We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel with sub-standard service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Lotuszvirag u. 1, Heviz H-8380, Hungary (Formerly Rogner Hotel & Spa Lotus Therme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Heviz
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Hotel with sub-standard service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We are a young couple and decided to spend a week in Hungary at a thermal location to start our cycling season. The area promises wide and good roads for cyclists and we choose a Thermal Hotel for having massages and treatments in the afternoon.
The Lotus Therme Hotel Heviz is a large Hotel complex, well mantained and has a very nice SPA. Different Pools of various temperatures and a large outside swimming pool offers plenty of space for swimming and enjoying the SPA time. The treatments are also very good, local people work there and all speak english and german.
The rooms are pretty tiny for a 5 star hotel with very very little space. One single wardarobe is just too little even for a short stay.
Be advised if you decide to eat in the Hotel. The kitchen is just below of anything i have encounted before. We arrived at the hotel and were told there was a candle light dinner that night. As we arrived in the dining room we were assigned a table and waited. When ordering the wine we were told we could start getting our food. So, the entire candle light dinner was actually a self service event with a candle on the table. Unfortunately also the food was not even close to anything you could enjoy. Greasy vegetables, overcooked pasta and dry meat. We both had a soup, a starter and a main couse which we could not finish. At the end of the meal we decided to go out and look for a restaurant for dinner. The second evening we went to the dining room again and we found just different food, cooked the same way. We decided to go out for dinner.
The next day I changed our half board treatment to bed and breakfast - but were told, that we would be cheaper off to keep half board and not change. That does just not make any sense to me! We kept our half board accomodation, spent almost twice as much for massages as for the room and went out for dinner. Is that the way they want to build regular customers?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We visited this hotel with our children and our friends. It wasn't the first time there for us. Earlier we enjoyed this hotel, but now, we felt like in a big ashtray! Guests can smoke everywhere in this hotel: on the corridors, in the full area of the bar and in the restaurant (they have no non-smoking table during the lunch, only some round coffe tables)! We were very upset, because we are a non-smoker group. In the bar they have only three or four non-smoking tables - very close to the noisy band (they play hits form the 80's...). The ventilation was very weak, we suffered from the heavy smoke.
In the spa, they have no pool for children. It is only a perfect hotel for the austrian pensioners. The pensioners can freely singing and roaring with laughter during the dinner in the restaurant. They are the kings in this hotel... I suggest this hotel to the austrian and german pensioners who are heavy smokers. They will enjoy the stay here!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — heavy smoke everywhere (except in our room)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My fiancé and I spent two nights in Heviz at the Lotus SPA and were very happy with the hotel, after having experienced a horrible night in another location.

We arrived at 3 pm at the hotel. The parking area is in front of the hotel, which is secured with a guard and you car can be parked in a roofed outside parking lot.

Check In was fast and friendly. All of the (mostly Hungarian) staff is German speaking, due to the fact that a lot of the visitors are either Austrians or Germans. Our baggage was brought to our room by the porter and we were offered a welcome drink (Hungarian champagne, nothing special though).

The room was first of all very clean, the king size bed very comfortable. Although it was not too spacious, we felt very happy with it. We had a balcony with a view to the park side (you could also have one with view to the pool, which in my opinion could get noisy in the evening). The bathroom matched the room, it was ok when it comes to the size, but very tidy and well kept and cleaned.

To summarize: If you're going to spent all day long in the room, you will probably find it a bit small, however as the hotel offers a great SPA and pool scene, this did not bother us at all. The room was well equipped (TV, radio, water cooking facility, etc.).

The SPA and pool scene were really great: You find an outdoor pool, which is linked to the indoor pool over a waterway, of course 5 different saunas and three pools which are filled with the famous Heviz thermal water (which is said to have healing effects when swimming in it). Also a lot of recreational area. The use of this is all included in the hotel rate.
Besides that, there is a huge (!) offer for other body treatments, which we did not use.
The whole spa area and the pools were very tidy and cleaned. To be honest, I did not see any spa of this size with this level of good maintenance. I also very liked that the SPA areas were open until 10 pm, so after dinner you could enjoy another swim in the pool or a chill off in the steam bath.

Food and beverages: There is a small bar in the ground floor which serves you drinks and small snacks during the day. In my opinion a bit overprized for Hungary, but quality was ok. The only thing I really disliked is the coffee, but this seems to be like that all over Heviz (did not manage to get good coffee).
Somehow disappointing however was the food. We had dinner once there when there was also a barbecue, but the food at the end did not match the total quality of the hotel. There is no possibility to have a la carte dinner, only an all you can eat buffet is available. The second evening we preferred to go to Heviz, which I would also recommend other visitors. Breakfast included everything you would expect from such a hotel, except that juices were not fresh but from conserves, but ok.

Other activities include a golf course (charged extra) and indoor (extra) and outdoor (included) tennis. You can easily go by foot to Heviz and the thermal lake, which would take about a 15 minute walk. The hotel offers a lot of activities during the day, you will be given a Lotus newspaper every morning stating the possibilities, some of them free of charge. In the evening, there is usually a band playing on the terrace at the outdoor pool.

The Balaton region is very beautiful and you should consider to visit the beautiful country and enjoy the astonishing landscape. My recommendations: Keszhtely is a 15 minute drive from Heviz, in 1 hour reach is Tihany (a beautiful old town located on the northern side of the Balaton lake on a peninsula) or Budapest (2h). If you are more into some action and party, you should consider visiting the south side of the lake (Siofok), which I did not do.

People in the hotel will mostly be composed by 40-60 yrs old persons, who are coming to relax and swim in the thermal water for wellness reasons, as some younger couples spending a romantic weekend in the hotel. Basically, the guests are looking for relaxing, so a calm atmosphere is guaranteed.

Summary:
If you come to Heviz for relaxing and the internationally well known thermal waters, Lotus spa will be the right place to go. Besides the fact that you don't even have to leave the hotel swim in the thermal waters, the Heviz thermal lake is just around the corner. The spa is exceptionally well kept and clean, the rooms are beautiful (even if they could be bigger). The service generally is polite and friendly. The Balaton region and the balaton lake offer beautiful landscapes which you should not miss.

  • Liked — The spa was very nice!
  • Disliked — The dinner buffet did not meet our expectations
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

This hotel was absolute luxury. We had a wonderful stay from start to finish. We booked through Orbitz, so we got an amazingly reasonable rate, that included a full breakfast! The room was modern and with some lovely touches. The thermal spa was divine. The spa facilities were top notch! The resort is well located in the town of Heviz and is driving distance from many of Lake Balaton's best sites and excursions. The resort had so much to do, you could easily have stayed for a week and never been bored. There were daily activities, and the facility itself had everything from horseback riding to golf to tennis. The icing on the cake was the amazing food at the hotel restaurant. We only enjoyed breakfast there, but it was one of the best breakfast buffets we've ever seen.
The entire experience was amazing and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Spa facility was superb!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

Room modern but lack of space to put anything. No twin beds as requested and confirmed - did not exist and were very abrupt when I asked about this. Toiletries non-existent - just a push-soap dispenser on the wall. One main restaurant and bar with meals - certainly not much choice for 5-star hotel. No porterage service on way out though their tip was automatically included on bill - they made no attempt - just stood around and watched. I would definitely not rate this a 5-star hotel. Golf, tennis, pool, spa but not the basics!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa

Address: Lotuszvirag u. 1, Heviz H-8380, Hungary (Formerly Rogner Hotel & Spa Lotus Therme)
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Heviz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Therme Hotel And Spa
Lotus Therme Hotel Heviz
Rogner Hotel Heviz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.