We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive for a 2-star "hotel" (B&B)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fonix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fonix to your Saves list
Hotel Fonix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hunyadi Street. 2, Pecs 7621, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A bit expensive for a 2-star "hotel" (B&B)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had the double room (Room #1), upon arrival the bathroom was not cleaned, the day after it was solved at the morning cleaning.
The bed was a bit inconsequent, two matresses for a double bed are okay, but the wooden divider between them are NOT. Watch out for the space between!
Room was equipped only with a TV and even for a 2-star B&B it's quite poor. In the bathroom you only get a soap dispenser and 2 sheets of towels. No hair dryer or etc.
Breakfast was quite okay.

The hotel is located near the historical town centre, so it's good for a quick tour in the city, but there are some cheaper hotels on the same level (** - ***).

Room Tip: Choose Room #1 (double room), it's the only room where you can actually get enough space (even f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTavish89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Friendly and very good value for money
An old building with lots of steps very close to the main square.
The rooms were small but well provided with storage space.
Breakfasts were simple: fruit juice, cereals, omelettes, bread rolls coffee tea etc.
Most of us were taking part in The World Masters Orienteering Championships and the hotel was really helpful in coping with a sudden demand for early breakfasts. The manager also took and interest in our progress.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_&_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The hotel is old, in need of renovation. it does have the basic amenities, yet the two star rating based solely on the fact that there is a tv set and a phone in the room. I found the level of privacy completely unsatisfactory - no soundproofing, narrow corridors in addition to the very small rooms amounted to a sleepless night. The towels were ok, but there was only one per person. No toiletries, save for some shampoo. Breakfast rather basic, rather unfriendly staff, NOT a buffet.
Rather expensive, since the acomodation was a disappointment.
Location is really great, but nothing else, really.

Room Tip: do not take the room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pecs hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

My sister and I loved this place. It was very clean, relaxed, friendly service. Breakfast is made hot to order just for you. It is a basic hotel but do to the location and cost, it was perfect

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterboyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I found this place excellent in every way. It has an extremely central location, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are super-clean, and then price includes a good breakfast. Lonely Planet seems upset about the odd angles in the rooms, but I think that just adds to the charm of it.

This is a fairly no-frills place however; there is no swimming pool, etc., but what do you expect for this price ?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I found very convenient because it is cheap and located in the city centre.
I had a confortable stay, moreover I've stayed in a double room at the same price of a single room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was ok, the only problem was that the curtain did not cover all the window, so the sun light in the morning was quite annoying. The breakfast was ok. I appreciated the free wireless.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

The hotel is located a few streets to Szechenyi ter (Main Square) and the Gazi Kaszim Basha's Mosque. Also, it's within walking distance of maybe 5-10 minutes to St. Peter's Cathedral, Cella Septichora (4th Century early Christian graveyard), National Theatre and the Zsolnay ceramics museum. Breakfast is good but there's an extra charge for cappuccino. You get what you pay for. It's a cheap 2-Star hotel under $60.00 USD for a double/twin bed room for 2 plus $2.00 USD tax per person. However, we didn't expect most streets torn up because there's a major city construction project surrounding the hotel and main square. Therefore, rooms can be noisy during the day and afternoon. Construction started at 7:00 a.m., on the street our room #12 overlooked. As for the noisy room, there wasn't any Internet service in the room nor the lobby. There were foods crumbs on the bed sheet, bed sheets are old and thin, the two quilts were undersized. If you are under 5 feet in height you'll be fine. One of 2 towels was old and torn. The carpet is thread bare. There were several dusty footprints on the carpet.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pecs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#2 of 27 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aranyhajo Fogado
Aranyhajo Fogado
#9 of 27 in Pecs
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arkadia
Hotel Arkadia
#6 of 27 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 27 in Pecs
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness
0.5 mi away
Corso Hotel Pecs
Corso Hotel Pecs
#4 of 27 in Pecs
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonix

Address: Hunyadi Street. 2, Pecs 7621, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fonix 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fonix is located in the historical centre of Pecs. It was built in the early 1980's by a famous Hungarian architect. It has 13 rooms that can satisfy the needs of larger families and people who are travelling alone. The hotel is in the heart of the city, just next (20 meters) to the main square of Pecs and Kiraly street, the main walking street of Pecs. The location of the hotel makes it an ideal spot for businessman and tourists as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fonix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing