We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always tasty, but always expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerbeaud

Gerbeaud
1051 Vorosmarty ter 7-8, Budapest, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36-1/429-9021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 1,775 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, Brasserie, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
budapest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always tasty, but always expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have visited this place with my family in the last 3-4 years several times.This is a must place, specially in summer/autumn afternoons, when the sun still shines to the Vörösmarty square. All kind of foods (sandwiches, cakes, ice cream cups are always very tasty, really high quality. but, as many said before, the prices are hmmm.. let me see, average price of a slice of cake is appr. 2.000 HUF (7 €), or an ice cream cup for 3.000 HUF (10€).
The atmosphere, and the quality of food makes it a place well worth to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    659
    355
    159
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“HIGHLY OVER RATED!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

While visiting in Budapest, we were told how great this old restaurant was to have its famous coffee and pastries and sundays. After waiting an unusually long period of time to get to our table, it took equally a long time to have our order taken. After waiting for a good 25 minutes, we finally received our food which was really very common in taste and quality. Our waitress was totally inattentive to anything as were most of the wait staff. The interior is very elegant but with the poor service, the interior lost its ambience. As we were leaving, they told us in a fairly harsh tone to exit through a different door than the one that we came in. there were people waiting to get in but the manners of the staff once more was totally bad and non respectful of a customer. I think they are resting on their laurels of the days of old..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT EXPENSIVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very pretty place... it was empress Sissi favourite bakery or something like that. It really is very good and very sofisticated. Don't expect good treatment if you are not well dressed. Very expensive... my girlfriend liked it alot and went back the next day. Good place to stop for a sweet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you really want to be ripped off....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

it's that place in Budapest. It is world famous place, so I decided to pay 75 CAD for plate with 3 cakes, on of them was (had to be) a famous Gerbeaud slice, 2 ice-cream cups and one coffee. Presentation was great but unfortunatelly taste was sad average. I ate much better Gerbaude slice in coffee shop in Museum of fine arts for a fraction of price. But it isn't the worst thing there.
The worst of all was THE stuff. They treated my familly like a bunch of idiots at entrance. They had the same entrance policy like we had when we wanted to see Caravaggios's painting: Go inside, stay between doors, wait for minut, go inside.
I wanted an additional spoon, so waitress gave it with her fingerprints imprinted in head of the spoon.
After all I decided not to go in New York Cafe, another world famous tourist trap

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very traditional cafe and inside the surroundings are opulent very comfortable much bigger inside than you anticipate but beautiful surroundings...the staff were attentive and found us a table very quickly the menu was great for meat eaters but not so good for vegetarians....very little choice for us veggies but when our food arrived the portions were generous and the food was very tasty.....if you like stepping back in time and getting a feel for the opulent past this is the place for you well worth a visit.....would recommend at least trying the pastries and coffee......

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbeaud also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gerbeaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerbeaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.