We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hungary holiday in szeged” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tisza Sport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tisza Sport Hotel to your Saves list
Tisza Sport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szent-Gyorgyi Albert u. 42, Szeged 6726, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Szeged
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“hungary holiday in szeged”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

great city close to romania very clean streets lots to do lots to see great for picture taking great sight seeing,food very nice as i enjoy all european foods,hotel very cheap more of a hostel really but comfortable,breakfast very good plenty to eat good service,people in hungary very polite very friendly,great water park spa just up the street worth visiting,weather was fantastic very hot,

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same in this hotel so its pot luck when you arrive what room you get,but its i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Do not give your credit card without seeing your room first. They will not refund your money.
This is really a hostel with the top floor or two having private baths. The hotel is dirty, in a residential section that is not close to anything. We did not feel safe in this hotel or the area. Arrived at night. There were q-tips and tissues in two of the trashcans; I do not like sharing dna with other hotel guests. The cleaning staff insisted that they had emptied the trash, and I believe them; just means that someone else was in the room in the meantime. You have to give a 10 EU deposit to get the remote for the air conditioner or tv, and the internet went down repeatedly when anyone else was using bandwidth. There is no fitness center at all. not sure why they even represent that. The actual hotel barely resembles the pictures on the internet, They were painting it bright orange when we were leaving, If you must stay here, pay for one night at a time because you will not be refunded once they have swiped your credit card!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balogh A, Manager at Tisza Sport Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your review and try to learn from it what to do better, although some parts of the review does not correspond to reality. As regards payment, if you book your room directly with us we do not request credit card guarantee. In case of reservations made via online reservation systems, we must act according to their regulations.

All rooms have private bathroom in the hotel. We offer double Superior rooms on the 4th and 5th floor, respectively triple Classic rooms on all 5 floors. We also offer low-budget Rooms with shower for students, transit groups in the hostel wing of the hotel which have private bath and also have a common shower on the corridor.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your sense of your security and for cleaning of your room. Thanks to your comment we have introduced tighter regulation for checking cleanliness. The hotel lies in the quiet garden city, close to Napfényfürdő Aquapolis. The centrum is 4-5 minutes by car, 15 minutes by walk. Please check our location on our website or google map.

As regards caution money for the remote controls: we ask a deposit only for the air-conditioning remote controls not for the TV remote. Unfortunately we had to introduce this type of deposit because guest repeatedly took remote controls away.
There is a small fitness room in the hotel, which indeed is not a fitness center. We have removed this service from our offer.

I am pleased to inform you that since your stay in September we have upgraded our wifi internet system, so wide broad internet is available now in our hotel. As part of our multi-stage renovation project, the hotel’s building has been recently insulated and got an overall new painting. New pictures are continuously posted on the hotel’s website presentations.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Kind regards: Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel looks like a hostel, definitely not a 3 star hotel. Of course they have rooms which look like hotel room, but the whole hotel has a hostel feeling. I do not know how the hotel management thinks that you would give 70 euros for a double superior room in a hostel. You can go and stay in the Novotel for those prices, and the services are not comparable. They have free parking, I mean you can park your car for free on the street near the hotel. One part of the building is rented for construction workers. When you are in Szeged and don not want to stay at a hostel, please don not go to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I appreciated this nice hotel.I received very good value for the 50 Euros I spent to stay there .This hotel is in a serene part of Szeged.The staff at this hotel understands and speaks English.My room was very nice and the buffet breakfast was extremely good and generous. It is about 1 mile from the heart of charming Szeged and serviced by bus#71. .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balogh A, Manager at Tisza Sport Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very much for your kind review about our hotel. We really do appreciate it. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had had a good time in Szeged. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Tisza Sport Hotel soon.
Kind regards: Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Szeged hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Szeged
Novotel Szeged
#3 of 18 in Szeged
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tiszavirag Szeged
Tiszavirag Szeged
#1 of 18 in Szeged
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Szent Janos Hotel
Szent Janos Hotel
#9 of 18 in Szeged
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tisza
Hotel Tisza
#8 of 18 in Szeged
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Szeged
Art Hotel Szeged
#4 of 18 in Szeged
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Soleil Szeged
Hotel Soleil Szeged
#2 of 18 in Szeged
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tisza Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tisza Sport Hotel

Address: Szent-Gyorgyi Albert u. 42, Szeged 6726, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Great Plain > Csongrad County > Szeged
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Szeged
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tisza Sport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tisza Sport Hotel is a modern property situated in a quiet district of Szeged, next to the Tisza river bank, close to the renowned gardens and thermal baths of Ujszeged, only 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre and its main sights. The hotel lies only 200 meters from Napfenyfurdo AQUAPOLIS Szeged - with the longest all-year-round covered waterslide in Europe, adventure pools, "silent" wellness area, babies' world, and with modern medical treatments. We offer comfortable rooms and several discount offers for our guests. With 106 rooms, our hotel provides comfort and hospitality in superior renovated rooms, classic standard rooms with balcony, bathroom, color TV, radio, refrigerator and Cardo mattress. In the youth hostel wing four-bedded rooms with shower are also available for low-budget travellers. Free of charge service:• luggage room• wake-up service• internet• Wifi network• 0-24 hour reception service• credit cards accepted. Charged services:• hotel rooms: 64 room with bathroom• air-conditioned conference room seating 40 person• restaurant seating 50 person (kitchen service for groups upon previous discussion)• drink automat in the hotel's hall• fitness hall• entrance for disabled• terrace with deck chairs• play-ground• sport facilities: ping-pong, hand-ball, futball, badminton• parking• transfer service• sightseeing tour• program organization• taxi service for hotel guests• theater ticket booking • sauna, massage and other wellness services in Napfenyfurdo Aquapolis (200 m from the hotel) • bicycle rent at the neighbouring Tennis Center lying at a distance of 150 m from the hotel• playing tennis at the neighbouring Tennis Center lying at a distance of 150 m from the hotel on special discount prices for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tisza Sport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tisza Sport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.