We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz to your Saves list
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kossuth Lajos u 9 - 11, Heviz 8380, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Heviz
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my husband have spent 5 relaxing days in April in this hotel. We were here several times in the last years, and we return this summer too. What the other travellers write, is totally true . I can't write other things, since I have read the reviews.
Also: the hotel is a real four stars superior quality, with pleasant rooms, good wifi, tv channels and... last but not least, with very comfortable beds. The rooms are refurbished, and spacious.
The whole hotel from outside seems to be a socialist spa hotel, but inside it is modern. Only the dining room remained "a bit from socialism". The food was correct, three times a week a buffet dinner, but on the other days you have to choose from 4 main courses. What really good is, that you can choose, whether you would like lunch or dinner in the halb pension. The breakfast choice is perfect, the dinner sweets are every time the same, nothing special. The drinks in the restaurant are overpriced, I think. But you can have fresh water from a marvellous Zsolnay-tap free.
The morning coffee is terrible - they had to modernize (I mean change) the old coffee machines.
The spa is clean and the swimming pool (28 C) can be used in bad weather too, because it's in the building. Very good, that they have two thermal basins with several temperatures, everybody founds his comfortable one.
The staff in the reception is friendly and helpful, which is very important, I think. The town is quiet, you can take long walks in the streets, and Keszthely and the lake Balaton is near.
I recommend everybody to choose this hotel, you can spend very pleasant days here.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the highest floor in summer. There is much A/C unit noise (may be, it was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Zsofi50

Thank you very much for your review. Every feedback is very important to us, hence, your suggestions and kind words were forwarded to all the responsible departments.
We are looking forward to have you with us soon.

Best regards:
Peter Nagy
E-commerce manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
23
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, only a few minutes away from the lake. The room is spacious and comfy. Friendly, helpful and well prepared staff. The treatments and the spa are great, you can relax for sure! The breakfast buffet has a large selection, also the dinner is rich and tasty. But their coffee machine makes really bad coffee! Overall I'm satisfied with the hotel, and I'm sure that in the future we will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Google Translation
Kedves Eszter!

Köszönjük megtisztelő értékelését, és a kedves szavakat a személyzetünkről.
A kávéautomatával kapcsolatos észrevételeket már a bejegyzés kézhezvételekor továbbítottam az éttermünk részére, és a szerviz azóta már módosított a beállításokon.

Remélem, hogy a következő látogatásuk alkalmával már minden hibátlan lesz, és újra nagyszerű élményekkel távozhatnak tőlünk.

A mielőbbi viszontlátásig üdvözlettel:
Nagy Péter
E-commerce manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Yet another spa hotel in Hungary where you can have an almost perfect and modern service combined with the still existing charm of the latest years of socialism in the country. Typical socialist spa hotel building taking you back to 1970-80, but with modern, refurbished rooms and modern facilities. But if you want a coffe in the lobby bar, you can perfectly see what was the hotel design of the socialist luxury :) Perfect and helpful staff, great spa and treatment, and absolutely acceptable food with really rich breakfast choices. Outside pool looks a little bit crowded in peak season, but you can swim also inside. Location is perfect, exactly above the charming lake from Hévíz, and easy to reach the Balaton, if you want more crowd :). They should do something with the lifts, which are slow and crowded, but if you are smart you can use the staff lifts (thanks for the tip from the reception :) ) Ask for a room with view towards the lake (or the forest, more exactly), and do not be late for breakfast/dinner, if you want a bigger choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with front view can be extremely hot, ask for view to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Google Translation
Kedves László!

Köszönjük megtisztelő értékelését, szívből örülünk, hogy szolgáltatásaink színvonala elnyerte az Önök tetszését.
Szállodánk valóban "középkorúnak" tekinthető, hiszen Hévíz város első gyógyszállodájaként került felépítésre. A folyamatos modernizálással és fejlesztéssel pedig igyekszünk mindent megtenni, hogy a vendégeink teljesen el tudjanak merülni a hotel nyújtotta kikapcsolódásban és relaxációban.
A liftek valóban kicsit lassabbak, mint más, wellness szállodákban. Ennek oka, hogy az ajtók nyitási és csukódási idejét a megszokottnál hosszabbra állítottuk. Ezzel kívánunk az idősebb vendégeink segítségére lenni, akiknek nem alternatíva a lépcsőn való lejutás. Örülök, hogy a recepció által adott tanács segített megoldani ezt az akadályt.

Remélem, hogy hamarosan újra kitüntetnek minket látogatásukkal.

Szívélyes üdvözlettel:
Nagy Péter
E-commerce manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Excellent break with wonderful relaxing treatments, very friendly staff and very good chef, all one needs in a relaxing break,furthermore, a week's stay with half-board, acess to pools and gym, doctor's consultation and 6 treatments for less than Euros 600 per person, This was our 7th visit to the hotel in the last 9 years

Heviz thermal lake is a must it has a steady temperature all year around between 22 and 26 deg,c,

Room Tip: all rooms chave balconies overlooking either the lake or the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear "Maan B"

It is hard to say anything else for such a review - beside saying thank you, of course, for taking your time writing about us.
And that we are looking forward to have you with us pretty soon indeed!

