We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE ruin bar to visit if you're a tourist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
1075 Budapest, Kazinczy St 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary
1 300 4009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE ruin bar to visit if you're a tourist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Are there marginally cheaper ruin pubs? Sure. Are there less crowded and less touristy ones? Definitely. But Szimpla is the quintessential ruin pub that defines the genre, if one could call it that. Beatnik furniture, dim lighting, a crowd that hails from across the globe, and usually great music. It's hard to find a seat on a weekend night, but it's a unique experience and you're guaranteed a string of great conversations. Go early on a weekday night to secure yourself a table and nurse your drink. There's also a sandwich bar that does good business. Only downside is that because it's so crowded it may take you some time to procure a drink.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    256
    49
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great place for drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Large choice of drinks, from the outside doesn't look too good, bud when you enter, you will be totally amazed by the selection and the quality of prepared drinks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Must be the quirkiest bar we've ever been in! A mixture of old computers, girls dollies and tape decks litter the walls as decor and the seating has certainly been raided from skips!

Saying that however the atmosphere was good and the service friendly. We did not eat here because the mother in law was afraid it would be served on dirty plates... I would have loved to have tried though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

From The Outside Me And My Friends Where Joking Saying The It Looks Like An Abattoir, But When You Go Inside Its AMAZING....Me Being A Doctor Who Geek Was Calling It A TARDIS (Bigger On The Inside)

Each Room Is Different, Big Great Drink Choices, All Around Brilliant!!!!

Think It Closes Around 2AM...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“ODD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went here on our visit and ODD is the only word i can use. It looked like steptoes back yard and it just looked dirty and shabby i so would not eat here i went in the toilets and never have i seen anything like it disgusting i was scared it was that bad. Might be some peoples thing but not mine the chairs were like old rusty garden chairs and so uncomfortable i was shocked at this place YOU MUST GO thou just to see it a RUIN pub indeed. I must say thou it was defo an experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.