We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fun experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palatinus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palatinus to your Saves list
Hotel Palatinus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiraly Street | 5, Pecs 7621, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location, fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was a fun location for us to be able to step out into the old pedestrian zone in Pecs. This is an old hotel, there are noisy stais, old time inconvenience and a ton of charm that comes along with it. The beds and decor are a bit older, but in line with the period decor of the hotel.

After reading reviews, we were sure to understand if breakfast was included in our room. It was and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel.

For a one night stay, this was great for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank You for taking time to send us your opinion. We appreciate all the reviews what helps us to make our guests' stay more convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
34
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Palatinus is a very beautiful hotel, full of the taste of modernist style! Maybe a kind of old but is a good place to stay and spend the night, in spite of hard beds which maybe need renovation. The staff is very helpful and polite in a perfect location!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank for taking time to send us your opinion about our hotel . We always try to follow our guests' wishes to increase the quality our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely old hotel.Parking was easy to find and led directly to reception.
Staff were really helpful and pleasant.Breakfast was also very good.
Perfect location right in the centre of old town.
Just loved Pecs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank You for Your opinion!
We hope to greet You again in our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The first clue was when we had to haul our luggage far from the street. Then when we checked in-it seemed very hot-no AC in lobby. Then the poor receptionist told us the elevator was broken. We were able to use the service elevator. The next clues should have prepared us more. The carpet was the thickness and cleanliness of felt in a garage! We had not realized that we had an economy room! Very HOT & no A/C. The staff was nice enough to accommodate us with an oscillating fan. The night cooled off to the music of Bongo Boy till 130AM heard thru our open window. The beds were from the time of the crusades! If you choose this centrally located hotel pay the extra for A/C and the highest class room you can get. Of note-the breakfast included was just OK.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank You for sendig Your opinion according Your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center.
We appriciate Your message , what helps up to improve our services.
We hope we can be at Your service next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend in Pecs and we choosed the Palatinus Hotel. The location is great, just in the middle of the centre. Clean room, friendly service. We really enjoyed the fantastic breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank You for sending us your great opinion. Hope to greet You again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Palatinus is right in the very centre of the town making it ideal for exploring the sites. It is leftover of bygone elegance and extravagance, especially as far as the public spaces are concerned (lobby, lift, dining room). Our room was on the second floor, adequate, perfectly clean, but small and unimpressive, with an old TV and with the extractor fan not working in the bathroom. However, beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
My only real gripe would be that for a good hotel, wifi was charged extra if used in the rooms. It was free in the lobby, but there are only 8 armchairs there, so if they're taken, you have to pay. I think this is something I'd expect from a cheap place looking to make a few extra pounds - not an elegant hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have lovely little balconies - not sure if they charge extra for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank You for sending us your opinion. Looking forward to greeting You again in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We (a couple) visited Pecs for 2 days and we chose to stay at the Palatinus hotel for a night.

The hotel is located in the Kiraly street, the most popular touristic street in Pecs. It is a very pretty and old building with luxurious decorations.

Our room was located on the fifth floor. It was quite spacious and bright with clean sheets and towels. There was a very nice view to the city from a big window. We enjoyed to watch it day and night during our stay.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the very rich breakfast! For us, it was maybe even more impressive than Pecs itself! It took place in a very luxurious dining room, from 7:00-10:00 am. The breakfast included: juices (peach, orange, pomegranade), milk (warm and cold), coffee, cacao, salads, different types of cheese and hams, crumbled eggs with boiled and grilled sausages, yogurts (natural and berry), bakery, jams and honey, toasted bread, etc.

The price of our stay for a night including rich breakfast (+extra sandwich that we "took" for lunch) was 50 euros (plus 3 euros city taxes).

However, it is good to mention some negative parts of our experience in this hotel. To start with, we read from reviews before we went there that people were bothered by the high temperature in the room during summer. We were also bothered by it, even if we were there in the midle of January. It actually felt like summer. We slept with open windows and listened to music coming from the street bars, which was not annoying for us. Another negative aspect was the level of cleanliness in the toilet. It seemed clean in general but the staff could do some extra careful cleaning in the corners. Also, there was no free wifi in the room, and our double bed was rather two single beds together with annoying middle part.

All in all, we would definately recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in Pecs (enjoying the best breakfast)!

Room Tip: Probably the highest room level is the best (and at the back side of the building), concering the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatinus1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palatinus, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank You for sendig Your opinion according Your stay in Hotel Palatinus City Center. We appriciate Your message , what helps up to improve our services.
We hope we can be at Your service next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palatinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatinus

Address: Kiraly Street | 5, Pecs 7621, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palatinus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JEWEL OF THE GOLDEN AGE• Situated on the prime shopping street in the historic centre facing the main square of Pecs.• Renovated fin-de-siecle pile with a magnificent lobby.• Stylish restaurant, grand ballroom and imposing entrance hall are Art-Nouveau masterpieces.• Discover why this hotel has long been a favourite among famous guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palatinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatinus Hotel Pecs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palatinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.