We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee and cake stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerbeaud

Gerbeaud
1051 Vorosmarty ter 7-8, Budapest, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36-1/429-9021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 1,864 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Brasserie, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and cake stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pleasant surroundings overlooking the square on a warm sunny day this is an excellent place to stop for a coffee a piece of local cake and to rest. The icecreams should be renamed icedreams its a treat for everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    812
    428
    190
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good cakes and ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

It is a great place to eat a good cake and have a special ice cream from the menu. The room is very nice. The service...good, but i didnt understand why the waitress insisted to give me a different ice cream.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Coffee and calories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ohh , a visit here takes you back to elegance and luxury. Easy to find, occupying a whole side of the square. Plenty of outdoor seating, but altho' it was sunny we went inside to enjoy the opulent interiors, Service was good and low key,(15% service charge) we had coffee and the most splendid cake/desserts. Valrhona Csoki torte, was gorgeous and at less than £7, good value against similar UK offerings. I wasn't hungry for the rest of the day! Look along the counters and you can find small offerings to take home as well, if they get there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historical café, but very pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you, like me, enjoy visiting historical restaurants, then you must try Gerbeaud Café, which has been opened since 1870 at the charming Vörösmarty square. Beautiful decoration transports you the beginning of the 20th century.
However, the menu is extremely pricey, making it not a very good value for the money, because none of its desserts are really outstanding. Even their signature Gerbeaud cake is not as good as the one that we tried in Muvesz Kavehaz Café.
Try it once, but don't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“One of the best - visit is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is one of the many cafes that we visited on our trip to Budapest. We ate outside in the lively Vörösmarty Square, but the incredible interior is worth a look as well. Prices are high, but the ingredients, their combinations and presentation are amazing and worth for a special visit. I would say that Gerbeaud's quality and ambience are on the same level with two other great pastry cities: Prague and Vienna.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbeaud also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gerbeaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerbeaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.