We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just by the castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platan Restaurant & Cafe

Platan Restaurant & Cafe
Kastely Ter 6 | H-2890, Tata 2890, Hungary
36 34 380 564
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Tata
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just by the castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very upmarket restaurant. If you really want to impress your partner take them here. Excellent location by the lake, good food and fine summer live jazz music. There are not many places on the planet better than this on a good evening. The food is tasty and the setting is superb.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The meals at Platan were truly gorgeous, Only stayed in Tata for 4 nights & ate at Platan for 3!! I would probably say that every dish on the menu is delicious & the prices are very reasonable.

We only ate there in the evening but I am sure it would be a very picturesque setting to eat during the day as it is set on the edge of the lake.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banska Stiavnica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This restaurant was the highlight of our cycling from Vienna to Budapest. We were group of 10 and they had no problems. Foof was really good, services without any mistakes, waiters apparently proffesional (though not smiling). However main asset of the restaurant is its location on the lake waterfront and its atmosphere (e.g. live guitar music).

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a large booking of 25, and although we had reserved our table they struggled to serve. After our main course we were told the kitchen was closed and could only order cold desserts or ice cream. We visited this restaurant after reading the reviews on this website and felt it was a little over rated. Food was good but let down by the service

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Arkansas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The "In" Place in Tata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I lived in Tata on business for 9 months and ate at Platen dozens of times...always good and service was great (for Europe). The manager (Norbert) is well traveled and experienced professional who puts on a nice show. The summer dining lakeside is spectacular! Don't miss this one!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platan Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Tata, Komarom-Esztergom County
Tata, Komarom-Esztergom County
 
Tata, Komarom-Esztergom County
Tata, Komarom-Esztergom County
 

Been to Platan Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platan Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.