We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vynikajuce ubytovanie/ Outstanding accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maura

Villa Maura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Maura to your Saves list
Villa Maura
Timravy 4, Banska Bystrica 97401, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Zilina, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vynikajuce ubytovanie/ Outstanding accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Boli sme s kolegom na sluzobke a musim uznat, ze penzion by si zasluzil 4* namiesto styroch. Kvalita ubytovania je vynikajuca. Slecnam, ktore sa o nas starali davam 5* Urcite rad vyuzijem ich sluzby pri najblizsej navsteve mesta. Pocas svojho zivota som spal vo viac ako stovke hotelov, ale welcome drink a darcek na rozlucenie mi nedali nikde :)

I was there with my colleague on business trip. Honestly I must say, that for this pension it would be better 4* rating. Quality of accomodation is outstanding. But I give 5* for girls those made the overall stay management. Surely I will come again in case of planning trip to Banska Bystrica. During my life I´ve been accomodated in more then 100 hotels but I´ve got nowhere welcome dring and nice present while saying good bye.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate and book ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Villa Maura has just six rooms. Our room was large with lots of windows and comfortable modern decor. The bathroom was modern with a great shower. The villa is situated in a quiet residential street about ten minutes walk from the clock tower in the main square and from the Museum of the Slovak National Uprising.

The hosts are very helpful and give the impression that they are willing to do almost anything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. They grow their own wine and will probably offer you a glass when you arrive. It is hard to imagine that there is a more comfortable, convenient place to stay in this town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our hosts at Villa Maura went out of their way to make my wife and I feel welcome. I arrived with a head cold and they met us outside (we arrived with backpacks in the dark), took our bundles, sat us down in the lovely dining room and brought a complimentary glass of slivovic and a pot of tea. Staff was friendly, attentive and spoke English. The room was well-appointed, the entire place beautifully decorated and spotless and the breakfast hearty. Only 10 minute walk to lovely downtown Banska Bystrica town square. Really wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a great stay here at Villa Maura, the rooms were very clean , well decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble would recommend this to anyone. The centre was at the most 10 minutes away and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just Perfect! Excellent breakfast with Slovakian sausages, eggs, ham, cheese, coffee or tea, juice, tomatoes, pepper, sweets! Excellent room - good size! Very big convenient bed! I am a light sleeper - I slept very good! Good location - in the middle of Slovakia - you can reach a lot of places by car. There is a parking inside and outside the hotel. We stayed for two nights. One night staff couple understand and spoke little Russian which was very convenient. But all staff also understand English.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed two nights in Villa Maura with my mother and we didn't want to leave it. It is villa with 5 newly reconstructed rooms like all villa is. The best think in this place are the owners who are very nice and helpfull with all thinks you need.
I have to recommend you to choose this place if you are planning to go there.
Breakfast were excellent-salt pancakes, hot sausages,. Yummy
Rooms are nice, new, clean.
In aprox. 7 mins by walk you are in city centre
You can park car in garden or like us in garage:-)
And... we appreciate present we received at the departure ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very nice small hotel in smart area close to the city center, hotel offers clean rooms, delicious breakfast and hospitality staff.
I would like recommend this accommodation for all who wants to stay in Banska Bystrica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maura

Address: Timravy 4, Banska Bystrica 97401, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Bystrica
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Banska Bystrica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Maura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.