We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go and eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oreg Harang

Oreg Harang
Heviz, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Heviz
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Great place to go and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food was delicious, great surrandings -all nature around. We had to wait a bit, but it was worthy.
The base menu is quite short, but they have every day a lot of specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not cheap by Hungarian standards but worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

At the end of the street continue down the track past the other restaurants up where the lane turns you will see this one sign posted.Walk up the path and just behind the trees you will find the restaurant, plenty of outside seating for warm evenings but the inside looked cosy for cooler weather. The waiter spoke some English and explained the specials on the menu with aid of a blackboard with animal pictures and prices,there was an English menu translation as well as Hungarian and German. We ordered from the specials menu although they were much more expensive than the standard menu which had similar prices to other restaurants in Heviz..The house wine was excellent.The menu was shorter than most other restaurants locally but with locally sourced high quality produce eg buffalo,long horn cow etc. We felt that although it was the most expensive meal we ate in Hungary it was well worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hungarian Food with entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant is set in a great location down a rough track deep in the country with a tiny 13th Century church above it. When you finally arrive it is just a house with a few tables packed into a front room. There is a menu available in most languages but not English (yet). There is also a blackboard on which the owner can draw the specials he thinks you might be eating, so understanding the menu becomes a bit like a game of charades.

The menu is just really good Hungarian country food, which generally means lots of meat served on giant plates in generous portions. Over two visits we enjoyed a platter of home made salamis (two types of goat) and cured meats, cured venison prosciutto, fillet of woolly pig, fillet of goat, and the local man-eating Zander fish. Mains were served with plenty of veg and I seemed to get a rather gratuitous pancake as well. On both nights we had the only pudding to have, being the strudel (which was to die for). And on the second visit I discovered my first really good Palinka.

Great place, great food and a great host even if the language is a challenge (take a good phrase book). If you don't like pets then maybe take a rain check cos there are a few around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hungarian specialities – well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent and creative Hungarian dishes of goat, grey beef, rabbit, 'mangalica' pig. I like to stories of the owner on how they prepare the meals. I've visited this place several times in several years. I appreciate the solid quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Number one rip off, v. disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the other unimpressed reviewer, only I fell for the no price verbal menu and got totally ripped off. This place relies on its top ranking, else no-one would ever find it at the end of a muddy track. Small, thus pretty empty. Very small menu so u rely on verbal offerings - no prices given and for a reason - totally overpriced. Cat and dog roam amongst diners the later begging and dribbling on ur leg. Portions small, food average. Can only be reached by car so not much hope of sampling wines. As soon as I arrived splattered in mud, I feared the worst but I didn't expect everything to be terrible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oreg Harang also viewed

Heviz, Zala County
 
Heviz, Zala County
Heviz, Zala County
 

Been to Oreg Harang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oreg Harang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.