We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some nuisances” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunguest Hotel Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hunguest Hotel Mirage to your Saves list
Hunguest Hotel Mirage
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   16 Rakoczi Street, Heviz 8380, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Heviz
Veszprem, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some nuisances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

All in all we enjoyed the stay, but as for a 4 star hotel, there is some room for improvement. I found the wellness part the weakest. Here are some impressions briefly:
Positive: Perfect location, comfortable rooms, food was good (even though it was provided in the 3* neighbouring hotel). It was funny how they tried to compensate the Mirage guest with one free drink and an extra cheese-plate (containing cheese from breakfast), it was so Hungarian.

Negative: I am not a picky type, for me Vichy-massage was a huge disappointment, I don't understand how could anybody approve such a service from the management.
The sauna is only for one hour per day (though the sauna master is very flexible on this).
Upon arrival the soaps were empty in bathroom and were only filled up after I directly asked the personnel to do it (so not even after the daily cleaning service).
No slippers for the room.
Here is some funny extra about an overheard conversation in the wellness part:
"A: You are going to perform a sole massage tomorrow.
B: But I have never done it before!
A: Never mind, everybody started like this!
"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Veszprém, Veszprem, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. It's not our first stay en Heviz, we tested a lot of hotel there.
Let's start with the positive things; it's really in the center/ downtown just 2 minute walk to the famous thermal lake, it's brand new so everything is nice and not "written off". We got two very big and fancy rooms with a common hall (we were there as a family). The staff at reception was helpful, however I little missed smiling. You can also visit via a covered corridor the St Andrew's thermal bath wich is very comfortable mainly in wintertime.
And now the "intresting" things:
- I NEVER been in the world in a hotel, where the restaurant was operated by a different company. In this hotel it's not possible to book your consumtion to you room bill! (I can't believe why isn't it possible to organize by the two managements)
- There wasn't any coffee machine during the breakfast just thermos, if you wanna drink a cappuccino or a latte, you have to pay it.
- However I would definitely recommend ther pizzas, I found similar quality in Italy! :-)
- There wasn't any possibilities to order an omelette or an ham& eggs, just scrambled eggs.
- Based on my feeling the juices were diluted in water..
I would like to highlight that we're talking from a 4* superior category.
- It's also strange that you can use the sauna for free one hour/ day!
About the rooms: they are clean and tidy, but the fan in the bathroom operates all the time if you leave the door open. In our room (Nr 220) we had to wait min 2 min for the warm/ hot water. What I missed from the bathroom is the small package of body lotion& shampoo.
Regarding child friendly: There is no (or even we do not found) any playroom for children wich is standard even in a 4 star hotel, and they have only baby bed but none of baby tub, toilet reducer, etc.
I hope the hotel will outgrow these "children diseases" soon and will be really a 4* superior place not just in therms of rooms/ furnitures but also in therms of service.

Room Tip: On the third floor there are rooms with glass roof bedrooms, it's quite unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hévíz is a "Mekka" for people who wish to experience the healing effect of the world's biggest thermal lake. For sure, You have to reach a certain age to really appreciate it, for sure.

The Lake is in a beautiful, huge park, nature is amazing. On the surface of the lake You can admire water-lilly in most of the time, so it is pleasure not only for your bones, joints but also eyes and spirit :))

Hotel Mirage is just a newborn in the neighbourhood. Location is perfect if You are that type You can visit the lake in a bathrobe! It takes 5 minutes on a beautful path, which leads from the main street of Hévíz to the main entrance.
But this causes some problems as well: since the hotel is right on the main pedestrain street, restaurants with garden terrace may serve live music which does not end until 23H! I stayed on the third floor but I could hear every single word of the songs ... :( Parking is not easy either.

The breakfast at the hotel is still missing some features to be a 4* sevice buffet (there is no coffee machine, only pre-cooked brownish liquid). There i sno system working yet for billing on the room so You have to pay everything in cash which is unusual these days.

But wifi is working, the bed and room is comfortable, the staff is helpful.

Recommended, with some "new-born" mistakes.

Room Tip: Third floor EXECUTIE room is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived at noon and room was not ready yet. That was reasonable, but when we got back at 14 pm, a check-in time, it was still not ready for unknown reasons and we had to wait for an hour more.
Staff is terrible when it comes to english! We were given a pen to write down our room number when coming on breakfast, because they didn't understand numbers! Even at the reception, they hardly knew some.
Room cleaning was never thorough.
At check-out, we were unable to pay with credit card and they made us feel uncomfortable because our cards were declined, eventhough they were valid. Almost two hours later, and after we paid in cash, regularly withdrawn with same credit cards on atm nearby, they realized it's their machine that's not working.
Since it's a four-star hotel, and since we saw pictures on a leaflet, we expected it to have a swimming pool, but we found out that it doesn't!
The only thing that makes this hotel fancy is location, in the very center of the town, but it just doesn't justify the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is in a very good place...Right next to the famous lake and in the centre of this village...We got the room 209 which is on the second floor and the view is to the street where just pedestrians are..This place is very lively, you can hear live music in your room what we liked but this doesnt lasts all night long...around 11pm was over...we had our own parking lot so our car was in safe where we were there...the rooms are well equipped however I missed cleaning pads and more tv channels..but we had a little balcony and the bed was ok..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I booked a week in this new hotel in May. We had discussed the reservation directly with the hotel and were promised room 112, a larger than average room. When we arrived we were given room 310 but immediately found it unsatisfactory. The bed appeared to have been slept in. The sheet was crumpled and there was gritty dust on it. There was fluff and dust on the carpet.Outside the room there was thick dust on the carpet by the lift.
We asked for the room which we had booked but were told it was not available for "technical reasons" but on questioning it became obvious that room 112 was occupied by someone else. No one from the hotel management was available. The reception staff offered to have our room cleaned and give a 5% discount or give us a smaller room. This would also be on the 3rd floor which was dirty. We decided to go to another hotel and had a good stay there.
A few days later we visited Heviz and walked down the street where the Hotel Mirage was. Outside the hotel there was a well organized and peaceful demonstration by a group of men. It turned out that these were the building workers who had constructed the Hotel Mirage. They were protesting because the Hotel, ( part of the large Hunguest hotel group ), had not paid them for their work.
We felt that we had made the right decision not to stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunguest Hotel Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Hotel Mirage

Address: 16 Rakoczi Street, Heviz 8380, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunguest Hotel Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hunguest Hotel Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunguest Hotel Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.