We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mala Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mala Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Mala Garden Hotel
Petofi setany 15/a, Siofok 8600, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Siofok B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a fantastic holiday! When we arrived at Mala Garden for our two night stay we were impressed by how well designed and classy this inn was compared to the other hotels in the area. The welcome prosecco was wonderful and the staff couldn't be sweeter or more accommodating. Their English was excellent and they really made the stay special.

We had requested a lake view room via email and were given an upgrade for no charge. The room was lovely and tastefully decorated with a massive terrace overlooking the lake. We also were given a voucher for a one-hour boat cruise of the lake as a gift from the hotel. The cruise was a bit lame (it basically just went the center of the lake and came back) but it was still a nice gesture. The beach, while small, is just steps from the hotel and we rented two beach chairs and an umbrella for under 10 euro total.

The food in the restaurant downstairs was wonderful and the breakfast was extensive. We had already filled our plates with bread, cheese, fruit, etc. only to be asked if we wanted bacon and eggs. It so filling we didn't need to eat again until dinner! The menu for dinner is huge and very reasonably priced.

I would recommend the Mala Garden to anyone. It was well worth the extra cost compared to the other places in the area. A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location just on the Balaton on the beautiful south side of the lake, where there is sun till late in the evening and also a free public beach just right next to the hotel. So there are no fences and people expecting tickets and coins for you to bathe, just straight onto a beautiful sand beach right there with shallow waters.

The hotel is very good. It has just six rooms, but they are very well decorated in a Baliean theme. The bathroom is tastefully decorated as the rest of the room and the restaurant on the floor below. The restaurant Mala Garden is worth a review in itself as it is excellent on all levels.

The service is immaculate. The people working in the restaurant are the same as taking care of the hotel and they are doing a job which is excellent. They wait tables as well as issue the key-cards. In that way this is maybe more an inn than a hotel, but the experience is still second to none on the Balaton.

The breakfast is excellent; varied every day, healthy and a good selection. And as they only serve breakfast for six rooms, it is also quite unique. Another amazing perspective; it is served in a room with view straight onto the Balaton behind the trees. Beautiful.

With a baby as well this was a great hotel as with just six rooms there is not so much people, so it is peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the Balaton-side, as the rooms towards the other side are towards a road w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is by far the nicest looking building in Siofok; I was so excited when we arrived!
We were the only guests staying (there are only 6 rooms above a restaurant) and were upgraded to the front room with views of the lake. Huge balcony, outdoor setting, big windows... it was divine.
Staff were exceptionally courteous, friendly, accommodating and we felt well-looked-after. The three we dealt with spoke good English.
The room was decorated so beautifully, right down to the lighting and the tiles in the bathroom - little finishing touches everywhere. Chocolates on the pillow too!
We ate dinner in the restaurant - Thai food, Hungarian food, international choices, brilliant wine list, so well-priced - and for once, the music in this place was inoffensive! (Since arriving in Hungary we are finding most places have music that is either inappropriate to the venue or too loud - or both!) The whole building is beautiful and so tastefully decorated.
We were asked by the waiter what time we would be down for breakfast the following day, and when we got there at 10am, the table was set, right by the window, and juice was waiting for us. Great food again!
Absolutely can not fault this place, we will be back - we didn't want to come home after one night but we had to return the hire car!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake and you might be upgraded in low season to the front room, cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
577 helpful votes 577 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The lead up to this wonderful hotel was really uninspiring. We began to worry as we passed run down and blocked up buildings..it was off season but still a bit off putting. We needn't have worried as lo and behold this little gem appeared!

Parking was easy-right outside on the lake side. The reception/bar/restaurant are all one but they have plans afoot to expand next door and this will make a huge difference. Reception was about the very best we have experienced in Hungary in 2 weeks driving around from the very efficient and friendly manager. He is a great asset to this hotel and he was always helpful and attentive. We were offed and accepted a welcome drink of sparkley, wine, beer, whatever. We had a beer and a coffee. Nice touch and much appreciated.

By coincidence we had just come back from Bali and immediately saw the Balinese theme which is very authentic and well done.

Our room has to be the star. Wow! We loved it! Big, warm, spacious, beautifully and tastfully furnished and to cap it all a lovely bathroom and our own large balcony with a view of the lake!! Large, clean comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. What more could you ask for? Decent speed WiFi included with the room....other hotels take note!

We ate in the restaurant and it was good value and decent food. Weiner schnitzel and chicken in a tomatoe sauce both went down well. Breakfast was pretty good with an excellent fruit salad which I asked for and was freshly made. Wonderful jams, a good selection of cheeses, breads, ham, meats, yoghurts, etc.

We toroughly enjoyed our one night and wished we had the time to stay another night. This is the standard for other hotels in Hungary to follow, especially other hotels in Siofok. If other hotels in the area were half as well run and so tastefully presented this would help the whole prosperity of the area. Siofok is lucky to have such a hotel.

Well done to the team in the hotel and I wish them all the best for their continued success and expansion!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for some days in the beginning of October. The choice was made by the prior visit to this restaurant last year, when we were blown away by hte high quality of the food and service. We were really glad to be back, the romm was georgeous, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast fantastik! And evryone who works there are great!!!! They deserve only nice guests -so if you are a grumpy kind of a person, please don't go there! This is my absolute favotite place.
And I need to mention a high-class hair dresser close to Mala Garden, the salon is called Dadai if I remember correctly, the girl who works there is highly proffecional and a hair cut costs less the 10 EUR!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Excellent location. Directly in front of the lake, and a short stroll to the strip of restaurants and bars. Beautifully designed 'Thai inspired' hotel. Staff were all wonderful and extremely attentive to guests. Very friendly and helpful. Rooms were decorated nicely, a good size, air conditioned and very clean. Restaurant and bar contemporary and chic and very reasonably priced. Great coffee and fantastic food. If you're staying in Siofok make Mala Garden your choice of accommodation. You will have no regrets!

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mala Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mala Garden Hotel

Address: Petofi setany 15/a, Siofok 8600, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Siofok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Siofok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mala Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mala Garden Hotel Siofok, Somogy County, Hungary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mala Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.