We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Skaritz Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 hotels in Bratislava
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were very very happy with our choice of hotel in Bratislava. We walked from the boat dock on the Danube to the old town,which is a pedestrian zone, with ease. We received a friendly welcome and were directed to our room no 22, via the elevator, on the second floor at the front of the building. We had a kitchenette, large living room, separate bedroom and spacious en suite bathroom. The bed was comfortable with quality linens and pillows - perfect. The windows provided great sound insulation and there were black out curtains too. We had wireless internet, a kettle, plenty of sockets and extensive well priced mini bar. This is one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in!
We stayed for two nights and enjoyed breakfast which was served in the Pressburg Restaurant attached to the hotel. There was plenty of choice with fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses, meats, breads, pastries, salad and tomatoes, eggs, sausage, bacon and mushrooms with courgettes! More than enough to satisfy.
We found the staff helpful with varying degrees of English spoken. At no time was language a problem. Well done to everyone for their grace and humour.
Highly recommended and a very pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: 22 at the front afforded a great spot to people watch from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    57
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
95
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here a few months ago. Such a lovely hotel! We stayed here for the weekend. The hotel is situated in the middle of the old town. Our room was really spacious, complete with kitchenette and an open lounge area. We used the massage facilities and was very reasonably priced. The hotel is situated 10-15mins away from the main station, where you catch the train to Vienna. The staff were polite and friendly and breakfast was a mixture of hot and cold selections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in early August and really enjoyed our stay. The room we had, (33), was on the top floor overlooking the street and was spacious and well equipped. The air-con was brilliant, it was very hot during our stay. Breakfast was very good, food was fresh and a good choice, it was nice to sit outside and watch the world go by as we enjoyed our coffee.
Staff were excellent and very helpful.
If we return to Bratislava we would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Location is excellent in the middle of Bratislava old town. Rooms are big with aircondition and at least some of them have own kitchen if you need it. Good breakfast included in price and served in first floor restaurant. During the day and in the evening this same resaurant serves very good local food. If you arrive by boat, this hotel is short walking distance from harbour i.e. no taxi needed, especially as they do not drive inside the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I love this hotel!

This was my second time staying in the Skaritz, and I’ve enjoyed both times. The hotel is located on the walking street in the heart of old town Bratislava. We were near all of the bars and restaurants!
The hotel itself was clean, no loud street noise, and stayed very cool with a great AC system in all of the rooms.

The breakfast was very good, and filling. I really liked how they have outdoor café seating, and you can enjoy your meal while you people watch! The staff was amazing! So friendly and helpful. They answered any question we had, and gave awesome recommendations!

The downside is that there is no parking directly near the hotel due to where it is located. The parking garage wasn’t far, but it was pricey 35 Euro a day! A rip off to say the least.

I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

You can't pick a better location, right in the middle of the old town Bratislava...walking distance to everything and still quiet with great insulation from street noise. We arrived during a heat wave and the A/C worked great...more than I can say for most places in Europe. The rooms are spacious, newly renovated, comfortable with firm mattresses and soft sheets. The bath was immaculately clean with plenty of soap, shampoo and towels (I can still remember the days not too long ago where you needed to bring all your own toiletries to Euro hotels after enduring a night on spongy mattresses). The breakfast was pretty good...lots of variety and choices of fresh ingredients. The staff meant well and tried their best, but their English was pretty rudimentary and they didn't have "concierge"-style abilities. The only downside which is fine if you're prepared for it: the hotel is in a pedestrian zone so you have to carry your luggage about 250 meters along the cobblestones.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Michalska are quieter and less exposed to direct sunlight (still bright but don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel is extremely well located in hart of old town walking district and easy to access by foot, but you should note that hotel is reachable only by foot. Taxis have to leave passengers to short walk away. But this means that attractions are in walking distance from hotel. Service at front desk was very good, efficient and pleasant like I expected from other reviews.

It was nice to stay in house that has a long history all the way back to 1528, more information about house can be read outside front door.

Our room was facing street at 2nd floor, sound isolation is very good from corridors, but little bit noise can be heard from street, kind of sounds that belong to city center. Sounds had no bother for us, even my wife get a good sleep; usually she wakes up at smallest noise. Rooms have a spacious feeling and plenty of space for my family of tree. In room was nicely decorated and furnished, including coffee and tea making facilities. Colors for room are suitable for old building style. In bathroom there is a bathtub and feeling is light and spacious. All areas are well cleaned & maintained. Only thing that comes to my mind that could be better is air-condition, opening a window was more cooling at evenings.

Breakfast restaurant at is absolutely great, one of the best I have had in Europe so far. There was a selection cold and hot food, eggs, bacon, vegetables, cheeses, cold cut, bread, yogurt, fruits etc. Breakfast space is spread between inner and outer part and free table was easy to find. Only one baby chair was available. Breakfast was included in our room price.

We travelled as a family, me my wife and 1,5 year old doter. City area was easy to move around with baby stroller and easy to walk even by my doter.

We get here by bus from Vienna airport, arriving to main bus terminal and took taxi from there.

I can recommend this hotel, this was our first time at Bratislava and if we return to Bratislava we will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skaritz Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Address: Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#11 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#11 Family Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skaritz Hotel & Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Downtown Location of Skaritz Hotel & Residence…Located in the pedestrianised area of the Old Town and on the most popular Michalska Street, our downtown hotel is an ideal starting point for all your business or leisure plans.All 20 guestrooms are non-smoking. The first 2 floors are evocative of the last couple of centuries due to their stylish decor and interior design. The top floor has been designed in a fresh modern decor. All guestrooms provide the latest in-room amenities for your convenience and comfort.In addition, our 6 apartments are equipped with kitchen and dining facilities. Our serviced apartments are prepared to provide you with the best comfort for long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Skaritz Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaritz Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaritz Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.