We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Skaritz Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Bratislava
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Skaritz Hotel which is positioned centrally in the Old Town in Bratislava.

The apartment we had was spacious, fully renovated and elegant in every way.
The hotel staff provide a wonderful service.

A hearty buffet breakfast was included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    63
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
111
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Skaritz hotel is located right in the main street for pedestrians in Bratislava. You just pick up the taxi (when needed) and drive until the Michalska Brana (the gate). The taxi cannot take you any longer! A few steps with your luggage - and you are in front of this nice hotel. The rooms are very spacious, and modern. Breakfast was better than expected - much better than elsewhere during my trip. However, the only minus point is, that I had requested a silent room. However, they gave me the in the uppest level with attic windows facing the street. During the weekend, no possibility to start sleeping before 4 o'clock in the morning. The next day they gave the room colse to the atrium. It was perfect, but a bit troubles with changing the rooms for 2-night-stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the Skaritz hotel for only one night while visiting Bratislava on business. I contacted the hotel before booking to ask if a room could be made available before the check in time as my flight would arrive in Bratislava very early in the morning. They couldn't promise it would be available but they told me they would try. When I arrived at around 10:30-11:00 I was pleasantly surprised that my room was already available. I had room 35, right at the top. The room was very big and bright. The bathroom was huge with a huge bathtub and really nice shower. The bed was very comfy with big pillows. There was also a desk and really strong wifi internet connection.
Location was perfect to walk around the old town and see the different sights, even though I didn't have much time to sightsee. The old town was very quite, but perhaps it is the time of the year...
The breakfast was ok, quite a big selection including fresh pastries, and it is served in the restaurant next door. I have also had some lunch there - chicken caesar salad - and it was really delicious.
The staff was very helpful as well and in overall I had a very pleasant stay and will definitely stay there again. The only downside is that early morning and late night you could hear when people opened and closed doors or talked in the hall, or showered next door. But I managed to get an ok night sleep anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was in Bratislava for a 3-day conference and stayed here based on some other reviews and a great deal. The rooms are large, well appointed, esthetically pleasing and comferetable. It's very central so an easy walk to almost anywhere. Breakfast (was included) was fine - however not worth the bother if you have to pay extra. The toiletries are nice as is the smalls selection of tees/coffees. Staff is very nice. I would absolutely say here again.
That being said - the negatives: no taxi access (this didn't make a difference to me but could to some). it is in the old town so windows on the street could be noisy.. however, mine were on the internal courtyard and while quite it was terribly stuffy - plus whatever noise there was ie shift change, early morning deliveries, i heard every word.
I kind of wished they would have made the sitting room - that i never used - smaller and made the bathroom bigger and included a tub. Towels could have been better.

Room Tip: see above -there are issues whereever your windows are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 28th of March( day before good Friday.) A very nice hotel right near all the sites you want to see in Bratislava. Close to bus and train station. for 98 euro our residence had a kitchenette, large sitting room, bed room and bath room ( flat screen TV, Hifi, wifi...etc.) Friendly and helpful receptionists and breakfast buffet attendant.
Superb breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel in the middle of the Old Town in Bratislava. The rooms are massive! We book a double and we got a suite (not sure if that is the case with all the rooms) - with a large living room and generously spaced bedroom decked out in lovely dark wood furniture. The bathroom is also very roomy with the added bonus of a massive shower head. There was a kitchenette as well. Breakfast wasn't included in the price but at 5EUR per head is more than worth is as there is a nicely stocked buffet with regional meats and cheeses and cooked breakfast including several types of eggs, bacon, sausage and grilled med vegetables. Later on the restaurant turns into an old Pressburg style venue where you can try some classic Slovak dishes. The hotel is housed in an old house, which used to belong to the Skaritz family and has a nice skylight brightening up the small but comfortable lounge area where you can relax with a book or a magazine or make use of the free wifi. There is also a spa which we haven't tried (the masseur promotes using Weleda products if anyone's interested). Overall, a faultless place to stay IMHO.

Room Tip: although it was stated the rooms have no wi-fi, our room on the 2nd floor had enough signal to get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was very pleased with our room, it had a sitting area as well as a bedroom, the decor was in very good taste and the shower was good. However, with a few changes, this could be a great hotel. There are no extras like slippers, robe, good products etc. There is also a lot of noise around the hotel since all floors are hardwood, I kept waking up with the traffic outside the room and one morning woke up with a huge start, dont know what was doing on but it sounded like a big blast. The bed was a bit hard for me and the bedding limp, both pillows and duvet.

I had a wonderful massage there, highly recommend it and it was not more expensive then the Thai massage up the road, even if it is in a hotel. I did not try the sauna, wish I had.

The location is good, right in the middle of the old town but beware, there is not a lot to see and do in Bratislava really, a day is enough, an overnighter would do it and even a trip from Vienna, it is only an hour away via train or bus and cheap to do.

And a HUGE beware, do NOT take taxis off the street, never ever. I had to take one from the train station, he charged me 30 Euros for a few minutes trip and I thought I just got a bad one, took one again the following day since it was freezing cold, asked the driver beforehand how much it would be, he told me about 5 Euros or so and at the end of the trip the horrible man charged me 40 Euros for a couple of kilometers.I threw 20 at him and told him to take me to the police otherwise. Both had meters on but they can adjust them to go the speed they want to. The people of Bratislava are aware of the taxi scams, they are trying to regulate it but so far it does not work. It really puts a bad taste in your mouth for sure and I will always remember my time there with a nasty feeling.

There are no stores for drinks or nibbles around the hotel, in fact, I did not find one anywhere, very odd.

Bratislava was more expensive then I thought it would be but the hotel I found was good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skaritz Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Address: Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#11 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skaritz Hotel & Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Downtown Location of Skaritz Hotel & Residence…Located in the pedestrianised area of the Old Town and on the most popular Michalska Street, our downtown hotel is an ideal starting point for all your business or leisure plans.All 20 guestrooms are non-smoking. The first 2 floors are evocative of the last couple of centuries due to their stylish decor and interior design. The top floor has been designed in a fresh modern decor. All guestrooms provide the latest in-room amenities for your convenience and comfort.In addition, our 6 apartments are equipped with kitchen and dining facilities. Our serviced apartments are prepared to provide you with the best comfort for long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Skaritz Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaritz Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaritz Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.