We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Susogo Borvendeglo

Susogo Borvendeglo
Szolo utca 54 | Enoteca & Bistro Corso (Downstairs), Pecs 7625, Hungary
72 954 920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Pecs
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We came upon this by accident whilst wandering around and we were not at all disappointed. Staff were attentive without being overbearing, the food was delicious (parmesan risotto with chicken - sounds basic but it was the best I've ever had!), home made lemondade (I was driving) and my partner ate the Mangalica pork with a beer. We sat by the window and watched the theatre-goers exit the national theatre next door. Really nicely decorated restaurant. We will definitely go again!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
“The best we have eaten in, in Pecs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

First off...we, and others in Pecs, know this as the Corso Restaurant (nothing to do with Corso Hotel, Pecs). But seems to go under Susogo on the web. This is our third time eating here.

Right smack in the middle of town. On Kiraly Street just off the main square.

This is a food emporium really as there is a very good cafe downstairs along side a quality food shop. We have had excellent soup. cakes and wine here before.

The bright, tasty restaurant is upstairs with tables nicely spaced so you are not on top of each other. The menu is varied and shows promise. This is well met with the food that was presented and eaten.

Starters of grey cattle goulash soup and pumpkin soup with garlic. Both delicious and I am not usually a soup man. Mains of paprika chicken which was breast in a paprika sauce with knodel...small dumplings. I had to have the veal with foie gras, two of my all time favoutites. The veal was not the very young kind we get in Western Europe but a slightly older one which still tasted delicious. Foie gras..what can I say?. A decent size and melt in the mouth delicious and cooked perfectly. One gripe...it was not hot as it has to be..just warm.

This is where we always eat when in Pecs and the prioces are very good for the location, ambiance, quality and food. For Hungary it is on the plus for price but for us it is extremely good value.

Overall this is very good indeed. I can not give it excellent, but it is close to it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good location with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Very good mangalica steak and local wines by glass.
Not cosy because noisy but a good address....

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best in Pécs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

I think this is the best in P. The menu isn't so wide but every food is fresh'n tasty. Creative cousin, several wines.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, good ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I started out drinking coffee outside, admiring the National Theater building. When I realized there was a restaurant upstairs I ate lunch, which was so good I made a reservation for dinner. I had a table by one of the windows, which gave me a good view of the square outside the theater, and also of the oversize flat-screen TV showing the action in the kitchen.

I subsequently discovered that this restaurant has one awards, and I understand why. But besides providing good food, the dinner menu is excellent value. I lunched on soup and salad, and had a different soup and the duck breast with foie gras for dinner.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susogo Borvendeglo also viewed

Pecs, Baranya County
Pecs, Baranya County
 
Pecs, Baranya County
Pecs, Baranya County
 

Been to Susogo Borvendeglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susogo Borvendeglo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.