We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arkadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arkadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arkadia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hunyadi Janos utca 1, Pecs 7621, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I am satisfied however, I think the hotel is a bit rundown which is a shame because it is a rather new hotel (2 years, if I am not wrong) and I believe a lot of money was invested. Staff is friendly and I like the clean decoration and the library look of the reception. Rooms are quite big. Location is just perfect, really, it cannot be any better than that. However carpets in the hall and room need to be changed (lots of stains). Bathroom for me was the biggest issue: toilet had some nasty stains and curtains on the shower? Really? Not very sanitary. Also, the soap/shampoo holder was rusty. Breakfast is disappointing – I had a slice of bread that was probably laying there for a couple of days. I would stay at Arkadia again but I would be so glad if those issues were addressed because I really would like to give if a better rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazed by the location, everything is at the corner of the street, room and hotel is clean, and you can easily notice the effects of Pécs having been choosen as the cultural capital of Europe in 2010, the squares and buildings are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice 3 Star Hotel. Really helpful staff. Near the Square. Their sign is not very obvious. We walked right past the hotel - up the hill (you will only want to do that once). It is located across the street from the Pizza restaurant.. Good room. WiFi in room. OK breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just a short walk to the old town centre, friendly staff but could not speak much English. Modern hotel on two buildings, bathroom had shower curtain that wraps around your leg and the bed was very hard. Breakfast good. Overall, good.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor do not have a lift, need to take the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel Arkadia is a growing establishment, going from two to three buildings. The location is fantastic: a block away from the main square of Pecs, near the fabulous churches, synagogues and mosques. Behind the hotel are great art galleries, museums and hidden treasures.

The hotel is new and modern in most aspects, while retaining some of the charms of the original structures. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Limited parking is available in the courtyard. Perhaps the only shortcoming is the arrangement of the bathroom, which lacks shelves, hooks or any place where you can hang a garment or put a spongebag. The placement of the shower is a bit awkward. These, however, should be easily correctable.

A word of advice: place the card requesting cleaning on the door handle when you leave for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Pest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've spent a long weekend there and very satisfied!
Excellent location,all of the museums and monuments within a walking distance.
The staff is very nice and kind,helpful.
The room was clean,and the bed was very comfortable.
Although the check in time from 2.p.m.,we arrived around 11.a.m.,and we could occupy the room immediately!
It is a perfect starting point to walk around in Pécs.
Highly recommended hotel! :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Györ, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent two nights in this nice 3 stars hotel and were satisfied with their services. There is a completely new building at the street and a renew behind it. Receptionist offered a room in the renewed part (which is also beautiful), but it has less "home feeling" that in the new part. So we asked another room and he managed it without any problems. Our new room was in the new building, under the roof. It was OK, maybe bathroom was a little bit small. I should recommend to try book room on the 1st floor with balcony, maybe they are the best ones. A special tourist card is available at the reception, which can be used to reach some discounts in museums, restaurants, etc. Location is perfect, close to Széchenyi Square and main attractions. Breakfast was OK, staff was kind and helpful (for example we could leave our luggage there till the check-out day's afternoon).

Room Tip: Rooms in the new buildings (looking at the street) on the 1st floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arkadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arkadia

Address: Hunyadi Janos utca 1, Pecs 7621, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Baranya County > Pecs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Pecs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arkadia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arkadia was opened in 2010 in Pécs's city centre. All the 25 rooms are equipped with air condition, bathroom (shower/wc), minibar, telefon, television. Wifi is available free of charge in the entire hotel. Self-service buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arkadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arkadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.