We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's hardest Bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aracade Hotel

Aracade Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aracade Hotel to your Saves list
Aracade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namestie SNP 5, Banska Bystrica 97401, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Banska Bystrica
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“World's hardest Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our beds were beautiful to look at BUT Impossible to sleep on since they truly were like a heavy plywood board covered with wires, with absolutely NO give. Bring a Foamy if you plan to sleep here.
We had one of the rooms facing the square, Extraordinary luxury for a historic Building, thebath room completely modern with a massive sink and faboulous shower separated from the bedroom by an ancient tall door. Huge windows and great classic desk. Good WIFI. Beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. Breakfast good european fare...eggs,sausages, bacon as well as all the cold cuts, Great Buns and Bread, fruits and good coffee.
Would have given 5 Star except for Parking and Bed.

Room Tip: The front rooms may be noisier in the summer...totally quiet in Sept/Oct on our Monday We walked qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Perfect for famillies and couples it is in an ideal location being next to the main square. We really enjoyed our stay. Exepecially the view of the square in the morning. Not sure about the swimming pool. We were not aware it had one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice hotel! Great location. Nice historical building. Unusually large rooms very comfortable, clean and silent. Very kind and communicative staff. Stairs and a part of interior was under obviously reasonable but small reconstruction but nothing annoying, everything was in order. It is obvious that owners invest in the hotel and that is good. I can recommend. and interesting gift at the end of stay - local homemade bread! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of the city, making it a short walk from most of the good restaurants in BB.

The rooms are clean and newly renovated, however they didn't give me a "warm," "comfortable" hotel room feeling.

The hotel was rather empty, and the hallways were used for storage of unused furniture/service items.

Keep in mind there is no elevator, and if you need a hairdryer you should request it at check-in. Or you can walk up and down the 4 flights of stairs again, if you want :)

Breakfast was nothing special. I ordered scrambled eggs for 5 Euro, that was prepared by the (only) waitress. They came out like egg soup, and I had to send them back to have them cooked until they were in a solid state. Other cold selections were rather unsatisfying. I would venture out of the hotel to the bakery a few doors down.

The conference rooms were spacious, and allowed us to conduct our business comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the square, otherwise you will have a view of brick walls and rooftops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Excellent location in the city center. Nice, old historical building, but without elevator, and no assistance with carriyng luggage. So if your suitcase is heavy like mine was, I reccomend a room on first floor. Also, it was very noicy at night, there are a few cafes nearby, so be sure to ask for a room on back side of hotel. Great comfy beds, clean room and bathroom and very polite personnel. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very good location in the heart of the city, close to the train station (in walking distance). Lots of restaurants and bars nearby the hotel. The hotel itself is clean, rooms are nice, the staff is friendly. Free wifi. No hair-dryer in the room. Breakfast looks good, but was not very rich. The bread as a gift was very nice gesture. I can recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Old Town, close to many shops, bars and restaurants.
+ location
+ clean room and bathroom
+ good wifi
+ private parking
+ we got the Slovakian bread as we checked out, so it was a very nice surprise.

- average breakfast
- poor view from my room

Summarazing, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aracade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aracade Hotel

Address: Namestie SNP 5, Banska Bystrica 97401, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Bystrica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Banska Bystrica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aracade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aracade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aracade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.