We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Bohemian Hotel Under the Walls of Hungary's Alamo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senator House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Senator House Hotel to your Saves list
Senator House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dobo ter 11, Eger 3300, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Eger
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Cute Bohemian Hotel Under the Walls of Hungary's Alamo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a well run, charming European countryside hotel. Rooms were smallish, clean, but with nice, modern bathrooms. No elevator here, but also no big tour groups. Eger's castle is a sacred Hungarian site, their "Alamo" where a small group of warriors and townspeople held off thousands of seiging Turks. The castle is the big site, followed by the facade of the church in Dobo Square, and the Lyceum library. We spent one night, sampled the local Hungarian wines, esp. Tokai, and ate twice at the Senator Haz's restaurant (quite good and well priced as compared to Budapest).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    34
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
55
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May with a group of wine loving friends and after searching a bit due to one-ways and confusing GPS signals, found the hotel which is situated right in the main square, within walking distance of most of the sights of Eger. The olde-world charm of hotel should not be misleading, it works like a charm! Friendly staff coping with all of us at the same time, a great seating area outside where you can watch the passing parade, big rooms (we had a back facing one which is quieter), one of the best breakfasts we had in Hungary - and we were so sad we only stayed one night.

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Overlooking the front of the hotel is great if you don't mind a bit of noise from street revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family of 5 (with 3 adult children) stayed in the lovely spacious pensione in the back. The rooms were spotlessly clean, charming and very convenient. We ate at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our first meal so much, that we came back a second time. The generous breakfast was a great start to the day. Thank you for your helpful service and great accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eger
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The place was a good place to stay at, although the restaurant seems to have a good cook, but the serving was too slow. This can be improved and is often due to organization. The staff was helpful to guide to the secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our group of 14 arrived late afternoon and were greeted by the friendly manager and staff. The room was clean and had a view over the town square. The street life outside the hotel adds to the caracter. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in future to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I heartily recommend Senator Haz. The staff was extraordinarily accommodating to our party of five, finding four of us an "apartment" in the pensione in the back - very quiet, very private. Our van found space in the locked parking lot behind the hotel. Andras cooks a mean ham and eggs, and all the bread and rolls were fresh every morning. I had to leave by 6am, and knocked on the door - coffee was ready for my ride to Budapest airport, which was arranged for me with only two days notice. The wine shop right across the street is well stocked, and we were provided a bucket of ice (with linen napkin) to chill our Balatan bottles of dry white wonderfulness.

Room Tip: For more modern rooms, ask for the pensione in the back, off the main cobblestone square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am NOT get used to this quality of staff in Hungary. They are extremely friendly. It was my first visit and we stayed only one night. And they were as friendly as knowing each other for years.
If you drive with the help of a GPS, enter "Dr.Hibay Károly utca". This street leads you to the hotel entrance. The receptionist showed me the parking place (approx. 150 m from the hotel's main entrance). Room 15 is a good one, if you do not go for watching TV. The TV is rather old. It is a color TV. That means red or green colors, but not at the same time :-) Also the volume setting is nearly impossible. They should change it...
We had a nice view to the Dobo square.
The breakfast is ok. The scrambled eggs is really good. And the rolls also. Coffee, tea, milk, orange juice are also available.
If you like some K.u.K. feeling, you can find it. The lobby and the corridors are full with old objects from Singer sewing-maching legs to old type writer.
The castle, the bishop's palace, churches, the minaret and walking streets are around the hotel in some minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a good one if you do not go for watching TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eger hotels
0.5 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 23 in Eger
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eger Park
Hotel Eger Park
#3 of 23 in Eger
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
Imola Udvarhaz Hotel
#5 of 23 in Eger
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kodmon
Hotel Kodmon
#12 of 23 in Eger
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
Hunguest Hotel Flora
#14 of 23 in Eger
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Volgy
Hotel Villa Volgy
#13 of 23 in Eger
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator House Hotel

Address: Dobo ter 11, Eger 3300, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Eger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Senator House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Eger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.