We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Knew How Great This Would Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezcal Mexican Restaurant

Mezcal Mexican Restaurant
Tompa utca 14., Budapest 1094, Hungary
+36204282872
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,300 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Who Knew How Great This Would Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We decided to try this Mexican restaurant that was close to our hotel because of arriving late. They advertised them selves as a Mexican restaurant but also served Hungarian food. Since we like to try the local foods, we ordered the Hungarian and was surprised it was some of the best we had while in Budapest. The selection was great, the wine list was extensive with Hungarian wines and the desert was fabulous. The waiter was very attentive and prompt in service and helpful suggestions. We would have certainly gone back but decided to try other places to get a good selection of local food and presentation. So may places and so little time. This restaurant was our favorite in Budapest.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
intrepid traveler
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Should have read the reviews before going....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Way over priced for what you get. They serve Hungarian Mexican, which is to say much like the Dutch Mexican, the sauces are sweetened with little to no spice in it. Bland blah. The enchilada was unimaginably ruined by tomato sauce so sweet it was ridiculous. Veggies in what was suppose to be a quesadilla but was in fact a soft taco. Disappointing to say the least. The mojito seems to have had no alcohol, or perhaps it was so watered down that it couldn't be tasted? At the end when we asked for the bill and turned down the offer of coffee/tea/dessert, the waiter brought another small unasked for beer. What a scam...We won't be going back there. What a pity too as we have many friends visit from abroad and it might have been a nice atmospheric place to take them. Best to avoid the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunakeszi, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expensive, but average mexican restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice interior, sometimes over friendly and jocking waiter. The food is typical mexican, but taking the quality into consideration to expensive. The dessert - brownie - was the best. It was fresh and tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A quick restaurant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is not a place where you spend hours waiting for your food. It would not be a problem at all if the food was fresh, but I strongly doubt it. Overpriced food that is. The interior is very inviting so are the waiters. The waiter served us at an average level - not more not less than it should be everywhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were a couple of friends, staying at a hotel nearby , were recommended to try this place, the first day, we ordered Mexican , the food was average, after wards we used to sit outside at their outdoors seating and took some drinks on a daily basis as we found the young and tall waiter was very friendly towards us and joked with us. On the last day ( we were there for 4 days) we tried Hungarian dishes, we took pork gypsy, pork medallion with letsho, they were delicious, so was their Hungarian steak, we were forced to split the food as the dishes came in huge portions. Do not forget their Irish coffee, this place is certainly worth a try if anyone is in the neighborhood. I would certainly recommend this place, not cheap, not overpriced either, so why not give it a try. Good food and very good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezcal Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mezcal Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezcal Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.