We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great two week stay here and would love to go back sometime in the future” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helikon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helikon to your Saves list
Hotel Helikon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balatonpart 5, Keszthely 8360 , Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keszthely
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Had a great two week stay here and would love to go back sometime in the future”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We did have one of the older rooms which was yet to be decorated, but the room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Balcony a bit small but no great problem with that. Staff could not have been more helpful and the food was certainly the best at any hotel we have stayed before. This comment being made by someone who is very particular about what she eats! The choice each meal was fantastic - only problem - not being able to decide what NOT to eat! Within easy walking distance of local shops and the lake. Would recommend highly and hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: Ask to book one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
22
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Well, not the worst hotel, but close! It was very tired and smelt of stale food most of the time. The room was just adequate, no air conditioning, and the buffet style dinner was awful, we had an awful time trying to order a bottle of wine. We could not find anything to tempt us to eat - we didn't bother with breakfast, and left around 6am

The view over the lake from the room mwas nice though, and the little cafe at the end of the jetty could have been lovely with a little more effort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This hotel was way below our expectation - the whole place smelt of unappealling food and was dull and depressing. We'd booked a week's holiday with 3 nights in Budapest and 4 nights on the Lake. We arrived at 8pm on Sunday Evening after a wonderful stay in the Hotel Carlton in the capital to a tired looking hotel that was in desparate need of an overhaul - it reminded me of Butlins/Pontins and was full of families. There was an old guy singing elevator music in the lobby/bar area for entertainment.

Our room on the 8th floor was large but basic - the carpet hadn't been cleaned in years but the sheets were clean. The only positive was that the bathroom was new and towels new. The doors to the rooms opened out-over so it felf like a prison - I'm sure it wouldn't meet health and safety standards in this country. Safes were in the reception area - they held one key and we held the other - a bit of a nuisance. The patio door in our room was archaic, an old wooden thing that turned on a central pivot to open - the glazing hadn't been washed that year. There were no chairs on the tiny balcony even if you had dared to sit out. No air-con also meant it was boiling and the smell of breakfast cooking woke us up at 6am (even on the 8th floor).

The restaurant was awful - full of flys/mosquitos. The red carpets were filthy and disgusting. Holes in table clothes and dirty cutlery. Buffet style food that wasn't nice at all. My decision to leave came not long after breakfast when I saw a dead mosquito sandwiched in between two slices of butter. I knew from that moment I'd not be able to eat there comfortably.

We went for a short walk around the area to see if we'd be able to grin and bear it for a few days but we weren't impressed with the area that we saw either - there didn't seem much to do in the evening either. The Lake had a stagnant smell about it too, we'd expected it to be similar to Lake Garda and heard lovely things about it - perhaps we were in the wrong area, after all it's the largest lake in Europe.

We aked about tranfserring to another hotel and our Ingham's rep said there was one which was 4 star but it wasn't on the Lake and didn't have aircon. We decided to head back to the city. Our rep was really helpful and found us a deal on the internet in the Kempinski Hotel (5 star) it cost us 150 euros in a taxi and we had to pay for the hotel ourselves but we weren't bothered - Budapest was beautiful and we couldn't wait to get back there. We had the last three days in luxory at the Kempinski instead of enduring the hell-hole we'd found ourselves in.

We probably could have endured it if there had been air-con and we could have escaped from the permanent smell of food which seemed to hang around. We'd have just gone elsewhere to eat but we just couldn't bear it. We left as quickly as possible.

