We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bacchus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Bacchus to your Saves list
Hotel Bacchus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet kiralyne str 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keszthely
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean but tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Positives: Clean, good location, friendly staff, can walk from train station.
Negatives: Tiny room, basic tired furnishings, holes in bedding and old towels.

The hotel restaurant was ok, but to be fair there wasn't much elso to choose from in the town. I would not recommend visiting in the winter months.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I'm at the hotel right now, using their complimentary wifi. The wifi code is bacchus8360. She'd give it to you anyway, but just in case they one day decide to charge... ANYWAYS. The receptionist was very nice, and it seems to be a small-time affair. The parking garage is a NIGHTMARE. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get out of. I foolishly parked there, even though she gave me a street pass to park on the road for free... HOW I'm going to get out is beyond me. We ate lunch at the resto, after walking down to the lake and discovering that the food down there would only be edible if one was trashed. We ordered the goulash, the fish soup, "granny's appetizer", the number 31 (pork marinated in cab sauv, with a cream sauce and bacon-grilled potatoe things), and a few other things. The restaurant portions are ridiculous....I mean...RIDICULOUS. It was amazing though. We had lunch, and are skipping dinner...even after we skipped breakfast. The house wine is perfectly fine. I ordered the white, while a friend ordered the red, and both were giant, and good. Very crisp. The room interiors are that clear-varnished-pine stuff that you find at 2 star hotels. THe beds aren't horrible, but you wouldn't want to spend a month on them. Floors are thin, so ask for a higher room. Otherwise, I highly recommend it.

For luxury it isn't much, but ambiance is lovely. I prefer this hotel to the Sofitel Chain Bridge in Budapest, where we spent 3 days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Bacchus Hotel The Hotel is very well located in fact just off the main street. The room was clean and spacious with lots of storage for your clothes. However the bathroom was dated and had only a small shower cubicle and no bath. There wasnt many facilities at the hotel and most people seemed to stay for only one or two nights.The staff were all pleasant and helpful even though there was a language barrier.

The restaurant was in the basement and was very nice. The food was excellent and had some unusual dishes to be chosen. The portions were very large and we were never able to eat three courses. We were on an Inghams holiday and the meal deal gave us half a carafe of wine with dinner included. The wine was very good and one evening we had a wine tasting by the owners, which was very interesting. There was live music in the restaurant on most evenings which was okay.

However for us the Lake Balaton area was a little too quiet and Keszthely in the evenings was closed and nothing to do. There were some bars down near the lake but if you went down there you were bitten by mosquitoes.

Keszthely has many museums a high street and not much more. It was a very interesting holiday but I do not think we will holiday in that area again.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Well, my guidebook (Lonely Planet) made it sound like the perfect choice for my overnight in Keszthely, giving it a high rating, and mentioning its having a good restaurant AND housing the Wine Museum.

Considering that the price was in league with some of the major resorts in nearby Heviz, I assumed that the quality of the rooms would be comparable. My goodness, was I mistaken.

No Air Conditioning. Windows that offer little ventilation. Paper-thin curtains. The carpet was of the thin, industrial office variety, and the furniture (what little there was) was of the cheapest thinly veneered plywood. The beds were small, and hard, and pretty much everything radiated the aura of an old 70's-era camp resort in the Ukraine (at least based on the pictures my Mother used to show me).

Things were clean -- but that by itself hardly justifies the price, when there's no TV, no internet, and no shower curtain!

Now, you'll note I did give the place two stars -- as I said, it was clean... and you'd be hard pressed to find a more central location in Keszthely. Also, the restaurant was indeed of good quality, and the staff was helpful, pleasant, and proficient in English.

The Wine Museum was somewhat of a bust -- more like a cellar of curios than a real serious MUSEUM museum. Nonetheless, the descriptive cards of various wines and regions made for a great lesson in Hungarian wines, and you can buy almost any bottle you see in the place (something I took full advantage of).

They're off to a good start with this place -- good location, nice staff, restaurant, and added bonus of the wine cellar/museum... but to justify anything other than a budget/motel price, the rooms are in serious need of upgrading!

  • Liked — friendly staff, restaurant
  • Disliked — the bargain-basement room amenities!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

We got some cheap ryanair flights to balaton and settled on Bacchus in Kezsthely as a place to stay. THe whole area was pretty dead in Feb but the scenery is amazing and the weather was perfect. Definately recommend hiring a car. Visited Kezsthely, Hevis (thermal spa), Badascony (good views above the town), Szigliget was amazingily beautiful, but small and off the tourist track, Tapolca (not much going on - a big Tescos though), Sumeg (great castle), Tihany (Gorgeous), Balatonfured (not much going on) and Veszprem (a fairly typical but nice big town). Also dont miss the water buffalo reserve just south of the airport!!

Bacchus hotel was great - think we were the only guests but it was very clean and cheap and the staff were helpful and unintrusive. We ate at the restaurant each night (nothing else was really open) and the food was gorgeous and there was always loads of it! Not the cheapest in Hungary but very good. The house red wine was also lovely.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

Away from the lakeside the location is not as great at the Hullam, but the hotel is friendly and has a superb restaurant. You can eat out side on the terrace or in the cosy bar area downstairs; more like a pub. Child friendly, cheap, but the rooms are a bit dated. Cleanliness is excellent. There is underground secure parking. This is the place to stay in Keszthely, just stroll to the beach or take the tourist train!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keszthely
0.9 mi away
KAKADU Wellness Hotel
KAKADU Wellness Hotel
#4 of 14 in Keszthely
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Helikon
Hotel Helikon
#5 of 14 in Keszthely
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ovit
Hotel Ovit
#2 of 14 in Keszthely
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Eden
City Hotel Eden
#3 of 14 in Keszthely
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbazia Club Hotel
Abbazia Club Hotel
#8 of 14 in Keszthely
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilona Kis Kastely Panzio
Ilona Kis Kastely Panzio
#1 of 25 in Keszthely
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bacchus

Address: Erzsebet kiralyne str 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Keszthely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keszthely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bacchus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-opened after renovation family-run hotel in a historic building, awaiting it's guests in the very heart of Keszthely city. The Balaton Lake is situated just in 300 meters near the hotel and the thermal Lake Heviz in 7 km. Сozy rooms of the hotel are uniquely decorated in bright colors with wooden features of room's interior. Each room has air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV available for your pleasure. The hotel has own ancient cellar, wines from which you can enjoy in the restaurant. Chefs prepare unforgettable dishes, that emphasize sophistication of the wine and local cuisine. Every morning there is full-served buffet breakfast in our hotel. Guests traveling by car, can take advantage of the hotel garage, for a small extra fee. The hotel has a small own garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.