We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palffy Etterem

Palffy Etterem
Jedlik Anyos u. 19 | Szechenyi Square, Gyor H-9022, Hungary
0036 96 524680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 restaurants in Gyor
Price range: $7 - $14
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
655 reviews 655 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 230 cities Reviews in 230 cities
1,051 helpful votes 1,051 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick lunch stop with our tour group. Great fish, schnitzel
and salads and it was very cheap.
Nice to sit outside with friends. Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    14
    26
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papa, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The ice cream is to die for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friend and I decided to walk around Gyor and end up in the square. It was a nice weather out so we sat and check out the place. OMG the food is ridiculously DELICIOUS!!! highly recommend to try the ice cream which is under $6. Their presentation is already awesome but wait till you try it. I would go back again and try all of the ice cream in the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

As a regular visitor in Győr I've been to Pálffy Restaurant several times in the last four years, giving another chance time and time again to be impressed.
Sadly it still hasn't happened.
They have the same menu for four years permanently. Colourful pages with pictures to show you what you'll get on your plate - I think it is just a cheap way to grab turists. But this is the least problem, kids like colour books anyway.
Boring food, frozen ingredients, over cooked vegetables, burnt and dry meat. Huge amount of salads though, but in my oppinion it's not a big deal to mix a bowl of veg. Honestly, it is just a shame that's all you get right in the center of the town, in such a lovely spot.
The service is the only positive aspect in the whole place. If you would still decide to give it a go, I say leave out the food, and just have a drink or an icecream cup on their terrace. There are better restaurants in the town where you can get nice food for your money.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Györ, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location (and that's all)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It has a perfect location at the main meeting point in Györ, the Széchenyi Square, with a large terrace, but this is the only one advantage of this restaurant. You can eat the same foods, like everywhere else in the Hungarian countryside. The ingredients have good quality, but there is no "fantasy" in the menu, it's made for the tourists, who don't want to enjoy the meal, just fill in their stomach. There are too many tables in the terrace, sometimes your private area is hurted by the neighboors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you dont know where to go in Gyor, be sure that in Palffy Etterem you will get great food and drinks for excellent price.
We ate goulash, salmon, salads and fried cheese there - everything was delicious. Beer superb and for normal price we got almost endless glass of orange juice:)
Coffee and hot chocolate was also fine and for very reasonable price. If you choose outside terrace or interior room, you will be really satisified. Staff excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palffy Etterem also viewed

Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 

Been to Palffy Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palffy Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.