We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All lovely, except for the wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bacchus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bacchus to your Saves list
Hotel Bacchus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet kiralyne str 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keszthely
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All lovely, except for the wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is very nice and well-situated. The wine/bar restaurant in the basement is very ambient and the food is good.

The wifi is absolutely lousy. The only way to get a signal is by sitting on the balcony, and even then it is weak. Trying to get a signal with an iPhone or iPad is hopeless as they won't even pick up the server. When connection is possible, it is brief (a few seconds) and the signal strength is at the weakest level.

Wifi is important when sending travelogues and posting photos. There is a large sign on the door of the hotel that they have Wifi, and it was listed as one of the features of the rooms. They need to make good on that. Asking at the front desk was not successful as the person doesn't know about the technology.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel, but we visited the hotel restaurant on our first night in Keszthely. Keszthely has limited decent restaurants on offer, so this place is a good option. Hungarian dishes on offer, huge portions! The beef goulash stew I ordered was stunning, the meat was so tender, I just couldn't finish it as there was so much of it! One member of our party was disappointed that their vegetables were cold & apparently the pork medallions were a bit tough. Other than that, everyone was very happy with their choices. The waiting staff struggle a little bit with English, in this part of Hungary that mainly attracts German tourists. However, we made do & they were very helpful, albeit a little slow at bringing our drinks. Good Hungarian wine menu available too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is located close to the centre of town and about a 15 minute walk from the railway station and also from the lake.

There were two of us and we had booked two double rooms to use as single rooms as the price was very reasonable. When we checked in, we were almost told off for doing this and they rearranged the rooms so that we occupied one single and one double. They dropped the rate accordingly but it's hard to understand why they moved us, as they lost out on money by doing this.

The rooms were not good, it was hard to find any positives. The curtains were paper thin and hung about 2 feet away from the window and so were virtually useless. We were woken early by the sunlight pouring in.

The rooms were so hot it was very hard to sleep, it was literally like sleeping in a sauna!! There were electric fans in the rooms but they were too noisy to have on at night.

The water in the taps was very cloudy and so we decided not to drink it. The bathrooms were also tired and old. There were plenty of TV channels available although the TV looked almost antique.

One of the rooms had excellent Wi-Fi but the other had no signal at all.

Breakfast was poor with only a small amount to choose from. When we asked for the orange juice to be replaced, we watched the lady put a small amount of juice in a large jug and fill it up with tap water!!
The bread was dry and not fresh, even though it was a weekday. The yoghurts were not in a cold container and were starting to turn.

We were going to stay two nights but left after the first due to all of the hotel's shortcomings. When we checked out, a different receptionist made a comment about us having booked two double rooms when there were only two of us, as if we were stupid for doing so. We will definitely not be returning to the Hotel Bacchus!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This was a very basic hotel with smallish rooms, adequate service and a decent location.
The bathroom was tiny but its about what I would expect for this price range in central Europe.
The service and wifi access were both fine with the front desk staff having English language skills.
At the time I was there the town square (about 500m away) was under major construction creating a large hole in the downtown core.
Had a dinner and wine tasting in the cellar restaurant which included a brief tour of their 'museum' which was actually quite interesting. The food was good and the service was acceptable.
We were there during the off season and most of the town was shut-down at night with the exception of the strip clubs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent a Friday and Saturday night in August, which is the height of the busy season. The room is spacious and clean, with a typical smallish bathroom. A nice big balcony lloks out over a small garden and the back of the terrace bar seating. The biggest drawback, was the lack of a minibar/fridge. It was also pricey (US $120/night), but that could have been due to the peak season. The location is great, the town square and pedstrian/shopping street ,just a few minutes away on foot. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, although dinner in their basement restaurant isn't a bad option, with an interesting little wine museum to look through while waiting for your food. The included parking is handy if you're travelling by car as we were.
All in all, a pleasant hotel, and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hotel Bacchus is apparently a family runned hotel. The reception area could use some redecoration. It looks a bit worn but it has a small bar area and a small outside terrace.
The reception has a internet PC available for use of the guests but works a bit slow.
There is no elevator.
The room, n° 206, was bright an quite spacious and has a balcony on the rear side of the hotel, overlooking the garden. Everything is clean but the furnishing is simple and functional. The beds are allright.
Breakfast was served in the cellar restaurant and is fine. All the usual Hungarian breakfast stuff is available but becomes a bit of "more of the same" after a few days in Hungary.
You can also have dinner in the restaurant though you cannot bill it to your room. You have to pay immediately. The restaurant food is Hungarian cuisine but I did not find it that high quality as other reviewers did. The restaurant staff was very helpfull and spoke English. The wine was excellent.
The hotel has a garage as well but as other reviewers have mentioned is it quite narrow and difficult to park. But the hotel gives you a free parking ticket to park your car in the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Staff were really friendly and the room was exceptionally clean. Loved all the flowers on the balcony and the WiFi. The bars around the town were sampled and found some really interesting ones. The town itself is kept tidy and I loved the market days. Great food, great wine, a very relaxed break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bacchus

Address: Erzsebet kiralyne str 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Keszthely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Keszthely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bacchus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-opened after renovation family-run hotel in a historic building, awaiting it's guests in the very heart of Keszthely city. The Balaton Lake is situated just in 300 meters near the hotel and the thermal Lake Heviz in 7 km. Сozy rooms of the hotel are uniquely decorated in bright colors with wooden features of room's interior. Each room has air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV available for your pleasure. The hotel has own ancient cellar, wines from which you can enjoy in the restaurant. Chefs prepare unforgettable dishes, that emphasize sophistication of the wine and local cuisine. Every morning there is full-served buffet breakfast in our hotel. Guests traveling by car, can take advantage of the hotel garage, for a small extra fee. The hotel has a small own garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.