We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava to your Saves list
Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilarikova ulica 5, Bratislava SK-811 03, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
267 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed three nights here, one night in an ordinary room and two in a suit. The second morning I saw a poster at the reception saying "upgrading during weekends", so we moved to an upgraded apartment. Just wonderful. Plus access to the executive lounge whith free internet and seating outside.

The location couldn't have been better. It took 7 minutes to walk to the old town centre. The weather was hot, so we appreciated much to go home at lunch for a shower.

The breakfast, esp the self-squeeze orange juice was delightful, as were the quality and variety of the cereal, bread, ham, yogurt and whatever we could wish for.

The rooms were spacious, well maintained and nice-looking. The rooms had a safe, Nespresso-machine, sattelite-TV and minibar. There was enough space in the closet for our clothes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalkensteinerCare, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear AroundTheWorld000
Thank you for submitting this nice review of your stay at the Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava. I am glad to hear, that you used the weekend upgrade offer and that you liked the Executive Lounge. And we are really proud on our breakfast buffet and such positive feedback is incentive for us to continue that way.
With best regards , Gernot Riha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    104
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
110
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel after taking a long flight from Indonesia to Vienna, then to Bratislava on the same day,,, quite an exhausting long flight,,, however, as I stepped into the room of this hotel, I feel so relaxed and enjoy the room... The room is minimalist, clean, not-so-big, but really have a good atmosphere and design... The bathroom is also really nice, with a good quality of bath gel and liquid... also, the location of the hotel is really near with the old town and historical place in Bratislava, the fitness centre is quite small, but have a modern equipment and a great view from there,,, I really recommend this hotel for everyone....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location, 5 mins from historical centre and 10 mins from Bratislava Castle. Spacious room. Very accommodating staff. Great buffet breakfast. The only downfall was the fact that the air-conditioner did not function at a level I would have expected but otherwise I could not fault this hotel. Clean, comfortable and good value for money.

Room Tip: Request room 610 on the top floor. The view overlooking the rooftops of the old town is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalkensteinerCare, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear valued Christine O.,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience from the Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava with fellow Tripadvisor travelers. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our services very well.
Last week’s we had peak temperatures of more than 39 degrees here in Bratislava and we did our best to chill all rooms as each guests individual request. That we didn’t meet yours I feel sorry for. But as we told you already at check in, this from your side requested room (610) could be more challenging to cool to everybody’s special desire. I hope to see you soon in Bratislava again and we will try to arrange more comfortable weather conditions for all of us : - ) . Warm regards, Gernot Riha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good quality of the room . Nice coffee maker machine. Nespresso. Huge bathroom. The hotel is looking a little bid old, especially at the furniture in the reception. Good breakfast, the restaurants are looking very old. Good facilities for car parking, but a little bit expensive especially for the guest from the hotel.

Room Tip: mandatory superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalkensteinerCare, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear bubu2012,.
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. Whilst I am pleased with the good points, I truly appreciate the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am truly sorry for the lack of service you experienced, please trust me that this is not the norm in our hotel. We are committed to guest satisfaction and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. With best regards , Gernot Riha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel but unfortunately the wifi on the 5th floor wasn't working at all, while the signal was full. I tried to connect via my laptop and mobile phone but I never did. At least there was a cable to connect the laptop. Other than that, this hotel is very clean, in very good location, great value for money!

Hopefully the wifi will be fixed soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalkensteinerCare, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear McMar86,
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion.
We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by not proper working WiFi connection in your room. Currently we are in a process of investing in a new WiFi system for the entire hotel. Meanwhile the cable connection in all rooms is a backup an even more secure connection possibility.
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your feedback is every time highly appreciated and we believe that we will be able to satisfy your needs next time you are around. With best regards , Gernot Riha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
365 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

+ good solid four-star hotel with well trained staff, all english-speaking.
+ nice breakfast
+ great spacious room with a huge bathroom (shower and bathtub), a Nespresso machine (free) and speedy internet (some people are complaining that it's too slow... Well, I can't doubt it, but in my case I was able to watch a live football translation stream, and it usually requires a fast connection).
+ asked the reception to arrange a taxi for us and got a very comfortable car (Mercedes) at the same price we paid at the train station (for an old Fiat).

+/- nice location just across the road from the old quarter. Actually, I wanted a hotel to be closer to the bridge and the castle, but it turned out that Falkensteiner is located much better. Although a few hundred meters away from the old town, it's in a more quiet location. Nevertheless, the farther you are from the touristic center, the dirtier are the surroundings. Bratislava itself is a soviet-era city with concrete grey buildings and nothing much to do. So I felt that this hotel is literally "on the edge" - if it was a step farther from the old town, the area would be totally depressing.

The last but not least. Some reviewers say that "you can find a cheaper option around" and suggest it to be Park Inn Danube. To be honest, I've also had that option in mind when choosing the accomodation. Finally, when in Bratislava, I was able to look at Park Inn at a close sight. Well, it's FAR worse than Falkensteiner, rooms more like 3* and the building is a concrete block without any charm. The only good thing would be the price (maybe?) and the proximity of UFO bridge, but that doesn't sound like a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalkensteinerCare, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Thefall,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your stay at the Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially from a frequent traveler like you are.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gernot Riha, General Manager, Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is actually ok even though beside a main road as a pedestrian subway provides easy access to the Old Town. Nespresso machine in rooms is good but room aircon ineffective. We were too warm and slept with an open window on the 5th floor overlooking the main road. Excellent sauna and gym but allow 1 hour for sauna to heat up. Great breakfast with everything you could wish for except fish. Wonderful orange squeezing machine. Nearby is a brew pub Samocky Pivovar which I recommend if you like good beer. It's 20m from the Ibis hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava

Address: Pilarikova ulica 5, Bratislava SK-811 03, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Room24 m², for 1-2 person, trendy and stylish room, with bath or shower and WC, high speed Internet access, telephone, writing desk, IP-TV, video on demand, radio, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, hairdryer, individual adjustable air-conditioning, safe that is large enough to hold a laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.