We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palatinus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palatinus to your Saves list
Hotel Palatinus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uj Utca 23, Sopron, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Central location, comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

A comfortable hotel with many rooms and mainly business people staying in them. Our room faced a lane blocked at one end but still was noisy. The main problem was the automatic garage right underneath our room.

Service was polite rather than friendly, German was spoken and English was not understood. Breakfast was average. Wi-fi was available for free but you had to sit in or near the lobby for it to work. The lobby was comfortable so that wasn't an issue.

A reasonalbe place to stay in Sopron if you don't mind a few, small rough edges.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Reception service friendly and professional.
Very nice and comfortable rooms. Everything looks new, clean and bright.
We payed 42 euro/night for the room, breakfast included for 2 persons + 1,5 euro/person/night tourist tax + 4,5 euro/night for the parking space. I think those prices can hardly be beaten if you consider the value you get for this.
The parking area is within the hotel but the etrance is quite narrow and a bit difficult for a larger car. The parking area is a bit cramped too. Especially if most of the parking spaces are already occupied. ( about 7 or 8 places)
Breakfast was plenty with warm (eggs and frankfurtes sausages and cold dishes.
I would have no doubt in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I stayed here with a family member recently and have only good things to say.

To begin with, the hotel's location is fantastic if your main goal is sightseeing - not sure how it does for nightlife or other pursuits. It is located on a quiet little old street with pretty houses left and right.

The room was pretty standard-sized with the usual stuff, and has recently been renovated to a very good standard. The rest of the hotel reminds one a bit of a different era (back about 30 years ago) but mainly because of the decor - it is not shabby or dirty.

The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great with plenty of tasty choices (both cold and warm) and an ability to eat as much as you wish.

I wouldn't say I was wowed by the hotel but found it to be a very pleasant stay with no complaints and at a very reasonable price. Would definitely go back if I visit Sopron again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

i stayed in sopron at the palatinus 13 and 14 september 08.

i wanted somewhere reasonably priced in old town centre, and this hotel suited the bill perfectly. location is at the top end of uj street , near the ursuline church and szechenyi square. access over cobbled streets.
everything newly renovated, and still looks bright and new. comfortable reception lounge, and friendly helpful staff ( more comfortable in german than english, but enough to get by ).
room was a little small ,as they had a second single bed jammed between the first bed and the wall - i would not have been happy to have the room for 2 people... bathroom also a bit small, but everything sparkled and worked just fine. breakfast was a generous cold buffet with some eggs and frankfurters. my web agency confirmation said i had room only, but hotel had me as room and breakfast, so i enjoyed a good start to each day.
great location and great value after bratislava and vienna, with a bill of only 67 euros for the 2 nights.
i would recommend, and be happy to stay there again.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness , rate
  • Disliked — smallish room/bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.1 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#1 of 13 in Sopron
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sopron
Hotel Sopron
#4 of 13 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 13 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fagus
Fagus
#7 of 13 in Sopron
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Partner Hotel Szieszta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatinus

Address: Uj Utca 23, Sopron, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palatinus 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palatinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palatinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.