We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's My 3rd Time... So Far "No Complaints"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rakoczi u 1 - 3, Heviz H-8380, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Heviz
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It's My 3rd Time... So Far "No Complaints"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I and my family find this hotel very pleasant and ideally situated. It is a short walk to Lake Heviz which is the world's 2nd largest thermal lake famous for its curative effects. There are also plenty of small boutiques around the area as well as cafes and good local restaurants. The charge of €8 a day for having the convenience of parking one's car in their garage and enjoying direct access to the hotel is for me absolutely acceptable especially if you compare it to the €25-40/day that is being charged in places like Warsaw, Prague, Ceska Krumlov or Bratislava. Now, there you can cry overpricing!! The hotel itself is well maintained and kept neat at all times. Rooms are large and clean, even equipped with a mini-kitchen that will allow you to cook in case you are getting tired of hotel or restaurant food. Just make sure to bring your own utensils! However, I never checked if the hotel will provide such items in case you make a request. There is also a wonderful spa with indoor pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna and they also offer various sorts of soothing massages and beauty or health treatments. As per the food, well it is a matter of taste! But so far, we have always been satisfied with the wide choice that they offer. Service is prompt and friendly and luckily for us, not once did we encounter any form of impoliteness or rudeness. I suppose, if one treats people, especially the service personnels with respect and friendliness, then you are bound to be treated tenfolds better! Being considered regular guests naturally goes with plenty of advantages since we are already familiar with the staff. But despite some of the negative reviews submitted here, I personally would still recommend Palace Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
24
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Dinner and breakfast is very good, the rooms are clean and cultured in the medium-sized spa but good. The hotel is close to the lake, boats can walk from here. Perfect for a long weekend.The parking garage is a little tighter, it would not hurt to pay attention to amateur drivers.

Room Tip: A kis utcára néző szobák nyugisabbak
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agard, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Absolutely not a 4* hotel and palace neither. Booked for a weekend in 2012-JUL.
The parking place in the underground garage is too tight for a normal sized car and it has extra cost. You have to get out in the opposite side of your car. The food is horrible, greasy, oily and bad looking. The staff is unfriendly. The spa is average but clean. The room has it's own kitchen with stove, without equipment, surprising... The room is average. The bathroom is horrible... Rusty heater, limescaled shower, moldy tile. Absolutely not worth it's price.

Héviz is ok, the lake is fine with a lot of recreation possibility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks great but the reception staff is unfriendly. We were there in the off-season, the hotel was maybe half full but we had to wait for our room until the "official" check-in time. I don't believe that the room wasn't ready before. The reception staff's knowledge of foreign languages is poor.
The rooms were ok but silly. I don't know why was there a kitchen in the room when everything was missing (dishes, electricity,...). One of the rooms was transformed in the children playing area but it was really dirty and not really appropriate for the kids :(
The Spa is very small for a hotel of it's size, the same is with the restaurant. Unlike the other reviewers we found the food ok. In comparison with the other hungarian restaurants it wasn't so tasty but it also wasn't bad.
Three stars would be more appropriate for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good locations very close to the entry in thermal lake and direct on the city centre. Large rooms.
But: small wellness area compared to the size of the hotel (crowded sauna, no sunbeds at non-peak season), buffet breakfast and dinner with low selection of not-that-tasty meals, unprofessional staff (reception, restaurant and wellness)
Night bar open till 21:30PM??? Don´t understand the hotel management during the Euro 2012 no TV in the lobby bar and no chance to watch with atmosphere in the hotel. (in the rooms small old TV no good screen)
This hotel has 4 stars but this in not 4 stars Hotel if you compare with other cities or also in the Hévíz.
The target category is seniors maybe for them is that enough but for young is not enough.
Also parking garage was full. I Don’t understand this ….

Room Tip: ask for room on with windows to the trading zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My sister and I were staying in Heviz at another hotel but thought after a day at the thermal spa we would see if we could dine at the Palace Hotel. We were able to dine there as non-residents after enquiring with the receptionist. The food okay but the beef was tough and the fish was not very nice. Apart from that we enjoyed our meal and our waiter was nice and polite. However, when I came to pay the bill with my credit card the head waiter and the receptionist were extremely rude and we were told cash only. I was directed to a cash machine down the road in a very curt way which as dining guest was totally unnecessary. I can't believe in a 4 star hotel we could not pay for our meal on a credit card. Also, the way in which we were spoken to and how they acted towards us was unjustifiable because we had the cheek to even assume we could pay by card. I will not be visiting there again and will definitely not recommend it.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel's wellness section, the atmoshphere, the food are average four star quality, but we were given apartment rooms, which have a separate sleaping room, and are very cinvinient, if you travel with two or more children.

Room Tip: 101-102-103, or simply ask for apartment rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace

Address: Rakoczi u 1 - 3, Heviz H-8380, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Heviz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Heviz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.