We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No duty of care - large amount of money stolen from travel wallet left on reception counter” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Korona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Korona to your Saves list
Hotel Korona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tunderpart 5, Eger 3300, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Eger
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No duty of care - large amount of money stolen from travel wallet left on reception counter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group - also did the wine tour of the hotel - later in the evening left travel wallet containing money and travel documents on the hotel counter by mistake - one of the tour handed the wallet to over to reception who then placed the wallet (in full view of all guests) on side of the reception counter leaving it there all night. It was only the next morning that I realised that I didn't have my wallet and went down to report it to my tour leader and to the hotel reception. My tour leader questioned the hotel reception as to why it was left in full view of all on the counter and wasn't locked in the safe or put away safely(please note that the wallet had the tour company logo printed on it. He also asked that we see the camera footage which showed my wallet being lifted by someone just out of view of the camera. Strangely only my euros were stolen as I also had some GBP which were left in the wallet untouched. The hotel tried to say that the person on our tour who handed them my wallet took the money but the camera footage distinctly shows the wallet being lifted from the counter two hours after it was handed in, plus the person that handed it in was shown clearly on the camera footage not opening the wallet but picking it up closed and handing it straight over to the receptionist.
Seems odd that only the euros were taken - maybe to avoid any detection when being spent locally - also the fact that the person who removed and took the money knew the range that the camera could film and did it just out of view as to not be filmed or caught on camera. the camera is not within view of the hotel guests and unless one was told of camera survellience then one would not be aware as there were no signs present to indicate that a camera was present.
The hotel did not try to compensate me in any way - very poor considering the large number that stay here as part of this particular tour company.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

If all you want is a room in a good location this is OK.....but don't look for any frills.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is in a quiet location about 10-15 mins walk to the sights of the town and where there are plenty of restaurants.
It served a good breakfast which can be eaten in an outdoor courtyard.
Only one of the wings has air-con. Initially we thought it was working well but it is all noise an no cold air. The coolness of the foyer and corridors create a false impression.
There is an indoor pool which you have to book but it is in a small room and felt very claustrophobic.
It is OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

The Korona Hotel in Eger is in a good location within walking distance to the town center. The staff is very friendly and helpful but the hotel needs a lot of work. The TV is tiny, no free internet, old beds and mattresses, old “communist” style decor in the rooms. I did not check the pool and the spa services seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

Our family including two small children stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. We asked the hotel to wash two shopping carrier bags of laundry for us which in England would cost about £15 to wash and dry. The bill came to 18,500.00 HUF about £53! more than the clothes were worth. We questioned this bill, as their laundry list was cheaper than the hotel we used in Budapest, but the Budapest hotel's total bill was half the price. It turned out that they had added 25% extra clothes on our bill that we had never given them. We also paid for another person's clothes! The manager refused to sort the matter out and we left feeling ripped off.We were never recompensed. Beware of the restaurant in the hotel if you eat there in the evening. The waiters were lovely and the food good but we were overbilled on the drinks at least on one occassion. Also we paid for extra services at the reception. Often the receptionist would go on the phone while dealing with you and so we didn't get receipts off them. They then would demand the payement again later in the afternoon after paying the bill in the morning!! The beds were very hard and the buffet breakfast was the worst we had tried in all the hotels we had stayed. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2005

Modern, new hotel. But very uncomfortable military like bed. Staff OK.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

We stayed at the Korona on the top floor in the newly built 4 star building which has a fine restaurant, indoor swimming pool, sauna, and wellness facilities. Our room had lovely views of the Eger's old town including the castle and the minaret. The staff were really nice and the hotel was well situated 5 minutes walk from the pedestrian street. We would definitely stay there again. Taxi needed to get from train station but only cost £3 sterling.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.8 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 23 in Eger
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 23 in Eger
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#12 of 23 in Eger
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eger Park
Hotel Eger Park
#3 of 23 in Eger
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
#5 of 23 in Eger
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Szent Janos Hotel
Szent Janos Hotel
#10 of 23 in Eger
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Korona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Korona

Address: Tunderpart 5, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Korona 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Korona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korona Hotel Eger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Korona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.