking distance from the pier where the ferry from Vienna terminates.
The staff was courteous and spoke English. Breakfast was good, not amazing but still satisfying. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. I stayed there for 2 nights during a short city break in late May'12.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, chose this hotel due to to central location as per Tripadvisors comments. On our first night at 23.38 pm, all of a sudden a lady opened our door, and she said she made a mistake and pointed that her room was 440. 8 asked her how she can open our door with her key? I immediately informed the night reception who replied to me that it can't be possible! I told him it just happened and my husband and I saw the lady! The next morning, we reported again to the lady receptionist and her first reaction was it can't happen! We told her it did, and suggested they check their CCTV. So before our departure today, we asked her again and she said that they did not see anyone because the camera shows only people leaving he elevator and not going into their rooms..and she again repeated that this was not possible to happen! So I ask her whether she thinks I was inventing a story? Without any regrets nor apologies fromn this lady , its a pity for a hotel with such a good reputation, having won the 2012 Tripadvisor best hotel, and have such an attitude like this of their staff! As I said the hotel was almost perfect, I would like also to suggest that breakfast be refilled with hot dishes ..for some late comers like us. Housekeeping should also be trained to check and clean properly, when we arrived we noticed bread crumbs on the carpets, and was still thee until the day we left. The throw pillow on the sofa will also need to be replaced as this is completely old and thorn! As I said it was almost perfect due to its location and spacious room. I like to have a reply from the Manager for the incident that happened on 10 sept. thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A modem, clean, comfortable hotel in a very central location in Bratislava. The rooms are large and very comfortable with modern spacious bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and there is a nice comfortable bar for evenings. The staff are efficient and helpful. I can recommend using the hotel limo service between Bratislava and Vienna Airport. All round an excellent base for your visit to Bratislava.

Room Tip: Check out the air con - a little noisy in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.
The location is very good, close to the old town and to the Danube. The room was big, no bad odors, clean. The beds could have been cleaner (long strands of hair and some stains on the linen). The bathrooms was big and very clean.
The restaurant had good food and the personnel of the hotel and of the restaurant was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

With the car safely in the underground (8 car large) parking lot visiting Bratislava is great.
The airco in the room makes coming to your room very relaxing in the hot summer days.

Breakfast
On weekdays we were allowed to squeeze our own oranges and grapes for fresh juice. In the weekend fresh juice wasn't available (sad emoticon).
Breakfast is (to slovak standards) quite complete. Coming from a german hotel we missed the variety in breakfast a little.

Staff
The staff was polite and did was asked without any complaints. I would not call them genuine.
The contacts with cleaning ladies and ladies at the reception was splendid. You could feel the stares of the bartenders and see them start chatting when the elevator doors close.

(bath)Room
The rooms are very modern and the bathroom is excellent .
The bath is big enough for three (happy emoticon)!

Extra's
A Baby bed was provided for our baby, and extra efforts (sterilisation of bottles) are no problem at all.
We will probably be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Hotel Avance is a delightful and fine hotel, perfectly located on a quiet street just outside of the Old Town. The breakfast is a huge array of meats, cheeses, breads and fine pastries balanced with cereal, yogurts and fruit. Meals in the hotel are exquisite! White glove service!
Rooms are quiet and showers hot. But the best of all are the staff. Stefan, Michaela, Sasha,
Jacob, Tomas and others go out of their way to be kind and helpful.
These Canadians will never forget their trip to Bratislava made all the better with our stay at the Avance!
PS. Great Lattes!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quiet. Windows open if a/c not required Garage helpful as parking is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avance

Address: Medena 9, Bratislava 81102, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avance 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Avance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.