We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and calm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hortobagy Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hortobagy Club Hotel to your Saves list
Hortobagy Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hortobagy-Mata, Hortobagy 4071, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hortobagy
Budapest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel itself is a huge complex with a main building and some separate cottages. We booked a room, it was clean with old wooden furnitures. The staff was very friendly, they spoke English and German. The restaurant offered typical Hungarian dishes (huge portions, which was more than enough for 2). The scenery is fantastic, and the nights so quiet, I could hear my own heart beating. The garden was a bit poor, it looked like being forgotten for years and the 'puszta' sand was taking over the ground. The wellness area however was nice and clean. As there are not many hotels in Hortobágy at all, I was afraid, this one will be a disappointment. It is not. It is nothing luxurious but we had some nice and relaxing days there.

Room Tip: Before you go in town from the hotel, ask the staff which one is the shortest way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hortobágy, the plain is a wonderful location: it was a special stay, even for us. Family and friends, a group of 9, we stayed in one of the cottages of Club Hotel Hortobágy. I did not have extreme expectations, but for the first sight, the place was visibly run down. Lawn was burned, leaves not collected, tennis court full of weeds - unusable, cottages looked they needed some major refurbishment from both outside and inside. Baths did not look clean enough for our standards. Our first meal there was a dinner... food was scarce, not fresh looking and tasting, despite the few guests at that time, there were hardly and waiters and no one to bring clean plates and food either. Breakfast was simply terrible, except for the coffee. Staff was unfriendly, we greeted them first each time we met someone, but they would never smile or say hello in advance. Whenever we requested something, they said OK, but nothing happened. Oh, we had to pay everything in advance (now I understand why) and we had to pay separately just to enter to the swimming pool.
What would I do if I wanted to come to this region again? I would definitely look for another hotel!

Room Tip: Cottages are great if you are a group of youngsters wanting to taste wines and talk all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hortobagy hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've been here several times a few years ago, but the last 4 years I was in abroad, so I've never had the chance, until yesterday, when we visited again this hotel for a week-end, just for one night. From the outside, from the road, the Club Hotel looks the same: nice, interesting, but a little bit neglected.

I don't know how, when, and I don't know what went wrong, but our stay was full with disappointments. This hotel was excellent, but now, the staff is just average, and they don't smile at all, we had to pay for the suite, before we even had the chance to get our things in it, the breakfast was just an average hungarian continental, with bread and some cheese and ham, but no water at all, and the orange-juice was terrible, donÍt talk about the "hot-meals". Ew.
The swimming pool is still better than average, thanks for the architect. But the inside yard was awful. The grass was parched by the sun, the walls crumble, and they are dirty all over.

The suite is OK, but it's not a Western-European standard. No mini-bar, no wifi, but at least everything's clean. But that's quite an expectation.

One thing was good: the meal. After we had a horrible lunch at the Csárda (omg, what happened over there?!), we had dinner here, and the waiter was very friendly, and our meal was fresh and OK.
Anyhow, this is the only hotel in the area, and when there is the showjumping and the horse-show, you can still have a room for a day or two, but that's it. It's a big disappointment, and I don't want to deal with it, such a nice place, such great opportunities, and it was so much better a few years ago.

I'm not sure in returning, but there are no other choises, and I'm so in love with Hortobagy, so I have to. But not with pleasure.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet, the suits are bigger than the other rooms, but nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had been warned what to expect by the reviews. But the location is unique and so perfect for a stay on the Hortobagy that we risked it. We had been warned by the hotel that they were having some issues with plumbing and the spa would be closed so they offered a substantial reduction.
We arrived the day before opening and found that hotel is now run by a charming and young group and they did all they could to be helpful and pleasant. The main hotel has been completely refurbished and the new owners deserve to do well. Wonderful breakfast. It's truly a great location and should be a great hotel. I wish the new crew every success and thank them for making our stay possible in spite of their re-opening difficulties.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main hotel which has been refurbished. They also have lots of villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Eventhough the pictures and the description of the hotel are amazing. The reality is that it hasn't had any remodeling or maintenance since it's opening in the 1990's. We were a group of 4 so we stayed in one of the cottages. From outside they are beatiful, once insde you see humidity in the walls, dirt, bathtubs with cracks, no towels...
When we requested towels, we never received them. THe day of our check-out we made a comment regarding the towels, and they told us but look they are here. Which really doesn;t help since we were leaving that day. The restaurant has a buffet which is good. The pool is amazing and fun, but if you look at the walls you sind humidity, cobwebs etc.
If they management invests in the upkeep of the building, it could be a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the area. As it is, it may be better to look for a room at a pension.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This place has excellent facilities which unfortunately are showing signs of lack of maintenance even though the hotel is not that old. However if you plan to see the Hortbagy plain (recommended) then it's unlikely you will get better accommodation than this. Some English was spoken by the staff. The buffet evening meals were more tasty than they appeared but were aimed firmly at the Hungarian family palate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed for one night. The staff were not pleasant, our bath was actually dirty when we moved in, and we had to ask for it to be cleaned, the accommodation and general hotel areas all seem to be very plain/dull.
The location is very nice, and we loved seeing the Hortobagy Plain and the stud farm, and there was a very friendly little dog in the hotel gardens.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hortobagy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hortobagy Club Hotel

Address: Hortobagy-Mata, Hortobagy 4071, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Great Plain > Hajdu-Bihar County > Hortobagy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hortobagy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hortobagy Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hortobagy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hortobagy Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.