We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Jack Pub

Calico Jack Pub
Debrecen, Hungary
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Debrecen
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a family meal here!
Wow great food great service!
This place should be the best in Debrecen
5*

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An outing at Calico Jack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The pub looks original and the concept was very refreshing and out of the ordinary that one was used to. The meal was very good and staff were very friendly and fun to be with for the period we stayed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Love it! Great food and atmosphere every time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A little off the beaten track, Debrecen is not a normal tourist destination. We use it as a stopping point in between Austria and Romania and the reason that we stop here? Calico Jack Pub!!

Service:
The staff are efficient and friendly, most speak some English and German - whilst one on each shift is fluent, in English for those sticky questions!

Food:
Where do I start. We have eaten many things on the menu and with the exception of the dishes being HUGE!! and not being able to eat everything we have no complaints. The menu does change a little with the seasons, so don't rush .. take your time and read through it all.
My personal favorites? If you are a Beef tartare fan this one won't disappoint and I love the Goose rillette (sharing these starters is a good option as they are good sized portions) for fish lovers, Salmon steak with grilled mussel, hollandaise brandy sauce and fried paprika risotto YUMMO.. and Leg of duck roasted with its liver, cauliflower puree seasoned with truffle, dried plum with honey - is awesome for duck lovers and my favorite. For those with less adventurous taste buds and carnivorous then the Grill meat plate for 2 is great value and the steak is very good also.

Location:
Def not on the tourist route here, best to put the address into your navi or if you are in town the tram line runs by.

Atmosphere:
The set up is great, inside is very funky and has great feel about it. We are normally there in the warmer months, so the outside terrance under the huge sails in nice.

Tips:
BOOK! If you plan to eat on a Friday or Saturday and want a guaranteed table outside then it is best to call and book ahead. This is a true popular spot with the locals and it does get busy.
MEAL SIZES! The meal sizes are big, some dishes can be ordered 1/2 serve. But don't over order - you can always add another dish if you still feel hungry.

Overall:
It is a great find, we are yet to have a bad meal here, the staff are efficient and friendly and as long as your pampered pooch is well behaved, quiet and does not bother other diners - they are welcome to sit outside at your table as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a terrific lunch in the tented outdoor section of the pub; very full menu, good service. Watch going to the washroom, the stairs are dark!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great food, great atmosphere and great pub. Nice Hungarian food.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Jack Pub also viewed

Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
 
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
Debrecen, Hajdu-Bihar County
 

Been to Calico Jack Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Jack Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.