We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left after the first night!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bacchus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bacchus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bacchus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erzsebet kiralyne str 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Keszthely
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We left after the first night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is located close to the centre of town and about a 15 minute walk from the railway station and also from the lake.

There were two of us and we had booked two double rooms to use as single rooms as the price was very reasonable. When we checked in, we were almost told off for doing this and they rearranged the rooms so that we occupied one single and one double. They dropped the rate accordingly but it's hard to understand why they moved us, as they lost out on money by doing this.

The rooms were not good, it was hard to find any positives. The curtains were paper thin and hung about 2 feet away from the window and so were virtually useless. We were woken early by the sunlight pouring in.

The rooms were so hot it was very hard to sleep, it was literally like sleeping in a sauna!! There were electric fans in the rooms but they were too noisy to have on at night.

The water in the taps was very cloudy and so we decided not to drink it. The bathrooms were also tired and old. There were plenty of TV channels available although the TV looked almost antique.

One of the rooms had excellent Wi-Fi but the other had no signal at all.

Breakfast was poor with only a small amount to choose from. When we asked for the orange juice to be replaced, we watched the lady put a small amount of juice in a large jug and fill it up with tap water!!
The bread was dry and not fresh, even though it was a weekday. The yoghurts were not in a cold container and were starting to turn.

We were going to stay two nights but left after the first due to all of the hotel's shortcomings. When we checked out, a different receptionist made a comment about us having booked two double rooms when there were only two of us, as if we were stupid for doing so. We will definitely not be returning to the Hotel Bacchus!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This was a very basic hotel with smallish rooms, adequate service and a decent location.
The bathroom was tiny but its about what I would expect for this price range in central Europe.
The service and wifi access were both fine with the front desk staff having English language skills.
At the time I was there the town square (about 500m away) was under major construction creating a large hole in the downtown core.
Had a dinner and wine tasting in the cellar restaurant which included a brief tour of their 'museum' which was actually quite interesting. The food was good and the service was acceptable.
We were there during the off season and most of the town was shut-down at night with the exception of the strip clubs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent a Friday and Saturday night in August, which is the height of the busy season. The room is spacious and clean, with a typical smallish bathroom. A nice big balcony lloks out over a small garden and the back of the terrace bar seating. The biggest drawback, was the lack of a minibar/fridge. It was also pricey (US $120/night), but that could have been due to the peak season. The location is great, the town square and pedstrian/shopping street ,just a few minutes away on foot. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, although dinner in their basement restaurant isn't a bad option, with an interesting little wine museum to look through while waiting for your food. The included parking is handy if you're travelling by car as we were.
All in all, a pleasant hotel, and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hotel Bacchus is apparently a family runned hotel. The reception area could use some redecoration. It looks a bit worn but it has a small bar area and a small outside terrace.
The reception has a internet PC available for use of the guests but works a bit slow.
There is no elevator.
The room, n° 206, was bright an quite spacious and has a balcony on the rear side of the hotel, overlooking the garden. Everything is clean but the furnishing is simple and functional. The beds are allright.
Breakfast was served in the cellar restaurant and is fine. All the usual Hungarian breakfast stuff is available but becomes a bit of "more of the same" after a few days in Hungary.
You can also have dinner in the restaurant though you cannot bill it to your room. You have to pay immediately. The restaurant food is Hungarian cuisine but I did not find it that high quality as other reviewers did. The restaurant staff was very helpfull and spoke English. The wine was excellent.
The hotel has a garage as well but as other reviewers have mentioned is it quite narrow and difficult to park. But the hotel gives you a free parking ticket to park your car in the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Staff were really friendly and the room was exceptionally clean. Loved all the flowers on the balcony and the WiFi. The bars around the town were sampled and found some really interesting ones. The town itself is kept tidy and I loved the market days. Great food, great wine, a very relaxed break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel is used by various package tour companies. It's OK, but nothing special, the food was good but not outstanding, The staff are friendly and speak English. The cellar restaurant is kind of quirky and also holds a museum of Wine.

Off street Parking in a secure garage is good. Free wifi internet is a little slow.

It represents fairly good value compared to other hotels around the very popular Lake Balaton

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel Bacchus seems to have been built / converted about 20 years ago, but it's been done in a traditional style and fits with the older buildings in the town. Although central, it's not like a town centre hotel. Private / permit parking is available for guests.

Reception staff are friendly and helpful, and most speak good English (as well as Hungarian and German, at the very least). The hotel has an informal, sedate feel, which will suit anyone looking for a peaceful time. Our room was well insulated for sound, reasonably spacious and had a small balcony overlooking the garden restaurant. Yes, it was furnished with pine - but contrary to the views of another reviewer, I would say it was simple, comfortable and functional; not austere or "post communist", whatever that may mean. I've paid a lot more for a hotel room and had much poorer furnishing.

The restaurant is excellent value too, and the food good, simple and plentiful, but not pretentious. I thought the fish dishes were particularly good. Service is efficient, and like the reception staff most of the waiters are multi-lingual. The downside of eating in the garden is mosquitoes - repellent needed in the evening. An alternative is to eat in the cellar restaurant, where breakfast is also served.

The house wines are worth drinking, and there is a small wine museum attached to the restaurant.

Keszthely is pleasant town to spend some time exploring West Balaton. Hotel Bacchus is about 10 minutes wank from the bus and train stations, and the lake shore.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bacchus

Address: Erzsebet kiralyne str 18., Keszthely 8360, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Keszthely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Keszthely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bacchus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-opened after renovation family-run hotel in a historic building, awaiting it's guests in the very heart of Keszthely city. The Balaton Lake is situated just in 300 meters near the hotel and the thermal Lake Heviz in 7 km. Сozy rooms of the hotel are uniquely decorated in bright colors with wooden features of room's interior. Each room has air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV available for your pleasure. The hotel has own ancient cellar, wines from which you can enjoy in the restaurant. Chefs prepare unforgettable dishes, that emphasize sophistication of the wine and local cuisine. Every morning there is full-served buffet breakfast in our hotel. Guests traveling by car, can take advantage of the hotel garage, for a small extra fee. The hotel has a small own garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.