We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Skaritz Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

On it's own category, this is a unique hotel in Bratislava. Located in the old town is close to almost everything within a 10-minute walk. Rooms are clean, spacious, modern and very well equipped. Free WiFi connection is available everywhere. Staff is friendly and polite. Breakfast should be better, after the first week I was desperate for some variety.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the Main Street (Michalska)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    68
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
121
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Skaritz and will definitely stay there again. It's a well designed and appointed intimate modern boutique hotel, when many in the city are large business hotels, with a great location on the main pedestrian walking street entering the old town from Michael's gate. The rooms are beautiful, beds and pillows are comfortable, and it's very clean with a well designed bathroom and nice toiletries and a real hair dryer, not the usual lame hotel ones attached to the wall. In the room is provided free coffee, tea, mineral water. Nice staff, good price, good breakfast buffet selection (eggs two different ways, bacon, sausage and other meats, fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt, juices, etc). There is a nice free spa with a dry sauna; wish it had been a steam bath as I can't take the hot dry ones. Free internet and a cozy lounge in which to use it on the lobby level. Easy 20-min. walk from train station (which is a 25 min. .70 EUR bus ride from airport, #61). A perfect stay and way to experience charming old town Bratislava. Loved being there for the Christmas markets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

From arrival to departure this hotel was perfect. Polite and very helpful staff, Perfect location, Beautiful breakfast and overall great condition. On our second day here we arrived back to the hotel to find a complementary bottle of champers from the hotel for my boyfriends birthday which neither of us had even considered mentioning to the hotel. The hotel arranged taxis to and from the airport or train station and assisted us with our plans for a day trip to Vienna. I find it's the little things that matter and the hotel has these in abundance. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Clean and modern. I was pleasantly surprised by Bratislava overall. Great location, in the heart of the sites, shopping, and restaurants. Prompt room service. Nice toiletries. My only complaint was that the reception clerk left at midnight which could not deter loud people continuing their incessant talking and roaming the halls until 3am.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Skaritz on a weekend holiday in Slovakia. We booked roughly a month in advance and had no trouble securing a room. The staff at the Skaritz even allowed us to book the 3-for-2 night special on a Thurs-Sun trip even though that particular package typically is only good Fri-Monday.

Our large, apartment-style room was spacious, with tall ceilings, plenty of storage, a comfortable seating area and a wonderful shower (always important!). Even more important was the wonderful breakfast - a full buffet spread in the adjoining restaurant that literally kept us full for half the day. We got our daily fill of sausage, eggs, pastries, coffee, juices and yogurt.

The hotel is smack dab in the center of the old town, on a pedestrian street (don't worry, only about 100 yards from the nearest street with cars and taxis). Because of this, the nighttime noise through the windows can be loud (especially on the weekend!), but we also like to sleep with the windows cracked.

One note - our package came with one 'free mini bar refill' - for the entire weekend my husband and I debated about what this means exactly. Turns out it means you can have one item for free (except for spirits) and they will refill that single item for no cost. Good to know...it's not multiple items as I had suspected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and the hotel itself was in an excellent location right in the middle of the old town bars and restaurants. the room number (23) was facing the Main Street and was spotless clean the only issue we had was only receiving 1 cup of a hot drink in the room then a notice stating if u have more than that then u will be charged. now if u are paying €90 per night in a 4 star hotel I would expect a little less penny pinching, no milk was provided either and when asked for the receptionist was glad to go to the restaurant next door but this again could of quite easily been avoided if provided in the foo. . Overall nice hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a short stop-over in Bratislava in between stays in Vienna and Budapest... in hindsight we wish that we had stayed less time in stuffy Vienna and more time in charming Bratislava! For our 1 night stay, we found Skaritz Hotel to be wonderful. The room that we had was enormous, even if measured against typical US hotel rooms. Everything about the room was fresh and new, very clean and set up as an excellent launch point for many days of exploring Bratislava and the surrounding areas, I only wish we had more time to enjoy it.
The location was fantastic, nicely situated in the old-town area, just a couple of blocks from everything in the very walkable part of the city. The room price was quite reasonable and we very much enjoyed our time in Bratislava and the Skaritz Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skaritz Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Address: Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#13 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skaritz Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Downtown Location of Skaritz Hotel & Residence…Located in the pedestrianised area of the Old Town and on the most popular Michalska Street, our downtown hotel is an ideal starting point for all your business or leisure plans.All 20 guestrooms are non-smoking. The first 2 floors are evocative of the last couple of centuries due to their stylish decor and interior design. The top floor has been designed in a fresh modern decor. All guestrooms provide the latest in-room amenities for your convenience and comfort.In addition, our 6 apartments are equipped with kitchen and dining facilities. Our serviced apartments are prepared to provide you with the best comfort for long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Skaritz Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaritz Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaritz Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.