We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run-down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aranyhajo Fogado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aranyhajo Fogado to your Saves list
Aranyhajo Fogado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiraly u. 3, Pecs 7621, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Run-down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Pictures from the web site don't correspond to the real room, we chose a standard room but it was vero poor! Very bad cleaning, too hot and we couldn't open the window because the smell of the restaurants came into the room.. Bad experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location on the main square in Pecs was excellent. Arriving by car and needing to find the parking lot was very difficult even after walking to the hotel to get a map (which was not correct). Concierge finally came into our car to direct us. (you have to drive across the pedestrian street to get to the parking) All staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was large and comfortable but the towels were rough and the shower was moldy. We reported the mold to staff and hopefully that will be cleaned for future visitors. Breakfast was included but was minimal. Even with these few negatives I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Worked fine for us, but it could have used a good cleaning. Beds were fine, but room furniture a bit worn. Not real clean, but not noticeably dirty either. As an aside, seemed in line with other like hotels in the area, but I really liked the location.

Room Tip: heard suites were available with larger rooms for not much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to stay in the center of town and picked this hotel purely for location and price. What a great choice! The location could not be better and the price was extremely fair - a great value! The staff was VERY accommodating, and although the breakfast left something to desire the othe three previous point more than made up for it. I would very highly recommend this establishment! Enjoy Pecs - it is a very charming college town with great coffee shops, restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Reality is better than the photos on the homepage. This is truly a charming hotel in the center of Pecs. The single rooms are quite small, but there is enough space for sleeping, working etc. Since this hotel was founded in 1802, the building itself has a lot of charm.
And the great advantage is the central location, within walking distance to museums, cafés and restaurants, even the railway station!
However, the breakfast could be better. There is for instancenot much of a choice (no fruit) and on the whole it is just average!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The location was perfect because it was in the centre of Pecs,but i was really disappointed of the cleanliness.Hair of other people were all over the place but the biggest surprise it was on the bed sheets and pillows!!The next morning I complained but they just wiped off the hair from the bed

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Me and my friends came from Taiwan to visit Pecs for attending an international conference. We stayed in Golden Ship Hotel for four nights and were so impressed by the hospitality given by the owner and staff of this cozy hotel. Besides, the location of this hotel is superb. All the sightseeing attractions are just within walking distance. Along the street before the hotel, there are many restaurants, bars and shops. Vey convenient indeed. In fact, we never expected Pecs would be such a wonderful place to visit. But, we were wrong. We really enjoyed our stay in Pecs and Golden Ship Hotel. It's even more enjoyable than our trip later on to Budapest and Vienna. Great town and warm-hearted hotel! We highly recommend this hotel to travellers who really like to feel genuine hungarian spirit and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranyhajo Fogado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranyhajo Fogado

Address: Kiraly u. 3, Pecs 7621, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranyhajo Fogado 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aranyhajo Fogado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranyhajo Fogado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.