We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The home of the artis, Kovács Margit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum)

Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum)
Vastag Gyorgy u.1, Szentendre, Hungary
26-310-244
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Szentendre
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An extensive collection of Margit Kovacs' ceramic works featuring a unique synthesis of folk and Byzantine motifs.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The home of the artis, Kovács Margit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The artist is a wonderfully talented artist. The Museum can be find at Szentendre, the town of artists.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very well curated and presented selection of this talented artists' work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We all thoroughly enjoyed this museum on our day trip to Szentendre. My only regret was that they did not have a catalogue for purchase. Very friendly staff and there is even a section where kids can handle some exhibits. A very welcoming and lovely place.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

the museum is a destination for beautiful and unique ceramic artwork. By the late Margit kovacs.This is a unique and special woman- artist, with touching works that were inspired by Hungarian themes and ancient ceramics art . Have a look at the wonderful stove, the wedding scenes. A must for all. Bought the book and surely will came back again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You must see,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

You must see that little town call: Szentendre.
Szentendre is an attractive, picturesque old town is a treasure of the Danube Bend.
It is filled with romantic air and atmosphere. We walked all the way through the narrow alleys and passed by the old historical houses and churches day after day.
It is a town of the arts, and museums.
Margit Kovacs museum was one of our top experiences. She is a famous Hungarian artist, potter and sculptor.
It is an amazing, unique exhibition about her life and work. Once you step in you find yourself in a different world.We stayed for hours on end there, but wasn’t enough.
We would love to come back over again and again. We highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Hilight of Hungary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had no idea of what we would see when we entered this unadvertised museum. It was one of the best things we saw in Hungary. I am not really an art fan, but the incredibly expressive ceramic figures at The Margit Kovacs Museum were very unusual and very enjoyable. I wish I had been able to take some photos of the sculptures.
Szentendre is much better known for the marzipan museum, but The Kovacs Museum is much more interesting. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum) also viewed

 
Szentendre, Pest County
Szentendre, Pest County
 

Been to Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margit Kovacs Ceramic Museum (Kovacs Margit Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.