We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip House Hotel to your Saves list
Tulip House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sturova 10, Bratislava 81102, Slovakia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Morecambe, Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend arrived for our city break on Saturday 4th May by taxi from the airport. The bellboy greeted us on arrival and we were offered water whilst waiting to check in. The reception area was very nice. We were a bit early for check in (about 2 hours) but our room was ready so we checked in easily, got some maps and went up to our room.

We were not disappointed. We couldn't believe the size of the suite. It had a separate seated area with a flatscreen TV then the bedroom also had a flatscreen TV and chocolates on our pillows and complimentary water. There were plenty of toiletries in the bathroom as we hadn't brought our own due to just having hand luggage. There was a terrace you could go out on which was a real sun trap.

Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice and if you get the al a carte menu you can have a cooked omelette, porridge, pancakes. The staff were friendly and when you asked for a coffee they asked what sort and reeled off lots of different ones. We were very impressed.

The hotel is situated in close walking distance to the town, river, shopping centre, etc. We didn't need public transport at all, the city is fairly small to what we are used to. There was a nightclub a few doors down and some bars. The bar in the hotel was very pleasant, nice comfy seating area.

The maid came to our room on our last night about 7pm and offered to turn down our beds and gave us little carrot cakes which was a nice touch. We also got a free news sheet in a morning under the door about UK news.

Room Tip: Corner suite is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuliphotel, General Manager at Tulip House Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on the Tulip House Boutique Hotel following your recent stay and I am delighted to hear that you liked the location, found the staff friendly, breakfast plentiful and enjoyed your suite.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Kindest regards,
Lucia Menharova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    41
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
136
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Situated in the center of Bratislava the Tulip House is close to perfect. Excellent service and they succeeds to create a cozy atmosphere with personal service. They say their rooms are big, and that is totally correct. The rooms are all suits! It’s even not a minibar in the room, it is a well-equipped fridge. Breakfast is great, try the Egg Benedict. Short walk to the old city, but also short walk and you are in the big shopping mall by the river.
Going to Bratislava? This is the hotel you need :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Toulip House for New Year. Excellent value. Service immaculate! Rooms and hotel overall great for the price!
Breakfast, when ordered from the menu(which is allowed), spectacular!
Parking service excellent!
Rhapsody is very good restaurant but I think they could have found a slightly larger and more open place for it.
Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a booking we made as we thought "how often will we go to Bratislava". What a hotel. Great staff and the room we got was about 60 square meters with a separate TV room. The location was in the city centre, close to restaurants and bars. Only negative was the hotel gym, which was small and way to hot. But a must book if in Bratislava.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Tulip House Hotel is one of the nicest we have ever stayed at. Not only is it stunning to look at -- a gorgeous Art Nouveau beauty -- but the rooms are large and very comfortable (we had a vast suite with a fully equipped kitchen for a very modest price) and the hotel itself is within walking distance of everything in the city centre. Breakfast (lots of choice) is very good, and the standard of cooking at the restuarant was very high. The staff were delightful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Read the great reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give the Tulip House a try. Was a little underwhelmed by the slightly informal lobby and reception area, but my room was really quite exceptional. Not actually a room, but a full size suite that would cost a small fortune at one of the major chains. Full kitchen, separate living and sleeping areas, three different closets, 12 foot+ ceilings with floor to ceiling windows, and all completely modern due to recent renovations. Impressive indeed! It's a 5-10 minute walk (say 5 blocks) to the main part of the historic centre (opera house) so there are hotels that may be more conveniently located, but this seemed a small price to pay. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful and all seemed fluent in English. I was offered a complimentary beverage upon check in and a young man escorted me to my room and then quickly disappeared to ensure I didn't have time to tip him (not knowing whether it would be expected). A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My first standard room had a slight problem with being too hot so they moved me to a corner room. Both were very large. In the end that room got too hot as well. Im not sure the staff knew how to set the thermostat. The hotel is furnished very well and location is slightly away from Old Town but not really very far (5-10min) walk. Breakfast was very good and staff helpful. I did find it odd that the sauna was $55 to use so I didn't, there must be something more to it than just the type sauna we are used to in the US.

There is a tram stop about a half block away. If arrive by train contact the hotel they can arrange a car or tell you which tram to catch (line X19) I took taxi from train & got taken for a ride by driver. Ended up costing me 20x the tram & saved maybe 5-10 min with the wait.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, lots of windows & enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip House Hotel

Address: Sturova 10, Bratislava 81102, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tulip House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unexpected. Tulip House is Bratislava’s first truly and unique boutique hotel for demanding clientele. It combines the beauty of the past with the flair and elegance of the present. Built in Art Nouveau Viennese style in 1903 and remodeled in 2008, it prides itself on charm, stylish ambience and highest level of personal service. All this is coupled with its business-perfect Location in the heart of the City, close to the Old Town as well as to the Danube embankment, government offices and the international airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tulip House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.