We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Hostel to your Saves list
City Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Obchodna 38, Bratislava 81106, Slovakia (Staré Mesto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hostel is in a good location for exploring the city,with everything in walking distance. The rooms are basic but acceptable, bathrooms are ensuite with towels provided-unlike other hostels I have stayed in. Having said that, it is more like a budget hotel than a hostel. Either way a great base for a few nights of drinking cheap, strong beer & soaking up some post-communist culture.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
20
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Simple budget hotel, i stayed here with friends on a cycling trip. The rooms are clean, we were a bit unlucky with the reception, the person working there did not have her best day. It was not possible to get out of the hotel before 7am (gate closed), but we did not ask the receptionist in advance we just assumed that we could leave any time. We payed 66€ for a room for 4. Breakfast is not included, but there is a perfect Starbucks imitation just opposite the hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here just for one night to take advantage of Ryanair's cheap flights leaving from Bratislava Airport. I arrived from Vienna and was able to walk from the bus station (near the bridge) to the hostel within around 20 minutes. You can take public transport but I thought it was easier to walk. The staff were friendly enough and I can't really complain about the room given the price. I paid around 25euro for one night in December, and the room had two single beds, a TV (not much English language stations though) and a clean, spacious bathroom. I would definitely recommend this hostel for those that are just staying for a day or two in Bratislava, perhaps on their own, and want a good place from which they can check out this magnificent city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay if you're in town for 3 or 5 days. The staff were great and the rooms were big. Everything was clean. The location is perfect, you are already in the center where you can find all kinds of restaurants, shops and a wonderful mini market seconds away.
They don't have WIFI, witch was ( - ) and no English channels on TV except CNN. Big thanks to the helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just got back from Bratislava yesterday,16/1/12 where we stayed 5 nights at City Hostel. It was too long a stay. 3 days will be just good as the town is very small but beautiful. It is just one hour by train to Vienna for just 11 euros. We went for the day and got to the centre then the hop on hop off bus. It is 2 hrs and 40 mins from Hungary (for a cost of 17.50 euros) but we did not have time to go there as I fell and hurt myself, The name hostel is very misleading, as it is just a one star hotel. After checking in, I asked where the kitchen is and there was none of course. Hostel bookers advertise the amenities as 24 hour coffee at reception. When I inquired they said no but you can get hot water. I did not take my traveller's kettle as I thought being a hostel we had access to a kitchen and washing machine. There was none. The rooms were very very basic, but spacious and appeared clean. For our entire stay (6days) they never cleaned the room or empty bins nor give us clean sheets., We asked and was given clean towels on the 3 day when we observed that they were never changed. You have to make your own beds.The noise at nights are from the loud mouths returnig and as the walls are paper thin, I will be awaken at least twice a night. I am still confused as to whether it is a hotel or hostel. Be aware there is no kitchen nor did they serve a breakfast even if you wanted to buy one. However, it is on the main street where there were loads of eating places. The TV only had one english channel which was CNN news. The computer broke down so we had no internet access. The bed was extremely hard and low down so if you are tall it is a nightmare getting in and out. If you are on a budget holiday and not staying long then I will recommend.It is really brilliantly located and lots of pubs, cafes, resturants nearby. the railway station is just 2 stops away. Do not use the taxis from the airport as they are extortionate. Take the number 61 bus to the last stop on that route,.Just 1 minute away as you walk around to the opposite side take the number 93. Get off at the second stop, walk towards the traffic lights and cross the road to the opposite side (the side with the presidential palace), Walk down the narrow road facing you between the hotels you come to Obchodná. Turn left continue walking until you come to the hostel on your right. We saved 22 euros by taking the bus. Always phone for a taxi do not get into them they will rip you off. The bus was only 90 cents. I hope this is helpful. Good luck if you plan a trip there,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I loved this place, clean modern and really warm. The staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The location is fab, you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Excellent value. Hotel rather than hostel. Large clean room. Central location near sights of old town but quiet. Free use of computer in reception. No breakfast. Strongly recommended for reasonably priced, no frills, accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Hostel Mansard
#2 of 57 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Excellent Location 1
#25 of 57 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Hostel Possonium
#26 of 57 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#1 of 57 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Patio Hostel
#12 of 57 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Staré Mesto
Art Hostel Taurus
Art Hostel Taurus
#4 of 57 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel

Address: Obchodna 38, Bratislava 81106, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hostel is a new hostel located on the youthful and lively Obchodna street. The 29 rooms are all equipped with their own en suite toilet and shower, unlike in most other hostels. City Hostel offers single, double, triple rooms and suites, all equipped with TV set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.