I've been to quite a few places and written quite a few reviews on Trip Advisor and this is the only hotel where I'd say stay away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed at the Helikon as part of a two week package holiday (1 week in Budapest) for seven nights. Overall, the experience was very enjoyable. Our double room was a standard and of a decent size, comfortable, and clean, had been painted but noted some parts of the hotel looked tired. The bathroom was also nice & clean, plenty of towels and replacement given every day . The location directly on Lake Balaton and the lake views from the room are just fantastic. About a 15 minute walk into the heart of Keszthely. The downside, no air conditioning (as noted by other reviewers, is the nightly invasion of bugs that take place). Best to keep a “lights off ”, if you want to keep them to a minimum ie. window open. All the staff very helpful most of them spoke English so was not a problem . Buffet food for breakfast and evening meal could not fault. Plenty for all to do both in the hotel and around, bus and trains worth using. If you are from the U.K. and are a senior citizen, Bus / Train free if you show your U.K. passport to driver or pay desk. (not you do not get a ticket ).Be careful on trains, and check as you may have to change trains or move to another carriage from one destination to another. Some boats trips allow concessions on fares so check. Note this is a family hotel and you will find families from all around Europe , this did not cause us any problem in fact is some ways was quite amusing to see them and what they all did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed at the Helikon for two nights as part of a cycling tour. The hotel was chosen by the tour company. Overall, the expeience was enjoyable. My room was a decent size, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was also nice & clean. The location directly on Lake Balaton and the lake views from the room are just fantastic. And it's only about a 15 minute walk into the heart of Keszthely. The downside, as noted by other reviewers, is the nightly invasion of bugs that take place. Although they look like mosquitoes, they actually aren't mossies and don't bite. But that doesn't make their presence in your room or the dining room any more welcome. This could be alleviated if the hotel had central air conditioning.

  • Liked — The location and lake views
  • Disliked — the bugs
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Stayed 7 nights at this hotel on half board basis in September 2008. There were 4 of us in our party, 2 of which had single rooms. All the rooms were the same size with twin beds, however, our room was in the renovated part of the hotel. It was much better than the 2 single travellers rooms, freshly painted and newly carpeted. All the rooms had the same layout and faced some part of the lake. The bathrooms were nicely appointed with bath, rather on the small size, with an overhead shower, WC, basin and hair dryer - very clean, all be it a little cramped. Balcony was rather small. There was a problem with ventilation as the only opening was the large balcony door. It was very hot the first few days of our stay and it was difficult to leave the door open because of the insects, it would have been nice to have some aircon.
Rooms were cleaned daily. My bed was in desparate need of replacement, springs were almost coming through ! however, the others in the party were quite satisfied with theirs.
The food in our opinion was very good, both breakfast and the evening meal were buffet style, and there certainly was a great variety of food, nicely cooked and presented. Plates were cleared away very efficiently by the dining room staff who were all very friendly as were all the staff we had dealings with.

Negatives -
My dreadful mattress
No Tea/Coffee facilities in the room
There appeared to be only one means of escape if there was a fire, and that was in the centre of the hotel- not very good!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

The hotel is located right by the lake with its own mini-island which is accessible via a bridge directly from the hotel. The staff is rather friendly, and my room was quite spacious with the usual appliances one expects from a hotel (in case you have difficulty finding the fridge; it is concealed under the tv). The lake is reasonably nice, if not shallow. There is also a swimming pool that is open till 9pm. The breakfast is quite decent, and includes fruits, cereals, scrambled eggs, tea, coffee, milk, and other things one normally finds at a hotel breakfast. The hotel is in decent shape, and rooms are cleaned every day. That would be the end of my review if not for the ventilation problem.

The problem is that there are hordes of mosquitoes that become active at night. There are also somewhat active during the during the day, but at night they reign over the lake and the shore. The problem is that the rooms have no air-conditioning, and mosquitoes prevent opening the window (unless you prefer becoming mosquitoes' breakfast rather to the death by suffocation). For a reason which defies any rational explanation, the window does not have a mosquito net. Given reasonably high temperatures during the summer. I did not open the window during the night, and opened it only very reluctantly during the day, because I still had to get rid of the few mosquitoes that would get in. I should mention that the fan in the bathroom does not work (it was not only my room, but several other guests also mentioned that) despite there being a button that is supposed to activate it. That makes it even harder to cope with the closed window.

Finally, though it did not affect me since I stayed alone. I heard one of the guests complain that they received only one key for a double room.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keszthely
0.7 mi away
KAKADU Wellness Hotel
KAKADU Wellness Hotel
#4 of 14 in Keszthely
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bacchus
Hotel Bacchus
#1 of 14 in Keszthely
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ovit
Hotel Ovit
#2 of 14 in Keszthely
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Hotel Eden
City Hotel Eden
#3 of 14 in Keszthely
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbazia Club Hotel
Abbazia Club Hotel
#8 of 14 in Keszthely
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Aqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helikon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helikon

Address: Balatonpart 5, Keszthely 8360, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Keszthely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keszthely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helikon 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Helikon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helikon Hotel Keszthely

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helikon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.