We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria

Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria
Dohany utca 3-5, Budapest 1072, Hungary (Formerly Fausto_s Ristorante and Osteria) (Erzsébetváros)
30 5891813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,952 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Fusion, Continental, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Balatonfüred, Veszprem, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fish soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The best mediterranian fish soup, house-made pasta and one of the most friendly and professional service in Hungary.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    58
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“old favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

i have eaten here over many years and the food is always great the ambience is also great, the food is very good and the restaurant is good value service very good and a good wine list, i will always eat there when in Budapest.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfection in food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I'd set Fausto in the best 3 restaurants in Budapest! The 2 others have reached the Michelin star. I think the next one should be Fausto.
All my respect for the Boss and the Chef. They are perfect in hospitality and perfect in gastronomy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have eaten there at least 20 times. High end Italian Hungarian. Exudes class. Excellent for romantic meetings, family occasions or business dinners. On a discrete side street, so some miss it. It is the best restaurant, way better than ANY of the Michelin star restaurants like Onyx or the pretentious Costes. It is such a well kept secret that not only do you need to make a reservation early but also do not muddle with their filial restaurant Osteria as many concierges will muddle it for you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went to Fausto's our last night in Budapest. It was fancier than I thought it would be - white table cloths... The food, wine and service was excellent! The restaurant was a little hard to find as the street entrance was under construction so we ended up walking right by it....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fausto's Ristorante and Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.