Kindest regards:
Peter Nagy
E-commerce manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the third time we are in this hotel for a spa package with treatments.
the rooms are spacious and well furnished. we had a balcony to the view of the lake. the evening dinners were excellent and the breakfast buffet was very rich.
the staff are very helpful and polite. the Spa pools and the facilities are clean.
there is not one bad word to say about the week we enjoyed there!

Room Tip: the 7th floor is the highest one and is quiet. the view side is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear "ruthy93"

Thank you for your review and kind words. Especially for the room tip :)
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz is the only 4* hotel where you can enjoy the lake view right from your room on the 6th and 7th floors.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and looking forward to have you with us again.

Best regards:
Peter Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veszprém, Veszprem, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've spent here five days in July with big family.
The hotel is very spaceous, rooms are big enough, with brand new LCD televisions.
The spa is also OK, you can have many kinds of treatments (massgae/beuty/ health).
In summer time the outdoor pool was very comfortable, beacuse the temperature of the water is not so cold, so you can have let your kid for "hours".
The quality of food is avarage, only one thing wich can be better; the prices of "retro bar" was so high -even it's a **** hotel and wasn't egal with quality/ quntity. We also missed a little the animation programs for children.
You can enter the downtown and the lake via 3 minutes walk.

Room Tip: You can get any room, most of them are the same size, so you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Bgyory

Thank you very much for your review, every feedback is very important to us.
I am glad that you had a nice time in our resort. We hope that you may honour us with your visit next time soon - if we can give a small hint, try out our rooms on the 6th and 7th floors on the side of the lake - they have an admirable view through out the year.
With kindest regards:
Peter Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

have chosen this hotel being a part of the danubius spa chain , the hotel is old and rooms were not well maintained, A/c did not work although it was 28C , no toiletries were provided. fullbord accommodation is not recommended despite of being cheap.restaurants and cafes in the center will provide better food quality .treatment was not available due to heavy loads. Quality of treatments were the least in comparison to other spas within that chain. distance to the lake and city not so far but not so accessible specially for some one with wheel chair or baby prom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHSRHeviz, E-commerce Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are grateful for every feedback about our resort. We read it with sorrow that we could not provide you with a fully enjoyable holiday experience during your stay.
I would like to grab the opportunity to answer to some of the points you mentioned in your review.

Our hotel is old indeed, actually, it was founded as the second resort among the Danubius Hotels, and the first medical-wellness resort in the city. Fortunately it rarely shows its age. We take great care to constantly upgrade and maintain our equipments in a proper state. Though in the aspect of outer design these possibilities are limited at best, I am glad to write that in the inside we constantly make greater works and smaller "tweaks" to offer the best service to our guests.
The most recent one was the development of our WiFi network, which yielded a 10x faster wireless connectivity throughout the hotel. Even more visible, we managed to change all of our old CRT televisions to high-end LG LED TVs.

I consulted with our maintenance supervisor about the air-conditioning. This spring was really out of the track in the aspect of weather conditions. Throughout the months of April and May we experienced everything, from snowstorms to heatwave around 35oC. We do our best to provide our guests with comfortable environments throughout their stay, and react for these changes immediately. Nothing marks better the nastiness of the weather this year, that we started the AC on the 16th of May, then had to restart heating again 7 days later. On the following week we operated the air condition again due to the hotter weather.
Please note, that because of European laws and environmental protection regulations we are allowed to make maximum 5oC lower temperature in an air-conditioned room than the outside temperature.

Regarding the toiletries it is supplied in each room according to our standards. It includes large and small towels, a stepping towel in front of the tube, shampoo, liquid soap, Kleenex, bathing cap, towels, bathrobe, a wellness towel, and a sauna sheet. If any of these elements are missing, our house-keeping crew is more than happy to supply you with additional ones.

As a medical-wellness resort, we are among the bigger ones in the Danubius Chain. Thus it is likely that our therapy-schedule is full during the year, though we do our best to arrange alternative treatment times for our guests. I was sad to read that you were dissatisfied with the quality of our treatments. As we have a strict procedure, how those treatments needed to be carried out, I will thank you if you write me some additional details about these points. I am at your disposal either through phone (+36 83 889 431), or by email: heviz[dot.e-commerce[at]danubiushotels[dot]com.

I hope we hear from you soon, and greet among our guests once again.
With kindest regards:

Peter Nagy
E-commerce manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz

Address: Kossuth Lajos u 9 - 11, Heviz 8380, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Heviz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heviz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first medical-wellness & spa hotel in Heviz, Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz**** puts all the skill, tradition and experience into the service of your holiday.Located beside a quiet park-area, only 5 minutes away to the world's largest thermal lake, 6 km to the Lake Balaton and 2 hours to the capital, DHSR Heviz is a perfect place for your wellness and spa holiday, for a weekend or for a forthnight alike. Offering house-own thermal spring, you can enjoy the same healing water in the pools as in the city's thermal lake. The medical and wellness therapies also utilize the healing mud of the lake.This is the only resort in the city, where you can book rooms with view to the lake.Numerous wellness services, comfortable rooms with AC, professional medical department, skilled medical and wellness staff await you in this resort.The entire resort is non smoking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Hotel Heviz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.