We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Szeged Etterem

Szeged Etterem
Szechenyi ter 9, Szeged 6720, Hungary
06 62 649 448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Szeged
Cuisines: International, Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Budapest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Although we didn't eat a real dinner, had only dessert and some drinks, we could tell by the dessert and the plates of the neighboring tables that food is real goooooood here. The location is great, especially if you are hungry after soaking in the Anna Baths, the nearby bells just add to the charm.
We were really lucky to have a young and very very nice waiter, but we had the impression that the more seasoned waiters weren't as happy about their job anymore and weren't as attentive or nice for that matter.
Still, a great place and worthy of going to!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food was excellent, more than enough, but the service was not that nice. In the menu was written that they don`t charge the service, but it was written on the bill. Despite this, it is an excellent place to eat, in the city center.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and good outdoor seating in summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had dinner there yesterday. Greek salad with chick stripes and some desert. The food was good, there are many types of beer, but the price is a bit high for local people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good food, but not my best dining experience in Szeged”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This restaurant may be a bit on the expensive side in Szeged. I felt the service was not as excellent as it could have been. This was mainly due to communication problems caused by language barriers. The waiter would probably have been more fluent in German – and, of course, in Hungarian – which became evident as he asked whether I speak German. A 10% service charge was included in the bill, yet the waiter specifically enquired me about the amount of tip I wish to leave on top of this, which left me with quite a bad feeling about this establishment.

I have no complaints about the food. I had the "salad from our home", fried pork cutlets with cabbage and bacon, served with mashed potatoes with confitted garlic, and poppy seed bread pudding. Everything was delicious and I did not leave the place hungry.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szeged Etterem also viewed

Szeged, Csongrad County
Szeged, Csongrad County
 
Szeged, Csongrad County
Szeged, Csongrad County
 

Been to Szeged Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szeged Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.