We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Thai Rim Naam

Sala Thai Rim Naam
Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
266-4363
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,384 of 1,990 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in because I was lost and wanted Thai food. It was empty. But to my surprise, the food was authentic and amazing! I have been twice and plan to return many more times on this trip. I cannot over emphasize the authentic cuisine. Previous reviews are obviously from people who do not know real Thai food. You want authentic, visit this place. Fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    4
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid unless....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You want an amusing evening. Staying at the Marriott (v good) on a lads weekend, and feeling rather lazy, we ventured in to this place. Its only next door.
There was no menu on display, and the place was empty at 9pm. The menu claimed to welcome everyone, even lone diners, who the blurb promised, would not be treated as if they had scabbies! So quite reassuring.
The proprietor was dressed in a horrid baseball cap, and we considered bailing out.
The 3 of us perserved, but became anxious when we kept hearing the ping of a microwave. The food arrived, and it was poor, we decided to complain, and were told we don`t know Thai food, and to get out of the place. He started shouting...and said it was his first complaint for 20 years.
I was told I was a bad person, it all kicked off very quickly, and so if you are bored, check the place out, ask if he uses the microwave....and brace yourself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“OUR BIG MISTAKE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We walk a long the Duna river. After 7 days of dark it was sunny. we were naive to think maybe the pleasent sun bring us to this Sala Thai restaurant. We enter in and we felt like the comonist russian never left. the decore look like 1970's. the menu was with 3 time price change. We order soup. How bed can a Thai soup taste? well, this one taste like the water that you clean the floor.
We decide to pay and leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Surprised this place is still open!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We should have read the bad reviews and saved ourselves the disappointment of enduring one of the worst dining experiences ever. We've just returned to our hotel room after eating here and I wanted to go on record by giving it a definite big thumbs down before my bad mood subsides and I forget to do so. Without going into detail I can only reiterate what previous reviewers have stated - this place is worse than horrible - don't go here, it really is an expensive dump - save your money for one of the many excellent restaurants in Budapest.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We visited this restaurant - and it was the worst dining experience we had in Budapest.

The food tasted ok, though portions were small. When we received the (over-priced) bill it included Service Charge but the woman asked if we wanted to leave a tip. We queried this but she said the service charge 'went to the restaurant' not the serving staff. At that point the man behind the counter started shouting over at us, saying that that is how it is in Hungary.
As we were the only people in the restaurant we felt rather intimidated, and we left an additional small tip to prevent a confrontation.
This episode has confirmed our original thoughts when looking for somewhere to eat -- if a restaurant is empty it's for a good reason!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Thai Rim Naam also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Sala Thai Rim Naam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Thai Rim Naam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.