We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are we in Budapest?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Cafe

New York Cafe
Erzsebet korut 9-11 | Boscolo Budapest, Budapest 1073, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)
36-1-8866167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: The best cafe in the world! Experience traditional flavors and typical Hungarian dishes or enjoy elegant international cuisine.
Kecskemet, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Are we in Budapest?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've visited this place with my family and I really enjoyed it! There's a pianist and the beautiful songs make an incredible atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,927
    1,060
    492
    203
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We popped in for coffee and cake but as it was so hot we ordered a beer instead. The surroundings are fabulous and make the rather expensive menu worthwhile. The service was good and we enjoyed our cakes - an apple tart and a cheesecake, which went down very well with the beer. There is a pianist playing on the grand piano, which all adds to the opulence. Before leaving you must visit the toilets, and en route have a look at the inner courtyard - magnificent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive, beautiful, a bit snooty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Let's face it, you are here for the beauty. We ordered desserts and a few drinks mid-day and it cost $100. Oh well, it was worth the time there. The desserts were very good, but the staff seemed to be a bit snooty as if most people weren't of the right class to be there. It was hit and miss with the friendliness. I more than had enough money to eat in this cafe so the attitude was unnecessary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very beautiful cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

the prices are not cheap but not exensive also, i ate anly dessert and drank wine, went there more for the experience, was very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Beautiful Cafe with top class furnishings but food only average. Also very pricey. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to New York Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.