We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, chic hotel in old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Skaritz Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Bratislava
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“comfortable, chic hotel in old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

i was very pleased with my stay at the hotel. the room was comfortable and very cool looking. the shower head was amazing! i was able to book a room for 70 euro, which i thought was a steal.

my only half-hearted complaints are that it is not taxi accessible. if you have a heavy bag or mobility issues it could be a problem. also, when i paid my bill the front desk had no change (my change was less than one euro) which i thought was quite odd.

overall, i'd definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    77
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
135
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

5 of us stayed for 3 nights. Not a better located hotel anywhere.maybe missing a pool or gym but reception girls kristina and Andrea more than made up for it . Breakfast fine and well clued in on where to go

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although there was a lot of snow during our stay, the walk into the pedestrian precinct of Old Bratislava from the Ursulinen Parking did not take more than 5 minutes. It is worth the while. The old town is beautifully restored and the hotelstaff is very forthcoming. A particular thank you to Zuzana Nagyová, who helped us booking the next hotel at a 15% discount off the internet rate.
The room under the attic was spacious, included a small pantry and two desks. Only negative point is the shower. As in many Central European hotels, the shower is a handshower with no possibility to fix it to the wall.
No problems with tyhe wifi.
Standard C-E breakfast without any frills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

There were 5 of us (all guys) stayed here at the start of the year.

Firstly, hotel ... I think this place would be very hard beat by any measure - location, right in the middle of old town in the pedestrian bit, so no cars but parking is addressed in other reviews. Staff - all spoke good English, very helpful and very pleasant, hotel facilities, it's a small hotel, no pool or gym but has a sauna which is spot on (just give reception 15 minutes to set out your towel and robe!), breakfast, is all you need to start the day, hot and cold food, rooms, again, no complaints, very clean, warm, great shower, beds great - so all good there. My biggest test is would I come back here and the answer is a definite yes!!!

Getting from the airport - always an issue for me here's how to do it. Walk out terminal, cross the road and turn right. Walk to the end of the footpath to the bus stop, bus number 61, buy a ticket from the machine 90 cent! Get on the bus - be sure to validate (they mean ruin!) your ticket when you get on the bus - get out at the main bus station which is obvious when get there. Get out, and this is where we went wrong! Personally, I would get a taxi from there for a few Euro - not sure how many but it's 23-25 euro from the airport so I am sure from the bus station it's very little. For a challenge - keep right on the footpath and get the bus with same ticket you got at the airport (it's based on time, not journeys).

Bratislava itself - loads of bars, restaurants, cafes, coffee/sweet/chocolate places. I mean loads of bars! Anyway, a few that are very close to Sakritz, walk out and take a right and walk up under the archway - 4/5 bars there all lively and good, just pick your music and poison and enjoy!

Main bus station is 10 minute walk from Skaritz, again the hotel staff are very helpful here. Vienna is worth a visit, 12 euro return and its an hour away. Great for a day. Underground is across the road from bus station in Vienna, 2 euro gets you to the centre and its quite easy to navigate - if I did it anyone can!

Thanks Skaritz!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, ultra clean & really nice rooms (Room 31 lovely attic room with cooker & double bath). Staff fantastic, breakfast fabulous 30 seconds from square.. Only negative.. Lacks pool, otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Okay, can t say anything bad about this, great price, great location, great staff, great privacy, great room, clean room, what else is there to say. Hotel the way a hotel should be!
Would recommend to all! A litte shiny light in the often to dark Bratislava!
THANKS GUYS!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a very central location in the heart of the old town. Comfortable spacious room, lovely bed and pillows, very clean and cosy. Great shower !!! Free sauna in the cellar .....great for warming you up on a cold winters day. Breakfast was plentiful with good coffee. Tea and coffee making facilities in room, but not refilled ( take spare tea bags/coffee ). Great stay in Bratislava in a great hotel . Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skaritz Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaritz Hotel & Residence

Address: Michalska 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#12 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#18 Family Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skaritz Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Downtown Location of Skaritz Hotel & Residence…Located in the pedestrianised area of the Old Town and on the most popular Michalska Street, our downtown hotel is an ideal starting point for all your business or leisure plans.All 20 guestrooms are non-smoking. The first 2 floors are evocative of the last couple of centuries due to their stylish decor and interior design. The top floor has been designed in a fresh modern decor. All guestrooms provide the latest in-room amenities for your convenience and comfort.In addition, our 6 apartments are equipped with kitchen and dining facilities. Our serviced apartments are prepared to provide you with the best comfort for long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Skaritz Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaritz Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaritz Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.