We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Tata” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platan Vararok Vendeghaz

Platan Vararok Vendeghaz
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Platan Vararok Vendeghaz to your Saves list
Platan Vararok Vendeghaz
Kastely ter 11 - 13, Tata 2890, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Tata B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Tata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Perfect location, close to the historical sites, just right next to the lake and the castle. It offers brand new, 4-star superior category rooms for reasonable rates. Our room was very specious, like an apartment with sitting area and kitchenette. The bed is very comfortable. Its restaurant worths trying, good food and romantic terracewith the best view in Tata. Superb home-made ice cream and cakes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
219 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Platan for a friends' wedding and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is in a great location: near the lake and next to the castle walls. The room was large, well decorated and well equipped. There was a decent selection of food for breakfast. The price was very reasonable for a hotel of this quality.

We can also recommend the attached restaurant, having eaten there several nights in a row. Each time the quality was great.

Room Tip: Note that some rooms have a kitchenette, so ask for this if you want a self-catering option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Next to the castle it's a nice place to stay with clean and comfortable rooms. The adjoined restaurant provides a wide selection of traditional but nicely "redesigned" food and desserts (try the panna cotta!). The wellness section in the basement (with a sauna and a jacuzzi) is a good place for a refreshing hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

small hotel slap in the middle of the old town and under the walls of the castle. I have stayed here 6 times since it opened two years ago and have never been disappointed. The staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the position is perfect for visiting all the places of interest in Tata. The hotel is built in very old existing buildings and although throughly modernised inside the rooms and interior spaces are rather dark, however there are two private terraces overlooking the the castle moat or you can walk 2 minutes to the public terrace overlooking the lake. My favourite place to stay in Tata. Hotel has a small Wellness Centre comprising sauna and jacuzzi.

Room Tip: rooms next to the restaurant can be noisy late evening and early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chose Tata for a walking weekend with our Labrador. Booking.com says the hotel accepts dogs, & I stated on my booking that I had a dog.

Upon arrival, the receptionist said she hadn't been informed that I had a dog, and that dogs were only allowed in the basement rooms. She showed me to a very small, stuffy double next to the sauna. There was also an incessant beeping noise coming from somewhere. I complained and was moved, with dog, to a much nicer, larger, airier single on the 1st floor.

Despite the less than great start to my weekend, the remainder of my stay was lovely.
The staff were very helpful & accommodating, happy to bring tea to my room & book me a table at the gorgeous restaurant. They helped me book a massage for friends who were arriving the following day, & even offered to get me an English-language newspaper from a local shop.

The breakfast is delicious & beautifully laid out. As my friends commented, the hotel really has thought of every detail.

The jacuzzi could have been warmer, but the sauna was great. My friend also enjoyed her massage.

The hotel is right by the lake, and the restaurant is superb.
Altogether a great weekend. But probably don't bring the dog.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the basement by the sauna. The other rooms are much much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in Tata at a few places. However this has to be the best ever.
The place has charm, the staff are friendly and is in a great location near the old lake.
One comment said the rooms were small! We thought they were a good size and the decor etc second to none.
Great value for money. One major disappointment for us was that we couldn't stay longer.
They were fully booked. NO WONDER, IT WAS FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This small hotel is perfectly situated near the Old Lake of Tata, right next to the wall of the old Castle…perfect for a romantic week-end get-away! The hotel in generally offered high quality service, the rooms (and practically the entire hotel) are yet brand new, with a nice design. Our room was small, but clean and had a nice view on the castle. The breakfast was fine as well (continental, but they also offered warm food). Oh yeah, and don’t miss out on the wine cellar attached to the hotel! A great restaurant (bearing the same name, Platan) is right next door, too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tata
0.4 mi away
Kristaly Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Oreg-to Club Hotel and Youth Hostel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arnold
Hotel Arnold
#4 of 6 in Tata
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Penta Lux
Hotel Penta Lux
#3 of 6 in Tata
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Banderium
Hotel Banderium
#1 of 3 in Komarno
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casablanca Pension
Casablanca Pension
#4 of 11 in Tata
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platan Vararok Vendeghaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platan Vararok Vendeghaz

Address: Kastely ter 11 - 13, Tata 2890, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Komarom-Esztergom County > Tata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platan Vararok Vendeghaz is awaiting its guests – either to relax or being on a business trip – right next to the Castle of Tata, in a historical environment, with the level of service, that our guests could experience previously at the Platan Restaurant & Cafe. In the 17th century, our premises already served as guest houses – owned by the Count Esterhazy family, and after long decades of decay, we reopened recently with the 21st century’s design, comfort and hospitality. Our inn has 10 uniquely designed one, and two-bedrooms, and a family apartment. For those who seek the historical scent of the place, our Baroque Room could give the impression of being in the era of the Esterhazys. In our climatized rooms minibar, phone, free WiFi, LED TV, room safe and hairdryer await our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Platan Vararok Vendeghaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platan Vararok Vendeghaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.