We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The setting is better than the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria

Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria
Dohany utca 3-5, Budapest 1072, Hungary (Formerly Fausto_s Ristorante and Osteria) (Terézváros)
30 5891813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,775 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, Italian, Continental, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Terézváros
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The setting is better than the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The restaurant has a really cool, stylish feel to it and was quite relaxed despite the upmarket feel to it. The staff seemed knowledgable and were friendly and managed to fit us in at quite short notice

Some of the dishes were quite adventurous, such as the duck liver creme brûlée, the presentation was great but the execution just didn't work. The sweetness of the burnt sugar overpowered the duck and the two flavours didn't compliment each other in the same way a jam or sauce would.

I also agree with the previous comments made about a briney sea bass pasta dish - that is the best way to describe the taste, which was uncomfortably salty and meant I couldn't finish the dish. The Veal in pastry dish my partner ordered was nice, but lacking in taste and accompaniments.

The bread for the table was a good selection, but was brought late so was a slightly odd snack to have between the starter and main.

Overall I would definitely give Fausto's a visit if you are in Budapest, if only for the classy setting, great area and menu items that work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    48
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent! what else can I say?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is Italian food. At its best. Traditional and creative at the same time. Have a look at the menu, if you prefer seafood or meat, but always ask the waiter for suggestions before taking a decision.
I opted for seafood and had a delicious dinner, with salmon appetizer and tuna steak as main. Very good prosecco to start and excellent wine. A bit pricey but not compared to the very good quality of the food. Service is excellent, a bit too attentive at times.
Try a dessert, it is a must here.
Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and wine, shame its so far away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We visited it on our last day in budapest and it was a nice goodbye. We had the lunch special, bean soup and duck leg for 2900huf a person which is very cheap for the excellent food. We had a hungarian wine with it, absolutely delicious, so much that we asked for more details so we could find a comparable bottle at duty free. Excellent service and very friendly whom all spoke very good english. Another plus, we were dressed in a fancy version of a backpackers outfit, still not really in the same look as there normal customers, but they did not look down on us at all. We would not get this kind of service at home in brussels.

Really im just annoyed i cannot go there more often.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a restaurant I go very often to, and it never, simply never disappoints: whether food (best to close the menu and listen to the waiter), or wine/ drinks, or the service, it always is top. My favorite is to "create" my sequence with the waiter, often starting with some pasta with seafood and a twist of chilli followed by whatever the special of the day is. And when you thought you are close to Nirvana, usually a great dessert waits for you around the corner.
It is not cheap, but worth it and great for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
813 reviews 813 reviews
645 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“True italian place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice italian restaurant, just across the street from Budapest Synagogue. Nice modern interior, wood, steel and glass and a mix of several menus: printed, chalk board and whatever the chef is ready to prepare for you. Very good food, especially grilled fish and nice wine selection. Do not miss their grilled sea bass and tuna steak, both are delicious.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.