We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall it was a good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kikelet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kikelet to your Saves list
Hotel Kikelet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malics Otto u. 1, Pecs 7635, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall it was a good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

A famous Hungarian band was in town during the weekend and we found a cheap, last minute deal at this Hotel. We booked a superior room with beautiful panorama to the city Pecs. The room was big, clean and we had everything what we needed. The bed was located in a separate sleeping area. It was like a living room and bedroom next to each other without wall. Our room had a big balcony facing to the pool which was closed since it was December. In warmer weather I'm sure it is good to sit outside on the balcony and look the lights of the city. Definitely choose the superior room, since it is much bigger, better than the standard rooms. The wellness area was partly renovated or extended. There is an area which is old and screams for update and a much nicer, newer area. Overall we had no complains. We used the sauna most of the time and we were satisfied. During the weekend there were just a few guests in the hotel so the dinner wasn't buffet style. We could choose from a poor menu card and order one from 3 different meals. However the meal was delicious and the staff did everything to make ourselves comfortable. The quality and the number of selections during the breakfast and dinner was limited but all in all it wasn't bad at all. It could've been much better of course, but this isn't a luxury hotel and for the price we paid we can't complain. Parking was easy and free, we could always find an empty space. Once I couldn't start the engine of my car and the staff helped to charge the battery. They did everyting during our stay to have a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room with the panorama. It is big with a separate sleeping area and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Hotel Kikelet located at one of the beautiest place of Pécs, the view is amaizing. That is the only positive what we can say of the hotel.

We had problem with the breakfast and dinner: the tablewares were empty, the staff didn't refill the food just for request.

Wellness: there are a swiming-pool with cold water and a small jakuzzi.

There are no program facilities: bar and roomservice are open just until 9. Hotel is far from the center, so after 9 hour there is just one program facility: TV.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in 2012. Overall, we had a good time, however, this hotel doesn't meet the 4 star standards.

It is in a beautiful location in the hills overlooking Pecs - probably the best location in Pecs. Decent sized, refurbished rooms. Small, but nice wellness area. However, some details just do not fit into a 4 star category: (i) the bathroom is small and looks quite outdated (looks like one from the 1970s), (ii) the food choice at breakfast and dinner is quite limited and its quality is at best average. If this was a 3 star hotel we would have been satisfied, however one would expect a liitle bit more from a 4 star wellness hotel.

At the end I have to say that despite the above shortfalls this is still one of the best choices if you visit Pecs. This is because this town unfortunately offers very little choice when it comes to quality accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here as part of our countryside holiday in Hungary in the summer of 2011 for a couple of days, having read reviews here I had certain set of expectations of this hotel. Needless to say it certainly didnt live upto anything said here during our stay. It starts with incredibly undertrained staff, continues with paper thin walls where you hear your neighbour use the loo, utter lack of cleanliness, damaged walls, stained carpets, disgusting shower cubicle-all reminds me of the socialist era of Hungary when one had to be glad to get something at all. Breakfast was plentiful with no non-dairy alternatives on offer, nor staff exceeding their job in possibly offering to pop to the shop and get some soy milk,etc which I would have happily paid for. Our 'view' was onto a concrete floor below us where staff went for the cigarette breaks-nice! The pool area was very small with bad quality towels provided. We wanted to get a drink at the bar at 9pm only to be told the bar staff has left, asked if we could still get two glasses of wine to enjoy on the terrace, very firm no followed. The lift is ridiculously tiny. Upon checkout we were barely acknowledged, no offer to help with luggage whatsoever. This hotel is ghastly in every sense of the word with staff not knowing what quality customer service is.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikelethotel, Tulajdonos at Hotel Kikelet, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
Google Translation
A fenti bejegyzés nem tükrözi a mai napi valóságot. A szállodának azóta új tulajdonosa van.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel location is great, overseeing Pécs and its surrounding. We visited outside of the high season which was quite noticeable when in came to the breakfast. Dinner was "a la carte" and it was very good and very nice presentation. We were for the most part the only one at the pool. We did use most of our time there to visit the city and we were coming back for the evening swim and dinner. Overall the location is great - it may have been from the low season but service and quality of food was quite average. Sleep comfort was... okay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location. Helpful friendly staff. Good facilities including indoor and outdoor pool, sauna, steam, jacussi, sports massage, fitness room, bar, terrace and a good restaurant.

Rooms fairly basic and curtains need some effort to block out daylight. Limited tv service - I couldn't get any International channels. Air con worked well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Visited Pecs and stayed in Kikelet with wife and two small kids. The view of the town from the terrace is extraordinary. Quality of breakfast and dinner was below what you would expect for this price. You can always find great places to dine in Pecs so this was not a major problem. Swimming pools are good for the kids. However, the wedding that was organized in the venue has taken up the whole place so we could not have dinner the second night even if we wanted to. Reception should have notified us before booking. Soundproofing was OK, we could not hear the party.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecs
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#1 of 26 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#3 of 26 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 26 in Pecs
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arkadia
Hotel Arkadia
#6 of 26 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#8 of 26 in Pecs
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kikelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kikelet

Address: Malics Otto u. 1, Pecs 7635, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kikelet 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kikelet lies in one of the most spectacular spots of the Mecsek hills, right above the historical city center of Pecs. By car it is only 5 minutes away from the main square. An exclusive hotel in the Hungarian Mediterranean region, with a breathtaking view overlooking both the town and the surrounding hills. The hotel offers excellent opportunities for both the ones who want to relax and the ones who come to explore the town and its surroundings. For couples we recommend our Panorama rooms. There is nothing more romantic than drinking a glass of champagne, while the whole city is lying at our feet. For families the Spa & Wellness grants an unforgettable experience, where even our youngest guests can enjoy the wonderful effects of water in our children pool. Only a couple of minutes away from the hotel can be found the Zoo, the Mandulas playground and one of the most popular parks of town, the Tettye square, so it is ensured that you are going to have a great time staying with us. Guests who come to town with business purposes like Hotel Kikelet because of the free internet connection, and the relaxing environment. The building also has ideal facilities for business meetings. There are different locations in the hotel that are ideal to organize family or company events too. The Panorama restaurant with its terrace is a unique place in town. The professional team, the great kitchen and confectionary, and the high quality commodities we work with - are all granting sure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kikelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kikelet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.